We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room - The Master Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #45 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great room - The Master Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Conveniently located near Victoria Station. The Master Suite is top notch. Like many typical London hotels, all overpriced for what you get. The room service was great. Unlike its sister hotel, The Chesterfield no gaming consoles provided for kids.

Room Tip: Master Suite otherwise the rooms are compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    547
    141
    63
    17
See reviews for
510
1,000
125
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is really a very nice place to stay in London! Everyone ~ and I mean Everyone!! was so very nice and helpful! It was a great first experience in London ~ they did everything possible to make our stay comfortable and helped us with all aspects of our experience. I needed an opinion on where to exchange money ~ no prob! We needed directions ~ no prob! They stored our luggage until time for checkin and we were able to have coffee in the lobby bar without any room to charge it to and it was no prob!! It was a very busy time for this Hotel during the Christmas season ~ but that did not decrease the service that we received. I wish that I remembered every name of each person that helped up enjoy our stay ~ but, I would be safe to say that everyone was great!! Very very upscale property! If you enjoy quality ~ you will enjoy this Hotel~the bed is a marshmallow of comfort!! Bathroom very nice ~ amenities provided were high quality. We were very happy with our time at the Palace!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a fantastic time staying at the Rubens , everyone was so friendly , nothing was too much trouble for all the staff .
We were welcomed by Laura and she was lovely , very genuinely interested in our stay .
The hotel is sumptuous and our room was actually a suite , very , very spacious and everything was there for our use .
Will definitely stay again .

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and heard no noise , but all rooms are secondary glazed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights just before Christmas with our son and found the hotel very clean with courteous friendly and helpful staff. We found the location being close to Victoria suited us well and good in terms of connections for shopping, sights, theatre etc. Also very quiet room despite the fact it was alongside a busy road. Breakfast was also good. We found the value as compared to other hotels of similar quality/location was good. We would stay here again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Me and my partner stayed for 1 night on 19th December. The staff were friendly, helpful, polite, corteous and overall gave a fantastic service! The hotel was spotless! Very clean. The room was lovely! Quite small but ok for the two of us! Had a view of the mews! Bed wasn't too comfy to be honest. Pillows were not firm so this was the only let down.
Ideal hotel to see tourist attractions such as Buckingham Palace, houses of parliament and London eye.

Room Tip: Stay here so you can be near the attractions!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Tyneside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Service – 1st class.
Naturally friendly and professional staff, which is usually rare to find in large city hotels.
Room – Deluxe double. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Luxurious furnishing, padded material on the walls instead of wallpaper, heavy high quality bedding and curtains. The shower was very powerful and the bathroom was stylish with powerful water flow when filling the bath. Big thick white dressing gowns and new slippers are provided free of charge. There is also free internet access in your room. A nice touch was that the remote controls are sanitised after the last user and placed in plastic bags ready for the next guest.
Breakfast was fantastic, served on tables with crisp white cotton table cloths and napkins. Buffet style with all the usual hot and cold selections, but there were also waiters to serve toast, freshly squeezed fruit juice, tea and coffee. Another nice touch was that your poached and fried eggs are cooked in front of you and done in advance.
Location is perfect, 2 minute walk from Victoria train and underground station and the same distance to the front of Buckingham Palace. It’s also only about a 20 minute stroll to Westminster Abbey, Big Ben and the river from the hotel and again it’s a similar distance in the opposite direction to Harrods. We didn’t eat in the restaurant only because we had booked a meal in China Town which was only five minutes away in a taxi (cost approx. £8 on a busy Saturday evening).
I really would recommend this hotel as it ticks every box you can think of.

Room Tip: Room 411 is a king size room and overlooks the Royal Mews
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a super weekend. The location was ideal and we could walk to lots of sights. The young concierge on the door was very helpful and really friendly. Actually there were two , both super. Bar was stuffy and the service wasn't great, you had somebody take an order then someone else bring it then someone else take the next order and so on so no real continuity. I think its nice to have someone you know or get to know dealing with you for the evening. Breakfast was great and apart from the bar and prices which were way over other hotels of a similar standard, we had a great weekend

Room Tip: They are small . we upgraded to an executive double ... still small but very clean and nice. You hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#44 Romantic Hotel in London
#70 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Escapio, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.