We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like hitting rock bottom” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dylan Apartments Earls Court to your Saves list
Dylan Apartments Earls Court
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 / 28 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9EA, England (Formerly York Hotel) (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #977 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like hitting rock bottom”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I would like to start by saying that the staff I encountered during my three day stay were courteous and friendly.

The room was disgusting. The carpet was completely stained and I sustained several bites while staying in the room. The door to the bathroom was a piece of broken plastic that pulled across the door frame with chunks missing.

The TV signal box was attached to the TV by several runs of cellotape.

The toilet in the bathroom was crammed between the flank wall and the shower screen. It was virtually impossible to even stand in front of it and sitting on it was, ahem, comical, to say the least.

The kitchen function in the room was good - compact and functional. The room looked out onto a garden which was nice for central London.

I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. There is a massive disconnect between the images of rooms shown on their site and the actual rooms that are offered. WHich is a real shame - location-wise, this place is great. If they just spent a few quid on the rooms to tidy them up, it would be a winner.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a good room somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    57
    71
    194
See reviews for
45
144
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for one night for a reunion with some old friends. My first room was in the basement - it was damp smelling. It was changed without any fuss. The second room was tiny - like the first - but no smell. The bed was comfortable enough but I really would not want to spend any additional time in the room. It reminded me of my first bedsit flat in Weston-super-Mare - if I stretched my arms out I could touch both walls.

I have to say the customer service was good though.

For £55 I couldn't really complain. Cheap, very close to the tube - and it's on the District line which tends to run later than the other tube lines.

If you just need a bed to get your nut down for a reasonable price then this is ok. Don't expect anything else.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is well-located close to Earls Court station, but the rooms are tiny and lack basic facilities like sink plugs and pots to cook on the hot plate. Cutlery and crockery was extremely limited. Daily cleaning was non-existent. My room had severe water stains in the bathroom ceiling and cracks on the bedroom wall. Accommodation is ok given the price, but wouldn't stay there again if I could help it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The single rooms are exceeding small, but I was moved to a double room (thankfully) due to some maintenance issues with my 1st room, the double room was certainly comfortable for myself and would be comfortable for a couple after a bed to rest in and basic amenities.

The toilet/shower area is very small and water pressure (I was on the top floor) was just adequate. If you are a light sleeper the rooms facing the Road (Warick street) is noisy.

The microwave, kettle, hot plate and fridge enabled basic meals.

Local facilities like, tube station (that has lifts which is a bonus for travellers with baggage) also Earles Court subway is in in the zone 1 area (if you plan to travel frequently into the centre of London) , 24hr Tesco, etc was fantastic, laundry service was good too.

I had to chase up an iron and ironing board (as I was attending meetings over a 2 week period).

In summary value for money accommodation but dont expect 5 star facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Having made a last minute, hasty booking (via late rooms) to avoid last train home on a night out.. i didnt need luxury... but was massively concerned when i read the reviews (after booking!).....

I wanted to review straightaway as i was actually pleasantly surprised.. ok... my expectations were low.. and i had opted for the 'deluxe' room but here are my thoughts

ok - there was an odd drain smell (I was in the basement) and a few bits of paint peeling/mould... but... the bed was comfortable and clean... tv worked, bathroom very clean and shower powerful... if you needed it, there was a fridge, microwave etc... and the staff very friendly.

I wouldnt go there for a weekend away, but for 60.. id stay again after a night out

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed in tiny room backing on to staff toilet and could hear guests complaints reguarly night and day.Tiles in bathroom are cracked and moulded is everywhere .I was eventually moved to a nicer room that I should have had to start with and they tried to charge me for an up grade. I wasn't falling for that old chestnut as the photos did not show my terrible room and still don't.

Room Tip: Don't stay on ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I booked this accommodation for the time I was attending the London Olympic Games and I needed a self catering option. My stay was eventually 20 nights. Firstly the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The location was great. A very short walk to the Earl's Court station with the Piccadilly line and District line, 5 minutes to a 24 hour Tesco Supermarket and one of the Olympic venues just 2 minutes away. The area is very safe and there are also lots of shops near the Railway station. Location is very quite and the beds were comfortable.
The huge disappointment was the room. The pictures shown on the website are totally removed from the reality of what exists. Rooms are extremely small - I mean SMALL. The handbasin was not able to be used because the shelf over it is too close and you crack your head trying to wash your face or access the tap. Closing the door whilst sitting on the toilet is also a great challenge as there is just no room to both sit and to close the door (at least in one room I occupied). The bed takes up most of the floorspace so it becomes your sitting space and relaxing space also.
Room service was disappointing with floors not cleaned, towels not replaced and generally an attitude of take it or leave it seemed to be policy. This was a pity because the front desk staff were good.
Unfortunately Olympics price gouging was evident at this property. WiFi that was free after 2 days previously suddenly became 15 pounds a day, drinks doubled in price, room prices were inflated.
I guess they were not the only ones doing this but it was still extremely disappointing. Luckily I was able to negotiate a much more acceptable rate thanks to the good reception staff.
If you are prepared to put up with the standard of the accommodation you cannot beat the location as it perfect for anything you want to do in London.

Room Tip: All rooms are suitable as there is a small lift and this is a really quite area at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dylan Apartments Earls Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Earls Court

Address: 27 / 28 Philbeach Gardens | Earls Court, London SW5 9EA, England (Formerly York Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #977 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Earls Court 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a group of Studio Apartments in Central London, based in Earl's Court, Kensington and Paddington. We specialise in short & long term lettings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dylan Apartments Earls Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Earls Court Apartments Hotel London
York Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Earls Court London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dylan Apartments Earls Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.