We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant for dinning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocochan

Cocochan
38-40 James Street | Marylebone, London W1U 1EU, England
+44 20 7486 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cocochan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,830 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $55 - $69
Cuisines: Sushi, Dim Sum, Japanese, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest Tube station - Bond Street tube station - 5 min walk Oxford Street tube station - 10 min walk Baker Street tube station - 10min walk
Description: Located in the heart of Marylebone, Cocochan offers affordable yet contemporary Pan Asian Cuisine. Its extensive menu is created with a selection of light nibbles such as Sushi & Dim Sum to classic dishes drawn from Japanese, Chinese, Thai & Korean cuisines, as well as more unique delicacies from mentioned regions. Also recently receiving a AA Rosette for culinary excellence, as well as TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 & 2014 Winner, mouthful of joy is guaranteed at Cocochan. Tucked under the main restaurant areas, Lounge Room gives more urban feel with 6 meters long sofa, right opposite the bar. Also used as private dining room, this space comes with separate sound system & projector - making it ideal for presentations, business meetings as well as dance / DJ night. Cocochan opens from noon till midnight through the day, 7days a week, locating just 5min walk from Bond Street
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for dinning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We visited London in December 2012, and booked for dinner. It was a great choice, so we decided go back few days after for lunch as we were around doing shopping.

This is a great asian restaurant, with a mix of japanese, thai and chinese dishes. Some sushi selections are really great as well as some japanese soups and fish dishes. I strongly recommend it for a smart casual dining with friends or a romantic date. Very good service, excellent food, good list of wines. Also, very easy to reach.

At lunch time it may be easier to find a table, but fo dinner I recommend you to book at least one day in advance.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    63
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ate here with 3 friends, food and service was fantastic! Shared starters, had duck spring rolls, prawns and beef-all were fantastic. I had green Thai curry for main, was so good, one of the best. My other half had steak which was amazing, cooked perfectly. Service was brilliant. Was pricey but well worth it, high,y recommend!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal taking the best from many Asian cuisines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

What a treat - a restaurant close to Oxford Street which serves really good food at a good price. the Staff were polite and helpful and although we were a party of six in a fairly small venue, we did not feel cramped or too close to our neighbours. the food really was delicious with a great range from sushi to thai green curry and much in between, with smaller portions available. Highly recommended but worth booking.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Decent 'Asian fusion' meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant just after 2pm on a Friday and considering it's location (just off oxford street and behind Selfridges) it was pretty quiet which was nice.

The food is 'Asian fusion' which seems to be the in thing right now...

For starters we had a few of the vegetarian options; the Mushroom Gyoza and 'Monks' Vegetable dumplings. The Gyoza were a definite hit whilst the dumplings were a bit of a miss.

For mains we had the Lamb cutlets which were great and the Crispy Noodle with Mushroom & Vegetables. Both dishes were good and the portions were big.

Overall it was a nice meal for lunch, filling and a nice restaurant. The cocktails were not the greatest, so I would probably go for wine if I was to return.

When we got to the restaurant we checked in via Foursquare and to our surprise recieved a 30% off food voucher which was great. Without this I would say the meal was expensive but with the discount i was happy with the bill at around £45 for starters, mains, sides and cocktails for two people.

I probably wouldn't return but overall it was a nice meal, in a good location.

P.S if you want to order a set menu you have to mention this at time of booking before you get there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Very good Asian fusion food with a lively atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cocochan is situated in James Street in the West End in a whole row of eateries, but is well worth searching out. The decor is striking but not overwhelming and contributes to the lively atmosphere in the place. The menu is pan-Asian fusion and gives plenty of choice to fans of the various cuisines in the region.

We had a selection of starters. The mushroom gyoza dim sum and the Monks vegetable dumplings were lovely, and the sashimi was also well up to standard. I had the miso black cod as a main course, which was superb - why is it only asian chefs who know how to do fish without overcooking it?!

The service was efficient and friendly and overall we had a very pleasant meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocochan also viewed

 

Been to Cocochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocochan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.