We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“30's decadence with a contempory twist!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Melia White House to your Saves list
Melia White House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HASTA UN 25% DTO.
Ranked #279 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“30's decadence with a contempory twist!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

On arriving at this lovely hotel with it's wonderful welcome from the Concierge, to the reception staff, the aroma of a gentle perfume adding to the ambience, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel, situated perfectly for our purpose and the West End, just a short taxi drive away. We will certainly be making a return visit and all the better as it was free on Avios points! Fantastic to find a Superking bed many a time this is lacking in great hotels!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with all the Tripadvisor users!

It is a pleasure to see that the hotel services and facilities as well our staff services were to your satisfaction and our location well appreciated as it is one of our main strengths.

For your next stay, we are inviting you to visit our Longford’s Bar where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Visit our website melia.com for the best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,270
    1,255
    441
    217
    125
See reviews for
635
1,168
158
772
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

From walking through the doors this hotel is striking even the air is scented in the foyer. Staff are helpfull and friendly which made for an enjoyable weekend break. The room was clean the bed large and comfy. Only minor complaint is you can hear the people in the next room. Breakfast was good and plentyfull have to be in before 9 am or you're waiting for a table.all in all nice hotel would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor!

It is great to see that your experience of your stay with us was pleasant however we regret to read your comments in regards to the noise.

On your next stay with us, don’t miss to try L’Albufera restaurant, an excellent and very well recognised Spanish restaurant (AA Rosette awarded).

We hope to welcome you again back to Melia White House soon! Like our page on Facebook at Melia White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 weeks, with my better half. Was supposed to be here for work, ended up enjoying my stay quite a bit. Being away from home, New York.....the staff, especially Maria & Xavier, went beyond helping me but made me feel comfortable as if I never left home. Many thanks to them.....and I will not only be telling my friends to stay at this hotel in the future, but will definitely be booking my next trip to London here, at the Melia White House.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Many thanks for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We are pleased to read your review as we consider our staff as our main strengths and we are trying constantly to exceed our guests’ expectations by providing the highest level of service.

Let us invite you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience.

We are looking forward to welcome you back at Melia White House! Please visit our website melia.com for special rates and our latest promotions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Rooms looking tired and worn. The price here is high given the quality on offer. Used to think it was good value but not any more since rates went up. Whatever you do, avoid rooms that have not had glazing refreshed in the last year or so. The older glazing offers absolutely no sound proofing from outside traffic and you will not sleep well as a result. This time I was lucky and stayed on the sixth floor in a newly double glazed room, so the noise was not so bad. However, the safe did not work and I had to call out help to get it fixed. I ended up waiting 45 minutes for the engineer to arrive and it was only after two chaser phone calls that he eventually showed up. It took him two minutes flat to re-programme the door to the safe which then worked fine. The bathroom was very small (often the case in London hotels) and the twin beds were not the most comfortable I have ever slept on. Best feature of this hotel is its position. You are just a two minute walk from the tube (Regents Park and Great Portland Place are both just across the road). I would only stay here again if I could not get a decent rate at the Pullman near St Pancras. At quiet times, they discount to rates that are comparable with the Melia and the rooms are streets better. However, the Pullman when busy is VERY expensive at full rack rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back with newly glazed windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Mike,

Thank you for sharing your feedback in Trip Advisor.
We sincerely appreciate your comments as at The Melia White House we constantly work to improve our services and products.
We have a suitable option for every need and expectation,please do not hesitate to contact us if your plans bring you back yo London as we will be delighted to take personal care of you.

Please follow us on melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Computers down at check-in therefore member of staff had to let me in to room as room key cards could not be programmed.Fair enough but later after eating in the hotel,I had to go back to reception to get someone to take me to my room which took over 15 mins.I am expecting the same problem tomorrow morning after breakfast.Room shabby.Avoid.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Public Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments in Trip Advisor.
We regret to see that you left with such a bad impression in such an unfortunate situation as this technical incident described.
Rest assured our only aim is to assist our clients with all the resources available as our passion is the service.

Please contact us if your plans bring you to London ,this will give us the opportunity to take care of you and recover your trust.

Follow up in Melia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have stayed in many Melia hotels and have always been pleased with the quality and the Melia White House was no exception.
We had a superior King room which was very comfortable with a large flatscreen TV. The bathroom was quite small but adequate with a good-sized bath.
We paid extra for breakfast which was plentiful. our only criticism was that the staff struggled to cope with the number of people breakfasting at peak times, with buffet items running out and a long wait for tea and coffee.
The location was ideal, a 10 minute walk from Euston station, within easy walking distance of a number of local restaurants and we walked to Covent Garden and the West End without too much difficulty!
All in all a good weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor!

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central London and we are delighted to read that our location was to your complete satisfaction in combination with the room facilities.

London is well known for its elegance and its warm welcoming. Experience it personally at our Longford’s Bar, typical British decoration where you can enjoy a big selection of English teas, or an inviting large choice of spirits and cocktails.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon! Don’t forget to visit our website melia.com for the best available rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located at the top end of Great Portland Street and very close to the Regent's Park. It has nice communal areas, which reflect London prices, and a nice breakfast area which serves a good selection of offerings, often with a Spanish twist, reflective of a lot of the clientele. The rooms are small and a bit tired, but are ideally suited to the business traveller, who wants a bed, a shower and a big desk space with good communication facilities in the room and wifi. I've been a number of times and its the same formula. The proximity to a lot on the north side of the centre of London makes it a great pick, dependent upon your budget.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind feedback of your recent stay at the Melia White House Hotel!

It is true that we have the chance to be located in central London and we are delighted to see that in addition to our services you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We take your comments on board for the planned refurbishment, on the other hand allow us to recommend you for your next stay with us to try our Executive Level room category with access to our executive lounge for a more exclusive experience as in The Melia White House we have an option to please every need.

We hope to welcome you again back to Meliá White House soon! Like our page on Facebook at Meliá White House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill , Marylebone , Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#204 Family Hotel in London
#206 Business Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Melia, Agoda, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia White House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.