We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast
Ranked #44 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Probably the nicest hotel we have stayed in.From the moment we arrived we were greeted warmly by all the staff. The service was faultless. Our room was very comfortable with everything we needed. Location is perfect and we were able to see all the sights on foot from the hotel. Even the taxi driver who dropped us off from Paddington said the hotel was ideally located for everything in London. On our second night we dined in the Library with a superb menu and wine list. We would particulary like to thank Mark Jones (Food & Beverage Manager) for his exceptional hospitality and making us feel like we were 'special guests'.
We will certainly return to The Rubens it was a delight to stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,577
    539
    139
    63
    17
See reviews for
505
970
122
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (462)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

How shall I start with ? With the doorman - always kind and in a good mood even it's freezing and snowing ? The ladies at the reception, always being nice and happy to help ? Or shall I start with my room no. 117, overlooking the Royal mews and taking me back in the victorian times with it's lovely interieur and tasteful decorating ? Shall I praise the breakfast menu or the waiters who are almost attentive and friendly ? I guess this Hotel is at least with good reason at number 39 on tripadvisors list of London Hotels - I would comprehend it with the Baileys in Kensington, but the Rubens is in every point a step forward. Would I come back - certainly ! Would I recommend this to my friends - for sure ! What should you do - have a wonderful afternoon with a cream tea and treat yourself with a candlelight dinner.

Room Tip: Für einen guten Blick : auf die Buckingham Palace Road Für eine ruhieg Nacht : auf die Rückseite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous weekend at the Rubens,we were there to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary and had booked 4 rooms for family and friends, We have all agreed that this has to be the best hotel in London,the staff are all so friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as they can,We had dinner n the hotel on the first night and the food was excellent as was breakfast. The hotel is easily within walking distance of all the major attractions.I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to visit it again shortly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We really liked our stay at the Ruben's. So close to Buckingham Palace, Victoria Station, Wicked, and the hop-on-hop-off bus tour pick-up. We walked all over London on our first day, and found ourselves on Bond Street, Regent Street, Piccadilly Circus, etc. -- it was great.

We had a suite that was a little larger than we probably needed, but very comfortable.Nice touches with treats and ice provided each evening. Breakfast was really expensive, but most of the time we had breakfast away from the hotel. Rainshower was excellent. (one bad note -- toilet didn't flush paper...ugh!)

Very expensive, but location means alot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Okay we did get married during our stay but everyone at the Rubens worked so hard to make it perfect for us and it was. They ordered flowers and a car; made dinner reservations; decorated our room beautifully etc.. The real treasure at the Rubens is what the pictures don't show - the fabulous people that obviously take great pleasure in making sure that you have the best possible stay. Everyone was wonderful but a special mention is deserved by Janine; Nikki; Dave and Damon and Charles (who went beyond the call of duty in acting as one of our witnesses). The breakfast was delicious and whilst the dinning room is busy, we did not have to queue and the atmosphere was very friendly. Other guests also all seemed happy and relaxed. Our room was smaller than standard (but good for London) and thoughtfully laid out. We slept beautifully, the hotel was obviously very busy but quiet (no late night door slamming / noise from adjoining rooms heard at all). We had opted for a king size bed which was extremely comfy and worth the little bit extra. There was lashings of hot water and the hotel was beautifully warm. We can't fault our stay and thought it excellent value for money - the location is excellent. If you have any doubts about staying forget them and book in here. We will be returning as soon as we can and we hope that you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel staff was gracious and accommodating and the hotel restaurant offered exceptional food and service. The hotel is conveniently located across from the Royal Mews and within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Victoria Station. Our room was overcrowded with furniture, small, and adequate, but did not meet our expectations. This may have been our fault, in part, as we arrived early in the morning from an overnight flight and were told our "Superior" room would not be ready until much later in the day, so we accepted the room they had available at the time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.
I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the size of the room you were allocated and that it did not meet your expectations. As a standard, we guarantee room availability by 2pm, however, despite check-out time being 12 noon, sometimes delays do occur. In such situations, we offer rooms that are available immediately, but my team are always more than happy to offer relocation to a more suitable room once one becomes available.
It is wonderful to know that you liked the location of the hotel and that you found the food to be excellent. Thank you also for your kind words about my team being very friendly and helpful. I have passed these on to the staff, who were equally delighted to hear them.
I do hope that the above did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay and that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Rubens at the Palace Hotel in person in the not too distant future.
Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

You will receive a wonderful welcome and be treated as one of the family from the time you arrive to the time you leave. This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed at in London. The staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Afternoon tea was a delight.

Room Tip: As mother and daughter we stayed in a twin room 413 overlooking The Royal Mews. Was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.