We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and service second to none” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #47 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Location and service second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

It was our first visit to the Rubens and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome and that nothing was too much trouble. We had a tastefully decorated room overlooking the Palace Mews. The location for the Palace and Westminster was excellent only a few minutes walk. We were given a complimentary voucher to have a drink in the bar which was a nice touch. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at this side of London.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,669
    564
    147
    64
    17
See reviews for
524
1,040
128
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Enjoyed a wonderful Afternoon Tea with 7 friends to celebrate a birthday. I booked directly with the hotel and the whole experience was lovely. The warm greeting upon arrival and the wonderful service by the 3 ladies on duty made the day special. The food was beautifully presented and tasted as good as it looked. There was more than enough for us all and any extra was boxed up to take home. A special decorated birthday plate was presented to my friend and a birthday card, which was a nice touch. Thank you Rubens for a lovely tea!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed for a week in the two-bedroom apartment. We were absolutely delighted, and highly recommend these accommodations.
The apartments are about a 5 minutes walk from the Hotel, down a charming side street. The apartment is beautifully decorated and has every conceivable convenience: robes, espresso machine and milk frother, toaster, full kitchen, towel warmers in the bathrooms, etc. Follow a staircase up to your PRIVATE roof-top patio, perfect for a glass of wine at the end of the day.
From the moment we checked in, the staff could not have been more helpful, kind and gracious, anticipating our every need, and reacting quickly to any requests.
Thank you so much to the staff and ownership of The Rubens for providing us with the perfect apartment. Your personal and thoughtful touches really put our stay over the top.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with your family, choose the two-bedroom apartment. You'll love the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A group of us stayed at the Rubens for 5-6 nights as we were on business in London. The hotel and staff were extremely accommodating and flexible with us. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet with internet access. The breakfast each day was delicious with a multitude of choices. The staff were all polite and anxious to help with questions, directions, taxis, etc. We will definitely plan to return when we are in London again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I was particularly pleased to read that you liked our breakfast offering and found the choice to be large and varied. We receive many positive comments on the standard of our breakfasts and many of our guests praise the variety and choices offered, from the free-range eggs, full English breakfast, omelettes, pancakes and waffles cooked to order, to the large selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and pastries offered in our Continental breakfast selection. In addition to this and as part of our Continental and full breakfast selection, we also offer a selection of organic, dietary specific and healthy items.

I was equally pleased to read how wonderful you found the service provided by my team. Here at The Rubens we pride ourselves on having a reputation for excellent service and are committed to exceeding our guests’ expectations. Feedback like yours is the best way to motivate my team as it shows them that their hard work is appreciated.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is my second time at the Rubens and I have to say the best time. They just make you feel so at home and special here. We got 2 rooms as we are a family of 5 and they put us right next to each other. Both rooms were terrific and had loads of style and amenities. The hotel is within walking distance to so many things plus the Tube station where we zipped around the city with no problems. Boghdan at the concierge was awesome! He eased our fears of the Tube and how to navigate it. We're from the country and were hesitant to use the Tube, but his help was crucial in our decision to use it.
Breakfast was also terrific so glad we decided to add it to our package as it's a big breakfast and we didn't need anything else but a snack til dinner which saved us loads of time. We will definitely be back to the Rubens. Can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We've stayed here three times and love the location. It is a wonderful location for walking to many of the London sites: Buckingham Palace, Wellington Arch, The Mall, St. James Park, Trafalager Square, Whitehall, Westminister Abbey, Big Ben, Hourse Guards, and House of Parliament. The breakfast is the best we have ever had. We will go back just for that! Late afternoon and evening meals in the very comfortable lounge are also great. The kids loved the food. The rooms are small, but the other benefits outweighted this. The hotel staff is very help friendly and concierge is one of a kind! Thank you for all your help.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

What a perfect afternoon.
We had booked the tea with the Palace as a backdrop for a well deserved treat. It delivered everything and more.
We arrived a bit early so had a drink in the bar served with delicious snacks. It was lovely listening to overseas visitors stories of what they had planned while in London. The hotel is incredible, I could make myself quite at home here.
On to tea. A perfect seat by the window to watch the world go by- or the world to watch us. A lovely wave from a family, photos taken from the hop on, hop off buses, I felt like a celebrity! It was lovely seeing people genuinely happy seeing our cake stands and teapots.
The food was delicious. I cannot believe we ate it all, not eating all day helped I guess. I did enjoy the chicken and almond roll, I shall return for these. And the macaroons, well done to the chef, these were the best I have had! No need to go to Paris anymore.
Thank you to The Rubens, wonderful memories and look forward to visiting again very soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in London
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#82 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.