We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic, fun and tasty!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opera Tavern

Opera Tavern
23 Catherine Street, London WC2b 5JS, England
020 7836 3680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #473 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hectic, fun and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hectic atmosphere and kind service makes the Opera Tavern a fun place to dine. However, the food lacked consistency. Two of our four tapas dishes were absolutely amazing, other two were boring and tasteless. Starter (bread, chorize, salchicon and peppers) plus desserts were good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    142
    42
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went as a couple- had a fabulous time. Great food, great service and really romantic. (But a bit pricey) definitely will go back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Please just because it says Tavern - you are still a pub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Go to Nell, a few doors up - quicker, nicer and less expensive. The owners of the Opera Tavern need to educate the staff that paying customers usually come back and say nice things if the service is welcoming and pleasant.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed at second visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have been here before and had a brilliant meal. This time the portions were small and not as tasty. Courgette flower with goats cheese has less that a teaspoon full of goats cheese! Chicken did not appear on skewers like before. However, we did get a table immediately on a busy Thursday evening and the service was good. Bill would have been a lot more had I been drinking but still on the pricy side.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food & Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We ate here on monday evening 7th Jan just before going to the theatre, i am gluten free the waitress knew straight away what i could and couldnt eat and highlighted on the menu. I have eaten in some very fine restaurants all over the world one being The Burj Al Arab in Dubai, i would rate the Tavern better than the Burj!! A must for anyone eating there is the gloucester old spot pork dish, oh and the scotch eggs that i couldnt eat but everyone else did. The food was amazing, wine delicious and service excellent. My only regret is that i live in Devon!! Please open an Opera Tavern in Devon. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opera Tavern also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Opera Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opera Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.