We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS FOOD & GOOD SERVICE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cocochan

Cocochan
38-40 James Street | Marylebone, London W1U 1EU, England
+44 20 7486 1000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cocochan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,530 of 17,931 Restaurants in London
Price range: $55 - $69
Cuisines: Sushi, Dim Sum, Japanese, Pan-Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Nearest Tube station - Bond Street tube station - 5 min walk Oxford Street tube station - 10 min walk Baker Street tube station - 10min walk
Description: Located in the heart of Marylebone, Cocochan offers affordable yet contemporary Pan Asian Cuisine. Its extensive menu is created with a selection of light nibbles such as Sushi & Dim Sum to classic dishes drawn from Japanese, Chinese, Thai & Korean cuisines, as well as more unique delicacies from mentioned regions. Also recently receiving a AA Rosette for culinary excellence, as well as TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 & 2014 Winner, mouthful of joy is guaranteed at Cocochan. Tucked under the main restaurant areas, Lounge Room gives more urban feel with 6 meters long sofa, right opposite the bar. Also used as private dining room, this space comes with separate sound system & projector - making it ideal for presentations, business meetings as well as dance / DJ night. Cocochan opens from noon till midnight through the day, 7days a week, locating just 5min walk from Bond Street
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DELICIOUS FOOD & GOOD SERVICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Visited cocochan with a reservation made through Top Table, I would have found the restaurant expensive if it wasn't for the offer. The food was delicious I especially loved the beef salad and cod, everything tasted fresh and was full of flavour. The waiter was polite, calm and friendly throught out. The only slight criticism would be the tetchy behaviour of one of the workers upon realising we were a Top Table booking as she snatched the menu from the waiter who was serving our table, which we couldn't quite understand, nevertheless good evening and particularly great spot for a catch up with a friend as the restaurant is intimate.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    62
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You can tell its privately owned by a real professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Outside you see neat clean, throws, to keep you warm. Inside the staff are all smartly dressed, cheerful and professional.
The restaurant itself has a very good ambience and is clearly privately owned, by someone who really knows what they are doing.
The Won Tun soup was truly exceptional and the Tiger Prawn Tempura is a must, superb quality cooked just right. The reason I have given it a 5 star rating, is along the Hardens food guide principle. Food Ambience Service in similar priced restaurants. No question looking forward to going back. I hope they do not put the prices up as it is just right. It is in a great position 2 minutes from Bond Street Station.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expensive, but incredible food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family and I stumbled across this restaurant after a thorough shopping trip at Selfridges and it capped off a fantastic day. The atmosphere is fun with quirky lighting, and the cocktails were very well made (strong and tasty - a good combination!). We had a selection of food ranging from the black cod (which was incredible), lobster dishes (again, amazing) and some beautiful sushi. It wasn't cheap, but it was a really brilliant meal and a very happy memory! I still carry photos of the food on my phone today!

I would note that I don't think this is a great place for young families (seems the wrong atmosphere), in my family everyone was 25+!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good "Fusion" Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very nice food, great ambiance. The starters are very nice. Great tea selection and check in at Foursquare while you are there, I got a discount of 30%!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The food is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I've been to this restaurant about 10 times and the food is absolutely delicious. I've tried practically everything on the menu and can honestly say that they do it all really well. The desserts and cocktails are also fantastic. The only thing which would stop be giving it a 5 is that the service is hit and miss - this would usually prevent me from going back to a place so often but the food is just so good that I try and forget about it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocochan also viewed

 

Been to Cocochan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocochan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.