We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great curry, bargain with Tastecard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gurkhas Flavour

The Gurkhas Flavour
297A Stanstead Road, Forest Hill | Forest Hill, London SE23 1JB, England
020 8314 0614
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gurkhas Flavour is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5,550 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: The Gurkha���s Flavour Indian and Nepalese restaurant in London���s Forest Hill is an award-winning restaurant with a relaxed, friendly ambience. The chef, Mr Aryal, Curry Chef of the Year��� in 2010, has learned his art over many years from some of the best chefs anywhere, including Michelin-starred Alfred Parsad of Tamarind. The restaurant is decorated in colonial-inspired style with dark wood panelling and seating, white table linens and authentic objets. The menu features not only your favourite Indian dishes, but also rare specialties like masu bhutuwa, kukhura aloo and somfu masu with their authentic Nepalese spicing. The Gurkha���s Flavour uses only the best ingredients of the highest quality to create simple, fresh, inventive Nepalese and Indian cuisine and is now a huge local success.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great curry, bargain with Tastecard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Gurka's Flavour is a curry house with a difference - billed as Nepalese style food, it is certainly different to your standard curry house fare, and very tasty (although, not haviong been to Nepal, I can't vouch for authenticity). Turned up at 9pm on a random Wednesday and had a lovely night - the pakoras and the squid starter are unbeatable! Sweet squid in light batter, and crispy onion with delicate spices and herbs, plus excellent mains. The biryanis are superb value, with a huge dish of flavourful rice and a full dish of vegetable curry. Meat mains are slightly on the smaller side, but with Tastecard or any another deal this place is more than good value for money. Good Kathmandu beer as well.

The restaurant is very small (only 6 tables) but very helpful and friendly staff make up for the lack of ambience. Warning: this place has the tiniest ladies loo in history - a tight squeeze even for a small person!

Overall a great local restaurant in a slightly out-of-the-way location, and will definitely be back for a third visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    6
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Good night out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This very small, but intimate restaurant offers a fairly reasonable priced night out. The food was tasty and the service excellent. They had a special promotional offer which reduced the price considerably and had a medium flow of traffic during the course of the evening. The food presentation was good and delivered within the right time frame. On appearance, they may have to consider a refurbishment in the near future but i would still recommend this restaurant and tried it again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chipped Plate in Mouthful of Food - No Recompense!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

To balance a negative with a positive the food here was tasty and spices well balanced. And as you guessed - for the negative I found myself chomping on a piece of plate two thirds of the way through my main course. This had chipped from a crack in the dish.

The manager offered to replace the dish but after eating the majority of it I wouldn't have been able to eat any more so that wasn't a realistic offer! After I turned this down I expected some money off my bill to compensate - remarkably no such offer was forthcoming from the manager.

I won't be eating here again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK if you have get a cheap deal – but not worth it if you pay full price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We purchased discount vouchers for the Gurkhas Flavour in Forest Hill and were really pleased with the fantastically cheap deal we got. The restaurant is certainly not in a popular eateries location and is small (only 6 tables – 18 places) and not that well-appointed. Service was a bit slow as there was only one waiter serving the whole of the restaurant. Nevertheless our deal for two starters, two mains, two drinks and two sides was exceptionally good value at twelve pounds for us both. The food was tasty and slightly different to the normal Indian fare, but the portions were not that generous – but I suppose you cannot grumble when you have only paid just over a fiver each for the whole meal. I would have been really disappointed if we had to pay the menu prices for our selection – but as we didn’t there was little to complain about. If you get a deal give it a try, but otherwise it is an average Indian restaurant in a dismal area serving small portions. In summary I would prefer to pay a little more to get better ambience and food – that may not be your conclusion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best takeaway in forest hill area - by miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We've been regulars for four years now, and I have to say the food on offer is fantastic. I usually have the Gurkha chicken, it is amazing. They are un-faillingly polite, to the point of calling up after a delivery to check we were happy with everything!
Good size portions, nice breads, just not sure about Nepalese beer!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gurkhas Flavour also viewed

 

Been to The Gurkhas Flavour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gurkhas Flavour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.