We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening with nice food and attentive services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James's - CLOSED

Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James's
72 - 73 St James's Street, London SW1A 1PH, England
020 7408 1440
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $125
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: An elegant British restaurant and bar, Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James was set up as a collaborative effort between Marco Pierre White and Sir Rocco Forte, with the intention of serving the finest authentic British cuisine. Presented and served with the style and flair that Marco Pierre White's restaurants are renowned for, you can enjoy a combination of classic and contemporary British cuisine from a menu that changes every three months to ensure that every visit offers a different dining experience. Wheeler's of St James's is situated on the site of Madame Prunier's fish restaurant, one of the capital's most fashionable eateries in the first half of the last century. The restaurant's glamorous dining room, private room and bar belie its traditional exterior and have made it a popular fine dining destination. The spacious interior allows a host of private events, launches and parties to be catered for. For smaller groups, Wheeler's of St. James's stylish private room is a superb location for business meetings, private dinners or exclusive receptions. Just a step back from the bustling pace of Piccadilly, Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James has quickly established itself as a haven of fine dining and discreet, considerate service. A firm favourite with locals, tourists and visitors to Central London, the passion of the staff promises the best food and the best service for your visit.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely evening with nice food and attentive services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant last Friday with a Evening Standard promotion. The place is easy to find from West End. Upon arrival, the receptionist checked our booking and put our coats in the open stand behind her desk which is a bit odd but doesn't really bother us. Our table was nice and cosy with other diners around without feeling crowded. The set menu has 5 options for each of the 3 courses which is quite adequate. We went for beetroot with goat cheese as starter, calf liver and duck leg confit as main, and brulee and peach ice-cream. The pace of the courses were comfortable, portions were generous and we felt quite full after. The bottle of wine included in the deal was 2011 French Merlot which went very well with our meal. The staff were friendly and attentive. The wine and water were topped up frequently.

All in all, it was a very nice evening and will consider going back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    59
    52
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adequate food, poor value”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We visited this restaurant because we had a Groupon voucher. We were therefore assigned a limited a la carte menu that afforded sufficient choice, including a steak, fish, or vegetarian main option. We were asked to order our dessert at the beginning of the meal, however, which is never a good sign.

It was a Thursday night, so we didn't expect the place to be that lively. However, there was only slightly more atmosphere than a mortuary when we arrived at 8pm. And I have actually spent some time in a mortuary. It's not so bad after the first 30 minutes or so. The mortuary, that is.

Anyway, the beetroot and goat's cheese starter was bland at best (we should really have sent it back, and would have done if we were paying "full price" for it... perhaps we should have sent it back anyway). The cauliflower soup starter was well seasoned but difficult to taste until it cooled down, due to being served at too high a temperature. I was happy with the soup once it cooled.

Although I had asked for the wine to be brought with the main, it was brought with the starters anyway (why would I want to drink Merlot with cauliflower soup?)

We both had the sirloin steak main, which was accompanied by what must have been an entire vine of cherry tomatoes on top, with a béarnaise sauce (which was a bit too thick), and triple-cooked chips in a pot on the side. The chips were average; some larger ones were not cooked through, suggestive of errors in the preparation process. It was at this point I noticed a loan, middle-aged, suited gentleman tucking into a prawn cocktail at the bar.

The desserts were probably the best part of the meal. The creme brûlée and pannacotta were excellent. They were brought on decorated serving plates, which were a throwback if not slightly out of place.

Throughout all of this, we were offered just one glass of water. The waiting staff were fairly inattentive, but polite.

Overall, if It wasn't for the voucher, I would have left feeling ripped off considering the actual price of the a la carte menu. I would probably have felt more confident sending things back to the kitchen too.

We will not be returning to Wheeler's, as the quality was probably poorer than that of your local high street Italian/French restaurant. I wonder how much longer this restaurant will be in business. Perhaps the famous owner should pay a visit to shake things up a bit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well past its sell by date”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Group of us went for a work lunch, firstly restricted to a limited menu as more than 8 of us! Food very average, Parma ham and avocado, followed by fish and chips . All were amazingly bland. Even the chips were unseasoned .Nobody particularly impressed by their food. The place was half empty and I see why now. To top it all most of us had upset stomachs for the rest of the day. Not pleasant. My local chip shop does better. Steer clear.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We had a very pleasant evening in this restaurant. It was quite empty but then we were eating quite late. The staff quite young but charming (one was a little quietly spoken). Particularly pleasant was a young black man who was disarmingly charming put us at our ease and really 'sold' the restaurant food to us. He kept an eye on us and made us feel looked after without overpowering the service - expertly attentive for one so young. Beetroot starter, fresh and lovely walnut crumbs. Lamb was delicious, perfectly cooked rare, lots of spinach and the red cabbage was the best I have ever tasted. Sticky toffee pudding - alone worth going back for. Odd to put ones coat on an open coat rack at the door, however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulon, France
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
272 helpful votes 272 helpful votes
“Staff with attitude, laissez-faire service, inconsistent cooking; deeply unimpressed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The coldness of the staff, the arrogance of the maître d' and a generally snobby air do not match the prices nor the mediocre quality coming out the kitchen. In fact, the coldness of the staff was matched by the temperature in the restaurant - I wonder because it was so empty do they keep the thermostat low to save pennies?

We arrived about 5 minutes early to be greeted at the reception by coldness and aloofness. Not regular diners there, but I expect civility and a decent table - which we eventually obtained after a quiet and very direct word with the "greeter". Off to a very poor start.

Service was patchy, unfriendly, unprofessional and looked like it was a chore for everyone for some reason - but perhaps the food might lift it a little? Erm, no.

The fish soup on this occasion was lacklustre, lacking the smooth finish of "real" fish soup and was luke warm. My business associates thought for the price charged, the "top quality"" smoked salmon was a rip-off, commenting that Marks and Spencer do it better.

Onto the main course - my Dover sole was overcooked. I did not touch it - and had it returned for another to be prepared. The next attempt was only ok - and I thought my £4.00 triple cooked chips had simply been re-heated as they had the consistency of cardboard. The steak one of my associates had was over-cooked and the Yellow Fin Tuna another had was a-judged to have been over-seasoned.

Service continued to be woeful and I basically took a stand at meal's end and refused to pay the 12.5% "discretionary" service charge. I gave them 50% (i.e. 6.25%) of their charge as well as some advice on how to treat customers. You could see from their faces they couldn't care less and they trade on past reputation and the name MPW attaches to this joint.

My advice - avoid like the plague.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Pierre White - Wheeler's of St. James's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.