We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dinner by Heston Blumenthal

Dinner by Heston Blumenthal
66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)
020-7201-3833
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dinner by Heston Blumenthal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 16,890 restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Transit: Knightsbridge Tube Station.
Description: Focusing on the revival and modernisation of traditional British recipes, the menu at Dinner by Heston Blumenthal features simple contemporary dishes inspired by Britain's historic gastronomic past and recipes dating as far back as the 16th century.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We returned again this year around the same time to celebrate our 21st anniversary and once again the restaurant didnt dissapointment. The food unlike he`s more fancier Fat Duck is still sublime and cooked with love. I had the chicken with wilted lettuce, which may i go on record as saying was the `moistest chicken breast` i have ever eaten. Truly amazing. Once again, we tried the Typsy Cake, which should just be compulsary at this restaurant. Caramel basted spit roasted pineapple served with the fluffiest cake.
Unlike last time where we had the most amazing down to earth waitress, who really relaxed and enjoyed herself with us, this time the service although still exemplerary, we found a tad stuffy. Dont get me wrong, they were still excellent and incredibly poilite, but i`m a big fan of service staff just letting down their guard and tailoring their behaviour to that of the table. Especially in fine dining restaurants. Not a complaint, just an observation.
The restaurant is at the back of the Mandarin Oriental, which is an amazing looking hotel and the view over Hyde Park is wonderful. Highly reccomended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    1,235
    377
    200
    66
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

The visit to this restaurant was easily the highlight of our trip. The food was incredible: an adventure with every course. The service was impeccible- the team of wait-staff were both passionate and knowledgeable and they lead our journey through the menu. Be sure to ask questions before you order- the written descriptions do not do the menu items justice. And be sure to order the tipsy cake- it needs to
be ordered 40 mins ahead of time but it was well worth it, and easily split between several people.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A trip back in culinary history...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

While visiting London on a trip with my husband and son, we had the delightful privilege of dining at this wonderful restaurant, situated in the very beautiful Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park Hotel in London. We made reservations one month ahead of our scheduled visit, so be prepared to prebook. The menu is based on old English Recipes, many dating back to the 1600's, but refitted to please guests in the 21st century. The names of the menu items will challenge your imagination- such as Meat Fruit ( a liver pâté fitted into what appears to look like a tomato and served with crispy toast bread) or an entree of Black Foot Pork Chop ( spelt, ham & turnip in Robert Sauce), and followed by a dessert of Tipsy Cake ( I leave this to your imagination!). The sommelier did an excellent job of matching our wines for every dish and the hospitality was exceptional by all servers and attendants. A bonus for us was a view of the kitchen staff in action - quite a smooth operation and a delight to watch! This meal will set you back in cost for it is probably one if the most expensive food adventures we've encountered, but what we got for it was a food adventure that we will never, ever forget. We loved it so much, we actually went back a second time! This is food, adventure, art, science and history all wrapped up in one! GO FOR IT!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“a taste of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I went there for the birthday of my girlfriend, it was likely the best dinner we ever had in our life, not just the food which it was very rich and well presented( especially the meat fruit ),indeed the service and the environment deserve my gratitude for have made that night unforgettable.Many thanks at the lady sommelier which was terrific!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Modern Chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Great modern setting in a classic hotel. Friendly and helpful staff and a venue with great energy. I enjoyed exploring English cuisine over the centuries so would recommend the venue for this learning.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinner by Heston Blumenthal also viewed

 
Bray on Thames, Berkshire
 

Been to Dinner by Heston Blumenthal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.