We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Chiswick

Cafe Rouge Chiswick
227-229 Chiswick High Road, London W4 2DW, England
0208 742 7447
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11,761 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Another good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went and had mussels massive pot perfectly cooked sever was very friendly and helpful would definitely recommend

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    0
    8
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better places to go in Chiswick”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have not been to the Café Rouge down by the river in Chiswick but have been to this place a couple of times, probably about two years apart, but it seems little has changed in terms of the general value for money - which is poor.
We went as a group of 6 and it was not busy, in fact a little dead which was strange as it was a Saturday night. The service was a little slow, though they were very pleasant to speak too, the food was just bland, all our steaks were over-cooked, and so was the gratin dauphinoise. Frankly it was more like a bad Beefeater than a french café.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Truly Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I visited Cafe Rouge in Chiswick for Mothers Day. I regularly visit the branch in Ruislip and expected a similar experience. Sadly I was mistaken.
On entering the restaurant on Sunday evening it was surprisingly empty - this should have been the tell tale sign of what was to come. On looking around there was little atmosphere, the furniture looked run down. There is little French ambiance about this place.
The service was friendly but slow. We were served bottled drinks and offered nibbles while we looked at the menu (which is limited). We ordered mussels to start followed by rib-eye steak and salad for main course.
About 45 minutes later the starters arrived. Not sure why there was a delay as there was only 4 tables of guests. On eating the mussels most were cold which suggested they had been sitting on the side for some time. The accompanying baguette was the nicest part of the starter.
We then waited for the main course. When it arrived the steak came with chips (when I had ordered salad). The steak looked like it had been thrown on the plate and looked dry. I didn't want to wait for another meal to be cooked so made a start. The chips were cold and the steak which I ordered "medium-rare" was "well done" and also cold.
Not wanting to ruin Mothers Day we paid for the meal (excluding service) and left. This is the second time I have visited the restaurant and the food has been bad. I will not be visiting this restaurant chain again. I have eaten excellent meals in France, for a half the price of this chain and had twice the quality of food. There are much nicer eateries in Chiswick High Street to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a good breakfast here--great coffee and brioche bread with our eggs. We had the full English Breakfast--french style.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A very nice atmosphere with expensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The location on Chiswick High Road is very handy for people wishing to combine shopping with a meal. I had Sunday lunch here and was rather disappointed with the small portions and very expensive prices charged for rather ordinary food. Two of the staff were very friendly and efficient and their hard work was ruined by another staff member who asked for a tip when it came to pay the bill. The latter was off putting and accordingly I will not return to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Chiswick also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge Chiswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Chiswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.