We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Italian restaurant in Balham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caminata

Caminata
96 Bedford Hill | Balham, London SW12 0HQ, England
020 8772 0701
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Caminata is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,579 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $42
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant in Balham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I've eaten at Caminata in Balham a few times. It's a cosy little restaurant so great for a relaxing meal or a date. That said, we did have a friends birthday and booked a table for around 10 people last year and they looked after us really nicely.

The food always tastes great, especially a fresh pizza delivered straight from the huge oven.

I'll be back here again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having lived in Balham for 2 years, I had somehow missed this gem of a restaurant! I turned up on a friday night and managed to get a table for 2. The service was friendly and the restaurant is very cosy. We had the house white wine, a starter and two mains. The antipasto starter was particularly good! I will definitely be going back to this restaurant especially as you are able to use a taste card!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in Balham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Great food at reasonable prices. I have been there on a number of occasions and always had a great meal. The pizzas are fantastic and i would recommend them over pizza express and Franco Manca (which I love as well). For lunchtime and early evening it is good for families but I would ask for one the tables by the entrance as there is more room.

They also made my sons pizza in the shape of a fish which was a nice touch from the staff all of whom were very friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Greatest pizza in Balham ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Chef is brilliant and makes the best pizzas in Balham. Service is lovely and understated. We are never disappointed with what we get from here whether it is a quick pizza take away like tonight or a proper sit down with friends. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Buonissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A colleague and I visited Caminata recently for a business meeting for dinner.

Immediately we were impressed with the cosy environment with classy decor, and some great artwork (for sale too) on the walls.

We were greeted by a very friendly Ellie who talked us through some of her recommendations from the menu. We had squid and arancini to start with, both cooked to perfection. Then for main course we had a veal escalope and a seafood pasta dish. We were really pleased with our choices: great flavours, hearty portions, and the texture of the veal was spot on.
We initially declined dessert... but were convinced to try the tiramisu... and did not regret that! Wow - absolutely divine!

Caminata is a real gem in Balham and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caminata also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Caminata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caminata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.