We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thalassa Seafood Restaurant & Bar

Thalassa Seafood Restaurant & Bar
110 - 112 Chase Side | Southgate, London N14 5PH, England
020 8886 4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,490 of 17,929 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Tasty seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

A nice local restaurant. My partner was very happy with his seafood basket, good value for money. We will definitely return.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    36
    5
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good food, attentive service but loud music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We visited this Greek Cypriot restaurant with friends. We had all been there before and been impressed.

Our waitress, Mary, was friendly and very attentive. Food and drink was served at the right pace, so that you neither felt ignored or rushed. The restaurant overall has a bright modern look.

There is a big choice on the menu with some meat dishes, but mainly fish. My starter, whitebait, was OK but I wish I'd had the seafood soup which looked fantastic and apparently tasted just as good.

Everyone was happy with the main courses and I can certainly recommend my choice, the casseroled black cod.

The only downside was a very noisy singer who was so loud we were almost glad to leave at the end. We will certainly return, but only on an evening when there is no entertainment. I accept that this can be an attraction to some diners, but as a matter of personal taste, we prefer to share an evening like this with friends with whom we can have a quiet conversation. Having said that, we still had a good evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just fantastic,,... This is so home made... Second time and love it like first time..... It is fantastic ... Just come here because u won't regret it

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuffley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The food is delicious ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went to Thalassa in November 2012 for a hen night! As a fellow Greek my expectations are high, and I wasn't disappointed! The fish is so fresh and so was the rest of the food! The price is good and we left there feeling full and happy! The entertainer isn't great but hey ho! We are going again this November for a 40th birthday! I hope i will like it as much as I did last time! I'll keep you posted!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Southgate rubbish masquerading as a decent eatery. Full of Cypriot wannabees. Fake food, Fake service,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassa Seafood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Thalassa Seafood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thalassa Seafood Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.