We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious tapas after the theatre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Tavern

Opera Tavern
23 Catherine Street, London WC2b 5JS, England
020 7836 3680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #476 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas after the theatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We went after a Donmar theatre visit. It was a lovely experience. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a downstairs table in the busy but not too hectic dining room.

The menu is always interesting and the dishes are great to share. We particularly liked the succulent scallops, the stuffed courgette flowers and the pigeon and figs. We even managed to fit in a dessert which are well worth trying - the pannacotta and the orange flower mousse were lovely.

There is an interesting Spanish and Italian wine list. Our waitress was very helpful with thoughts on different bottles but we ultimately chose a dry white from Calabria which we can strongly recommend.

A great place for an informal and delicious meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    142
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A grateful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

According to the description - simple place for tapas - I wasn't expecting that much of the place. But I must admit: Altough I sometimes criticize the Michelin stars (thinking that a house would deserve less or more) I nevar manage to disagree with their Bib Gourmand.
The place is, really, simple, but the food (I mean tapas) is excellent. We had one of the best jamón I ever had, even in Spain, tasty and oily. Patatas fritas were dry and crunchy in the outside, but tender in the inside. Bettr yet was the tortilla, whose interior was creamy. The wine list, focused - but not limited to - in Spain and Italy, is extensive, going from moderately priced ones to most important. Service was kind and polite. We will sure go back there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wow, what a gem in theatre land”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had a lunch in the beginning of September. As the wife had already been I just let her order some tapas wine and beer.

We asked for beer and tap water while we decided our menu and it was back in a flash. It was so welcome after our morning at the British museum

So into the food, the serving we're big enough to share so we took a breath and ordered the following...
A beautiful bottle of la Grimas de granacha
It was delicious... Food came when ready one at a time. Loved everything...
Mini burger
Salt cod
Sardines
Pork belly
Beet root salad
Zucchini flowers
Tomato salad
We had another meat dish but we forget what..
We will Deffo return. Fabulous darling...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious pre theatre tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Opera Tavern was recommended to us by a colleague, I am so glad we took their recommendation. We had some truly delicious tapas, delivered with a friendly and polite service. Everything on the menu sounded incredible so it was hard to choose! I would highly recommend the sea bass ceviche...amazing! The atmosphere was more lively downstairs, it felt more formal upstairs but was still very enjoyable. I am looking forward to going back soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Much prefer the downstairs area as just like the atmosphere better there. My favourites are the mini burgers and chorizo from the grill, but to be honest I could happily eat everything on the menu! The staff are friendly and helpful and the cost is moderate, especially considering the fresh, tasty food on offer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera Tavern also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Opera Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.