We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business and Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #47 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Business and Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Really friendly and accommodating staff, exactly what we have come to expect from this Hotel chain. However our room was very disappointing, it was dated, poorly decorated and had stains on the carpet. We had high expectations for our stay here as we regularly stay at it's sister Hotel,The Montague where everything is beautifully clean, well decorated and elegant. However thank you Alex for the afternoon tea, very much appreciated whilst I awaited the return of my husband.

Room Tip: Not sure that I can really, this was not a successful stay for us on this occasion, it's locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I was sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations and that you found your room poorly decorated. Our bedrooms are also each distinctive in terms of being different shapes and sizes with varying decor schemes. It is disappointing to hear that you were not satisfied with the room you were allocated. If my team are made aware of this at the time, they are always more than happy to provide alternative room options, depending on availability. I can assure you that we have stringent procedures in place for checking rooms prior to allowing guests to check into these. I was therefore most concerned to read your comment regarding the carpet and have taken this back to my Executive Housekeeper.

On a more positive note, it is wonderful to hear that you felt so well taken care of by my team. They genuinely enjoy looking after all our guests and were thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

I hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,668
    564
    147
    64
    17
See reviews for
524
1,040
128
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was our third stay at the Rubens and it is like coming home, we are very comfortable there. We made use of the restaurants & bars at all hours. The staff are very polite and helpful. I highly recomned the Rubens!

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room to see the Mews at Buckingham Palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in a king room. There was nothing that wasn't great. We were in a city so of course there was a little street noise.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel foods was very good. The breakfast buffet has a good variety to choose from. (Although, I have never cooked a fried egg the way they did.) Dinner was also tasty and the portions were ample.

The concierge was very helpful in recommending restaurants that were very English and not tourist traps.

The location was perfect. The Royal Mews was just across the street. Several beautiful parks were a short walk away. The Victoria tube station was close by and very accessible.

Several theaters were just a couple of blocks away. We walked back to the hotel after seeing Billy Elliott. Great show. And we felt perfectly safe walking at night.

From Heathrow Airport we took the Heathrow Express to Padington Station. Then we jumped in a cab to the hotel. We chose train and cab because the underground tube was not the best option when wheeling several suitcases!)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not a cheap hotel, but we got a very small room. They've promised us a free upgrade on our next visit. Well located for Buckingham Palace, and Victoria train and bus stations. You get the suited door-openers if that's what you find impressive.

Room Tip: Don't go for basic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens on Tripadvisor

It is fantastic to read that you liked the location of the hotel. I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with the size of your room. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes and sizes. If anyone is not entirely satisfied with the room that they are allocated, my team are always more than happy to show you room alternatives.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site but thank you for sharing this with us.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Recently, I, my wife and 11 year old daughter spent a few weeks visiting family and friends in Ireland. We decided to stop in London on our way back to Florida. We hadn’t been there since before our daughter was born and wanted to show her some historic sights. We stayed at the Rubens at the Palace and could not have found more luxurious accommodations with exceptional service. The staff was courteous and helpful; exceeding our expectations every step of the way. It was the perfect ending to our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Not only is the hotel in an ideal place for London's attractions it is a beautiful place to stay. The best bit are the staff they are attentive professional and warm. We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and every time is fabulous well done!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Gorgeous smaller hotel. Giant fluffy towels, Fragonard toiletries, super-clean and a staff that falls all over themselves to help you. Directly across from buckingham palace. Wish we could stay longer-enjoyed a fabulous English tea with champagne in posh surroundings. . .loved it!

Room Tip: Direct view of the royal mews from 4th floor superior twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#81 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.