We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #46 of 1,073 hotels in London
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon. The staff was fantastic and even had a slice of cake to welcome us in our room. The concierge was very helpful and had a lot of great tips.

The room as a little small by American standards, but for London it was good sized. The mirrors along the head board wall make it feel a little bigger. We And let's face it, if you're visiting London you're probably here for the sites and not the room. The rain shower just had a short glass wall and no curtain but it had plenty of hot water and good pressure.

It is an easy walking distance to Parliament, Big Ben, Westminster Abbey, and Buckingham Palace. Victoria rail, tube, and coach station are just 2 blocks away. Very convenient to get anywhere in London.

There are some good pubs just around the corner. The Shakespeare right next to Victoria Station had a great band and hand pump cask ales. The price was a little high but for a honeymoon or special trip I think it was worth it. I would stay here again, especially for the location.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor (it was actually the 3rd level) that faced the street. The noise was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Cameron,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you chose The Rubens for your honeymoon and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I was particularly pleased to learn how wonderful you found the service provided by our Concierge and the rest of the team. Comments like yours are the best way to motivate my team as it shows them that their hard work is appreciated. They were indeed thrilled to hear your comments when I passed these on to them.

Here at The Rubens, we understand the importance of special occasions, be it a birthday, a wedding day, an anniversary or a honeymoon. Personalised service that reflects our guests’ preferences is what we are committed to providing. Whatever the occasion, our guests can choose from a range of thoughtful little touches, such as a bottle of Champagne, a cake in the room or a romantic turndown to make the occasion that extra bit special. We frequently receive praise from our guests for making their special occasions unforgettable experiences.

Thank you once again for your kind comments. I hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

With my very best regards,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,523
    527
    133
    60
    17
See reviews for
480
941
119
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at a superior King room, which was nicely decorated with a special theme. The hotel is conveniently located right next to attractions like Buckingham Palace and St. James. The staff is really friendly and it made us felt at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I moved to London with two cats and the three of us needed a place to stay for a few days before my flat was ready. The Rubens did an amazing job of removing a significant source of stress from a stressful situation. Upon arrival, the room was already set up for the cats with a litter box, pet beds, food and toys.

From a human perspective, the room was very comfortable. The bedroom was large and the marble bathroom was almost the same size as the bedroom. The location is very good for sightseeing.

The service was outstanding. Every member of the staff I encountered was professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not sure what I was expecting, but The Rubens delivered quality service in spades! My room was not large at all, but it was beautifully appointed and overlooked the Mews directly across the street. Bed was extremely comfortable. The staff went above and beyond to answer questions and be helpful. I paid extra for the breakfast and was delighted I did. What a buffet!! If you went away hungry, shame on you! At one point, I was concerned about the weight of my bags for my departing flight, and the concierge sent a young man to my room to fetch my bags & then take them to another part of the hotel to weigh them. He promptly brought them back with the weights written down. Everyone was so personable and all about taking care of their guests. The location was perfect walking distance for many attractions: Buckingham Palace, St. James Park, Westminster Abbey, Big Ben, Parliament, London Eye, Victoria Station and tube. When I return to London--with my husband next time--we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Paying a little more to overlook the Mews was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you plan to return to The Rubens when you next visit London. It is always wonderful and encouraging to receive such positive feedback.

I was particularly pleased to read that you were impressed with the service provided by our Concierge Team. Each and every guest is important to us, and we are committed to ensure that every stay with us is truly memorable. Our Concierge Team receive many positive comments about their excellent knowledge of the local area and of things to do in London, as well as about their willingness to go the extra mile with assisting with every request however large or small. Dave and John have been part of our Concierge Team for the past 30 years and have built up a wealth of knowledge and are great assets to the hotel. We even have a dedicated Kids Concierge, who has plenty of options up his sleeve to keep the children entertained in London.

Thank you once again for your comments. Feedback like yours is the best way to motivate my team as it shows them that their hard work is appreciated.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to The Rubens in the not too distant future.

Many thanks and best regards,
Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What a 1st class Hotel. From start to finish we were treated amazingly well. Genuinely friendly staff made us very welcome. The room was spotless and had everything you could need, and the shower was something else!! We had wondered whether to include breakfast but we were delighted we did. Everything you could have wanted was there and it set us up for our days out in London. Would definately recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again. Thanks to everyone at the Rubens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely suit with a great location. We stayed in the King's suit, a great 2 room, 2 bath apartment. The staff could not have been nicer. Wonderful turndown service. Went out of their way for our child with games etc. Sure made my little girl feel special. They even ran to get her during lunch when the Queen's horses drove by, made her day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We could not have been happier with our stay at The Rubens! Our room, while not large, was clean and well-appointed. And I can't say enough about their staff. Everyone we encountered was friendly and so willing to help. Dave, the concierge, jumped at the opportunity to assist us and arrange anything we needed. You can trust his helpful tips about eateries in the neighborhood, tour busses, etc. Stephon was just about the friendliest person anyone could hope for. Plus, he has a marvelous sense of humor. Mark in the restaurant got to know us and our breakfast preferences quickly. And Ian at the next door bBar was such a delight. Even the man at the front door would quickly assist us any time we needed a taxi or other info. Add to all of us the fact that for an upscale hotel, The Rubens was the most competitive on price, and you can't go wrong. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall. Because of the bath configuration it was impossible to turn o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in London
#40 Romantic Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#62 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.