We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tea for three” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #47 of 1,066 Hotels in London
philadelphia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tea for three”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a lovely afternoon in the
Salon connected to the Hotel. I returned after an incredible tea 3 years before when visiting from the US. This was a celebration for my Granddaughters 21st Birthday and they made it an afternoon to remember. The location is around the corner from The Palace...the service is also royal.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    564
    147
    64
    17
See reviews for
524
1,040
128
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The hotel is lovely and very unique but what makes the Rubens outstanding is their staff. Whether it was the bell staff, front desk or concierge, they all went out of their way to make our stay special. My husband had mentioned at check in that we were going to be taking our daughter to Wicked (the theatre is just around the corner from the hotel). The night of the play we returned back to our room to find it transformed with green candles, "wicked" cupcakes and a signed poster. it was the perfect end to a perfect day. My thanks again to the Ruben. Other strong points - it is a block from Victoria station so both tube and train are easily accessible. Good sized rooms - because there were 3 of us, we went for a junior suite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

What a wonderful afternoon spent in the Royal lounge having afternoon tea at The Rubens at the Palace Hotel recently! My good friend and I love spending a day in London either shopping or sight seeing finishing with a lunch, afternoon tea or dinner before saying goodbye at Victoria to head home. This time we chose to have a champagne afternoon tea overlooking the Buckingham Palace Mews. And what a perfect choice! From the moment we arrived at the hotel and greeted warmly by the doorman and concierge, we knew that we had made the right choice and were going to be looked after. We were shown to our table overlooking the mews, it had been chosen carefully for us not to be directly in the warm summer sun through the window. There was a lovely selection of teas and we chose the Signature Earl grey with Lavender. Then the freshly prepared afternoon tea arrived and what a spread. Delicious white and brown bread finger sandwiches, scones with strawberry preserve and clotted cream and a mouth watering selection of cakes. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful without any hint of us being hurried. We were able to relax, chat endlessly, savour and enjoy the afternoon tea. The champagne was chilled to perfection and delicious.
Thank you to everyone involved in giving us both such a lovely afternoon. It was a delightful experience and we will definitely come again.....

Room Tip: We had afternoon tea in the Royal lounge overlooking the Buckinghampalace a Mews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We don't stay in really nice hotels very often so this was a cut way above for us. The staff were incredible, always so cheerful, even at 5am! Location is terrific. Had a nice pkg with bfx included. The buffet was repetitive, but still delicious. Would love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRZGRL862
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We just finished off a three week Great Britain trip with 4 days at the Rubens. It was so old fashioned and proper. We enjoyed the English Breakfast, and also the Afternoon High Tea. Our room was so pretty-our view was nothing but another building, but it was quiet and comfortable. The concierge desk was unbelievably helpful. The location is fantastic-we had beautiful weather and walked everywhere. The Victoria station was only two blocks away if you needed to use the Underground. The Big Bus Tour (We didn't use it) had a stop right out front. I did read some reviews complaining about the lack of space. This is not the type of hotel where you can live out of your suitcase. Take a minute and unpack. We had three weeks of clothes and there was a place for everything, and our suitcases fit easily under the bed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spent 3 nights at the Rubens by the palace and I can't think of even one minor complaint. The room was lovely (it's an old hotel so expect the rooms to be on the smaller side) and the bed was fabulously comfortable! Fresh complimentary cookies and bottled water - bathroom was updated and wonderful. Hotel service was excellent - helpful, attentive, and engaging. Breakfast buffet served daily had hot and cold options and a lovely dining room. Location was walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament (Churchill's War Room/Bunker), London Eye, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, many pubs and restaurants, parks....and obviously the Palace. I highly recommend The Rubens and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed at Ruben's at the Palace for our last night in London before flying home to the US. Our trip bookended with London and we wished we had stayed at Ruben's on the front end as well. We had 2 separate rooms for our family of 4. Both rooms were lovely and well appointed. The beds and bedding were wonderful. Staff was exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful, food very good, and service attentive. Would definitely recommend to other travelers and would book here again. Great location as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.