We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarians beware!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurkhas Flavour

The Gurkhas Flavour
297A Stanstead Road, Forest Hill | Forest Hill, London SE23 1JB, England
020 8314 0614
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gurkhas Flavour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,013 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Gurkha���s Flavour Indian and Nepalese restaurant in London���s Forest Hill is an award-winning restaurant with a relaxed, friendly ambience. The chef, Mr Aryal, Curry Chef of the Year��� in 2010, has learned his art over many years from some of the best chefs anywhere, including Michelin-starred Alfred Parsad of Tamarind. The restaurant is decorated in colonial-inspired style with dark wood panelling and seating, white table linens and authentic objets. The menu features not only your favourite Indian dishes, but also rare specialties like masu bhutuwa, kukhura aloo and somfu masu with their authentic Nepalese spicing. The Gurkha���s Flavour uses only the best ingredients of the highest quality to create simple, fresh, inventive Nepalese and Indian cuisine and is now a huge local success.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Vegetarians beware!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant does not exercise any due care or attention during the preparation of vegetarian meals. They have on two occasions placed meat in my vegetarian meal. Once could be considered an accident, twice, has left me feeling sick, exasperated in relation to their total disregard, disrespect and sloppiness. I dred to think what their kitchen is like. And to add insult to the injury, they offered to give me another meal, no refunds, no good will gesture. Like for like. Needless to say, I shall be takin my business elsewhere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Ignore the decor, enjoy the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Gurkha's Flavour is in an unassuming part of town (Forest Hill), in an ordinary looking parade of shops - but the food that they serve is anything but run of the mill.

Lots of different choices on top of the usual Indian restaurant offerings - the Nepalese momo dumplings were freshly made and delicious, while the murg hariyo (chicken cooked in a "green" sauce of coriander and mind was delicately flavoured and very moreish.

We enjoyed two Nepalese mains - Gurkha Chicken, in a milder sauce, and Masa Bhutwa, an incredibly tsaty lamb dish with coriander and spring onion that still has my mouth watering thinking about. Great side dishes (the lemon rice was the best we've had) washed down with traditional Nepalese beer called Kukukri - a fantastic night out at a very reasonable price. make sure you visit soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the location or first impressions from outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went here with my wife you had found a voucher via "Time Out". The food was fabulous and provided a useful additional flavouring to more regular offerings from restaurants from the Indian sub-continent.

Service was friendly and helpful. The food was fabulous! Nice Nepalese beer too - Kukrhi.

Give it a go.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delicious food & lovely service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a £14 voucher for 2 courses, a side & drink, which was amazing value but the prices were decent anyway. Especially for veggie options. We had momos to start (meat & veggie) which were delicious. On a par, if not better than, the momos I've had in Nepal. I had paneer curry which was packed full of flavour & vegetables. My partner had a rich lamb curry that he really enjoyed. The food is authentic & not just Indian style, although the menu does have classic dishes on it too. Only downside was lack of atmosphere, being one of only 2 couples in there & the ubiqitous 'traditional' music. The manager was really polite & gave us a takeaway menu as we live nearby - even better prices so will definitely be ordering from there next time!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“brillian value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was a bit unsure as had a couple of bad reviews. Was absolutely blown out by them. Very small restaurant but not in too close to next table. Service was wonderful. We had the £12 time out voucher with starters, main course rice and a drink each. Ordered poppadoms and a minced stuffed naan as extras and was amazed at a £2.35 bill at end of meal. Food was delicious. the naan was the best I have had for years. So pleased we made effort to go

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkhas Flavour also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Gurkhas Flavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurkhas Flavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.