We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Ruby at the Rubens” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Westminster)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #80 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Ruby at the Rubens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chose to spend our 40th wedding anniversary at the Rubens and could not have been better. Lovely reception staff who arranged for us to check in really early and this set the tone for the whole stay. Upgraded to mews facing room which although not huge was beautifully appointed with everything provided for a very comfortable stay. Really good location, few minutes walk from transport and royal parks. Breakfast provided excellent choice & carvery in the evening very good value. Special thanks to Ben & Frank for taking such good care of us in the bar, made us feel very special. A lot of time was taken to ensure that our anniversary was truly memorable , the personal touches really made our day. If you are looking for truly outstanding hospitality combined with a genuine warmth & friendliness throughout then the Rubens is the only place to stay in London. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: upgraded to front facing room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    631
    163
    70
    21
See reviews for
566
1,160
131
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room may have been "compact" but nevertheless our stay here was excellent. The staff
in the hotel and dining areas is very accommodating. Breakfast is served in an elegant room and
there are many choices of food. The bar area and other seating area are very inviting in the evening for relaxing and conversation. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second family stay at the Rubens. The staff could not have been more friendly or attentive and offer a very warm and welcoming service. We had a pre theatre evening carvery in the Old Masters restaurant which was excellent. Breakfast also offered a good choice of cereals, fruit, continental or traditional cooked English. The room we had was quite spacious and easily accommodated two adults and a 14 year old with a large king size and single bed. I am very fussy when it comes to cleanliness but even I could not fault the room or hotel. Needless to say we will be returning and will look for our next visit to London.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. My room was compact but fine. General decor a little tired but fine. What really stood out was the friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed in for service. Get a sensible rate and this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road may be noisy. My courtyard facing room was a bit warm. Some rooms seem to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great hotel, nice room and fantastic staff!
Despite many of the other comments about room size we found the room great for the 3 of us - not huge but plenty of room and a big day bed for our 3 year old. The beds were comfy and the shower hot. There were a couple of left hand not talking to the right hand moments - 2 calls after check in to see if we were ok, kid's turn down service arriving at 4.45pm! and when we booked rather late for dinner reception rang to confirm a table at 6pm but when we got down there was no record of the booking at the restaurant. But...pfft...minor quibbles.
The way everyone looked after us and particularly my daughter was a-mazing! A great kid's pack with colouring stuff etc, milk and cookies at bedtime, a toiletry bag with kids' shampoo and a ducky sponge. And of course the 'pastry experience'. My very introverted child was taken under the wings of Marta and Danielle and got to decorate 2 cupcakes and make chocolate strawberries, wearing teeny chef's whites. She has now named her new dolly Marta!
I think what made the holiday so brilliant was the staff - genuinely friendly, honestly caring about their guests and happy to do the little things like call the lift when they saw us coming, bringing a cocktail flower alongside the straw my daughter asked for, loaning us umbrellas...We really felt very welcome and that our daughter was a guest in her own right. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 425 was great for families - at the end of a corridor so you don't worry about disturbing a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Had afteroon tea with champagne. Venue is excellent. Service and staff were efficient, knowledgable and ery vfriendly. The tea stand was also excellent with a great selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes. Do NOT have lunch before. My only very minor issue is that the tables were quite close together making conversation slightly difficult. However I would thoroughly recommend Rubens for afternoon tea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your tea experience and found our tea stand selection particularly excellent. Afternoon Tea for our Pastry Chef Danielle is a passion and she was delighted to have your review shared.

I am sorry that you found our tables a little close together. We have taken this as a reminder when setting up our daily tea service.

Thank you for taking the time to share such a positive experience with us and others.
Kind Regards
Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice London Hotel, I picked it in the first place by location.
We flew in to Gatwick and took the Gatwick express to Victoria Station.
From Victoria station it is a 5 minutes walk to the hotel.
It is very close to Buckingham palace and in walking distance to Piccadilly.
Service nice and a nice room, larger than normal London standard. The bed sofa (We had a 3 person room) was not very comfortable and the bed could have been better.
We didn´t had breakfast included but it was easy to find restaurants for that close to the hotel.
One night we had a burger in the bar area. It was a really good one!
I could definately come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. I was sorry to read of your uncomfortable sofa bed, and have instructed my housekeeper to review all sofa beds immediately. This is something that we do regularly, but I am sorry that you found your own sofa bed to disappoint.

Thank you for your compliments regards our location, service and bedroom size, and I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your burger with us! Chef hand grinds our beef onsite and is very proud of his burger patties, feeling that because they are 8oz and slightly larger than average, this makes a fantastic burger!

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in London
#55 Romantic Hotel in London
#71 Luxury Hotel in London
#99 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, LondonMarketing.com, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.