We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Had an amazing weekend stay at the Rubens. The staff are amazingly helpful and could not do enough for us. My special thanks to the Manager for my mouth watering Breakfast of Waffles!!

The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are exceptionally clean. It's a great location near Buckingham palace and is only a short ride away from the West End. I will no doubt be staying again in the near future.

Room Tip: 4th floor is perfectly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    539
    139
    63
    17
See reviews for
505
970
122
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Nice enough hotel and the staff were pleasant but perhaps we were expecting more of the rooms, eating areas and food but it wasn't the top end establishment we were hoping for. I guess it just goes to show you can't always believe what you read. If our expectations weren't so high this hotel would probably be a three star rating as opposed to the four given here. So don't let this review put you off if you want a decent hotel then go for it because nothing was seriously wrong here, as I said I guess we are used to that little extra. PS: because it was Xmas the food was generally for the masses, not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were extremely happy with our afternoon tea experience at the Rubens. Although it was pricey, it was worth it. From the moment we stepped in the door the service was outstanding. The food, the tea and the champagne were excellent. We were seated by the window and could watch the comings and goings of the Buckingham Palace Mews. The staff was extremely hospitable and did not rush us out the door. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my first stay at the Rubens at the Palace. I chose this hotel based on its proximity both to public transportation (Victoria underground) and the locations where my work engagements were (around Westminster, a perfectly do-able walk from the hotel).

I had booked a double room on the Mews side. It turned out that, due to some technical problems on that floor, the Internet connection wasn't working. Because of this I was moved up to the 4th floor to a slightly larger room. The Internet connection was very fast and reliable from there.

My stay was very comfortable and pleasant. It was a working trip and I appreciated the office supplies in the desk (stapler, post-it notes, tape, hole puncher, highlighters, etc.) as well as the fast and reliable Internet connection. Staying on the Mews side was lovely. In the mornings the royal horses were brought out (presumably to exercise them) and I loved hearing the clopping of the hooves on the street below. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a couple nights stay at the Rubens and found the hotel to be excellent.All the staff from the doorman to the waiting staff were all very helpful, friendly and efficient.I would have no hesitation to reccommend this to anyone wanting a first class stay in London.Special thanks to Dave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you would like to make a special event really memorable use this hotel. I have never received such courteous service. Every member of staff we met treated us as welcome and valued guests. Every request we made was treated with enthusiasm and a genuine wish to make our stay memorable. They were successful. It was memorable. Without doubt this is the best hotel I have ever used.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Rubens at the Palace is without a doubt my favourite hotel in London! I first stayed at The Rubens in the autumn of 2006 and have been back about 5 or 6 times since then. The two times I've stayed at another London hotel I've always wished I was back at Rubens. The location is unrivaled, it's a short walk from Buckingham Palace and the Royal Parks and has easy access to Victoria Station for underground/rail travel.

The hotel is warm and welcoming, and you'll be treated like royalty by the staff. You don't feel like just another faceless guest. It has a real boutique hotel feel to it, with all the benefits of being a Red Carnation property!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#39 Luxury Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.