We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #48 of 1,054 Hotels in London
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were looking for a hotel that was smaller, service oriented, comfortable, reflected the British rather than a "sanitized" hotel atmosphere, and in a great location. The Rubens at the Palace perfectly fit our hopes and expectations. The staff were exceedingly attentive and helped to make our visit worry free and enjoyable. The breakfast, although not included in the room price, was a great way to start the day. We look forward to staying here again when we return to London. Thank you Rubens' staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    540
    139
    64
    17
See reviews for
505
974
123
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want fantastic location, excellent good old fashioned service, the feeling that you're stepping back in time, without paying Claridges prices, then look no further than a stay here. Whether its for a business lunch, a drink after work or for a special stay, far from the madding crowd, this place has it all. A great but well kept secret - at a price you can afford.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer palace ground views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a fantastic two day stay, first impressions excellent, staff very helpful and friendly. The bedroom very clean and what a bathroom. We had a lovely meal although very expensive for what was on the menu, and a bit slow service, the food did taste nice, but could have had a bit more for the price. We will return but don't think we will eat in the restaurant, but well done to the front of house.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This wonderful, friendly hotel is full of character and the staff are attentive and friendly. I stayed here for a weekend for my wife's birthday. It was meant to be a special time, at it was made so special from the moment we walked in. Reception staff are efficient, and I actually felt they were really pleased to help ( instead of the often encountered efficient but aloof attitude).

The room was not huge, but just felt right. Comfortable with a feeling of homliness.

We ate out on the first night and on the second we ate in the hotel. The food was excellent and again the staff were superb.

Breakfast was a treat. Buffet style breakfasts are often below par because food is left out too long and gets 'stodgy'. All the items were hot, and well presented. I watched to young man who was cooking eggs and when there were no customers he constantly checked the food pans. I saw him throw one out -presumably because it had been lying too long. But the attention to detail here, and throughout the hotel was faultless.

As you will guess, I loved this hotel. When I stay in London this will be my first choice.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for nine nights at this hotel over New Year's. First of all, it's in a great location for many things in London. It's close to Victoria Station for all the buses and tube lines.
Something happened here that has never before happened to us. When we arrived, early in the morning, we were given a room to use for the several hours until our room was ready. We didn't ask for it, they just let us use it! This was especially helpful since my husband had gotten sick on the plane and really needed to sleep. So it was a real plus that we were given this.
The lobby and bar areas were great. We ate at the restaurant, The Library, not expecting too much, but it was really wonderful with great service. What a surprise!
The full English breakfast buffet was great. I ordered kippers, too, a couple of times, and they were the best I've ever eaten.
We stayed in an Executive King room because I had read the TripAdvisor reviews about the size of the rooms. It wasn't cheap (about $500/night including breakfast and tax), but it was fine. The bathroom was small, yes, and the tv was a bit crooked as someone else said, but overall I can't take off any stars for anything. Housekeeping was inconsistent. Sometimes the shampoos weren't replenished, but sometimes things were done really well. Generally very clean.
Only complaint...the concierge tried to talk us into taking a private car to the airport that he would arrange. I know he'd get a commission from it, but he was very insistent. This was kind of jarring after such a nice trip. He had seemed really sincere until then. I think if it had happened at the beginning of the trip it would have clouded it, but at the end, it didn't really hurt anything. I just felt a bit annoyed about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My family stayed here over the Christmas holiday 2012 and we could not have asked for better service. Everyone was very accommodating. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. Lots of extra touches!! The staff arranged outings and transportation. The restaurants and lounges were quite and peaceful, except for the fabulous party on Christmas Day! We would not hesitate to come back! Fabulous!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had often driven past and admired the exterior and of course a great location near Buckingham Palace and Victoria station. Although the lobby and dining areas have a gracious charm about them, the tiny lifts are a joke, can barely take 3 people, and the rooms are simply awful. We ordered a roll-away bed for our 9 year old daughter and what we got was a pull-out couch in a tiny musty old room, with barely a foot between the couch and the bed, very dated and unattractive decor, an LCD TV that was mounted on the wall crooked by at least 10 degrees. We were so shell-shocked that when reception phoned us to ask us how we were settling in we just mumbled OK and couldn't wait to get out the next day, but with hindsight we should have complained. The toweling bathrobes provided were so old and worn that the embroidered logo's had almost faded away and they felt like rough sandpaper. The bathroom was the size of a closet, you could only get one person in there at a time, single basin, smaller than normal bath with a shower over it. We paid 295 pounds to stay there, I don't think it's worth 50 pounds and I wouldn't stay there again for free. Yes, London hotels are usually very overpriced compared to other major cities- we paid the same sum here as we did for the top-flight Peninsula Hotel in Hong Kong, and much more than the extremely luxurious Grand Del Mar in San Diego. I must admit to being extremely surprised by the other positive reviews here, maybe we were given the worst room in the hotel. The only plus apart from the location was the included breakfast which was pretty good. Look elsewhere!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was concerned to read of how disappointed you were with your stay and have addressed the points you raised with my team since receiving your feedback. It is disappointing to read that you were dissatisfied with the size and decor of your room. I am also sorry that by not knowing about these issues during your time at the hotel we did not have the opportunity to address them whilst you were still in-house, as, although this in no way makes up for the service you experienced, I am confident that my team could have resolved this situation for you and that you would have left not feeling so disappointed.

Please accept my apologies for an experience that was not as positive as that of others on this site and hope that this did not detract too much from the overall enjoyment of your travels.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#74 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.