We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Custom House Pub and Kitchen

Custom House Pub and Kitchen
272 - 283 Victoria Dock Road, London E16 3BY, England
44 (0) 20 7474 0011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,397 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $31 - $62
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Cambridgeshire, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The food menu here is quite limited and the food quality is a bit basic however you get great value for money. A good pub for a drink with friends / colleagues and a quick bite to eat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    23
    24
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alright for a basic bar snack.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

OK if you want scampi or pie and chips. Atmosphere in the bar was nice and relaxing. Beer and alcohol prices not too bad for London.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Fish & Chips, greasy, hot on the outside, warm inside. Definitely need to change out their grease. Server asked if i wanted dessert after my comment... Why would i want dessert if the fish sucks... Why would i want a dessert with the beer i am drinking? How about a refund on my money.. They charge you when you order...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pub food okay, but limited”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Ate in their pub one night. Special price on "burger and beer" before 9 p.m. Burger was generous and prepared a lot better than most UK burgers. Lots of fries (chips) with it, of course. Price was 50% more than in the US, but I got used to this in London. Prices in pounds about the same as US prices in dollars.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very basic menu but good portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate at the Custom House Pub and Kitchen as we were staying at the Ibis directly linked to it and there were no other pubs nearby.

It was a fairly decent sized place and was quite quiet.

When we sat down to look at the menu we were quite surprised how little choice there was. There were only 4 main meal options which were lasagne, a pie, burger or fish. Myself and my boyfriend opted for the burger at just under £10. We added bacon for an extra £1.

The burgers were a really decent size and quite tasty with a good amount of chips.

As long as you don't mind a limited choice then this isn't a bad place to eat. We were going to the O2 arena to see Iron Maiden and hadn't been before to that venue. If I had realised how many places there are to eat there then we would have gone there instead.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Custom House Pub and Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Custom House Pub and Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Custom House Pub and Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.