We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One Night Free
Ranked #46 of 1,075 hotels in London
Carlisle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay, we occupied 3 rooms with extended family travelling with us. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome our eldest was given her own check in arrangements, colouring packs in the room for the kids and all the staff were welcoming of the children. Our rooms were quiet and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent. Cannot fault the attention to detail and friendliness of all the staff.

Room Tip: A corner room is larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,241 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,508
    525
    131
    60
    17
See reviews for
475
931
118
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had 3 rooms booked for new years eve - 1 double, 1 twin and 1 single. ALL of the staff were welcoming, polite and helpful. Rooms were clean and well equipped and breakfast was of an excellent standard. I would like to thank Joanna Barnes for arranging birthday cakes for 2 of our party, my husband and I also received a 'welcome' card and cookies on arrival - all of which were gratefully received. We can fully understand why this hotel constantly receives good reviews, many thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I were given a night's stay at Rubens with dinner and a drink for our 30th birthday present which we used a week before Christmas.

The hotel was beautiful, in a fantastic location and the staff were tremendous. It felt a little like stepping back in time with a doorman in cloak and top hat, well turned out staff and an expensive ambience.

Our stay had been bought through buyagift.com so it was essentially a voucher but we weren't treated any differently and were even upgraded to a superior room and made a fuss of in being given birthday chocolates in our room and after dinner.

I'd love to stay here again and if you can afford it or are thinking it as a special gift I'd have no hesitation in recommending Rubens as a fine London institution.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here the week of Dec. 9, 2013 and could not have had a better time. The staff was extremely accommodating and genuinely interested in our well-being. Any glitches in service were immediately resolved and we were always better off than before. The Hampton Court Suite was delightfully furnished with one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The hotel itself is very charming and well located for sight-seeing. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a 7 day stay for the holiday. This is an hotel with character, very well decorated and a truly 5+ star staff. The staff are all top shelf--the best in the business which makes this a 5 star property.
The attention to our comfort and desires was outstanding.
Two blocks from the changing of the Guard and a perfect location for sightseeing.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 3 nights between Christmas and New Year and were generally pleased with the hotel.
I had requested a spacious quiet room but were shown to a very small room overlooking many airconditioning outlets. However, after speaking to reception we were shown a better room on a higher floor - it did face the road but we were not unduly disturbed by street noise. The room was nicely furnished - although it had very creeky floorboards and the toilet cistern was rather problematic. Sound proofing between rooms is not the best. The bed was smaller in comparison with those of many other more contemporary hotels - obviously because of room size. There were minor irritations with the first mornings' breakfast, but my concerns were addressed with great courtesy and consideration. In fact, at all times staff were very friendly and helpful - genuinely keen that guests have a good experience. The hotel is traditional in style and has a nice relaxing atmosphere. It has a good location - easy walks to many tourist locations and taxis always available when needed. On consideration we now wish we had stayed over on New Year's Eve and would consider using The Rubens again.

Room Tip: I think it would be worth trying to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you were happy following your stay and found our staff and location as a good position. I was happy to see that when called upon, my staff looked after your requirements; it really is such a great thing when we are given the opportunity to address any issues during a stay, and I am always confident that when made aware, my team enjoy a high success rate in meeting guest satisfaction and happiness. Thank you for your kind words and I hope that perhaps we might enjoy you staying with us next New Year!
Kind Regards,
Malcolm Hendry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

From the moment we walked into the hotel we were met with smiling faces and a warm welcome from the staff, and an excellent tip where to park which saved us £70.00.
Our room was lovely with a lovely overlooking the mews gates and we really enjoyed our anniversary cheesecake in the room when we arrived.
We had a mouthwatering meal on our first night, then a trip to the theatre to see Charlie and the choccy which was great.
We slept well and our breakfast was again mouthwatering, we did a little sightseeing then back for afternoon tea..... Yup you guessed it mouthwatering.
In the evening we visited winter wonderland in Hyde park then back to the hotel for a spot of room service, the staff overall were excellent especially the breakfast and dinner service staff.
The young English doorman ( forgot his name) was a real gent, although on one occasion a non-English doorman working at the same time was extremely rude and un complimentary to him something I didn't particularly like, or wished to hear.
It was an excellent stay and would stay here again in a flash
We didn't use the off site leisure facilities so cannot rate them

Room Tip: 417 was a lovely room although the bed was only a double not a queen as stated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review and share your experience. I really enjoy reading some of your appreciated highlights of your stay, featuring some of the noticeable touches we like to add to a guest experience. Our doorman of 15 years Nathan is indeed top class and provides many a perfect first impression to guests on arrival or return. I am sorry that one of our team disappointed you, it is unusual to hear this, but I have spoken to my front lobby team and asked them to be aware of your experience. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again as our guest.

Kind Regards
Malcolm Hendry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#69 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Occupancy Marketing, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.