We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rubens at the Palace

Best prices from these 12 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Rubens at the Palace to your Saves list
The Rubens at the Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3
Ranked #51 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Walton on Thames, SURREY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight while in London to see a play. Our welcome was over and above our expectations. The reception staff were most helpful and meant it. Rooms were good and looked after. Food in the restaurant was okay. We ate in the buffet restaurant and I had roast beef which could have been better in that it tends to lose it's tenderness in sitting aroung and the way in which it is cooked. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay tremendously. I recomend this hotel also for it's great position in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    545
    140
    63
    17
See reviews for
506
982
123
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! From the moment we arrived and our dog was greeted by his name without us even telling anyone there what it was at the time, to the day we checked out, the staff could not have been more welcoming. Everyone made an effort to be of help. The breakfast was superb, with plenty of choice, and the eggs were cooked to order. Even the breakfast chairs were really comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in away from home, and the bedding of just the right warmth. The best thing was that our dog was treated like royalty, the hotel provided a wonderful bed for him, bowls, snacks, toys, a stay certificate, a special menu for dogs, a bedcloth and signs to hang on the door with his name on telling others not to disturb him. There are plenty of parks to walk dogs withing 5 minutes walk. It was nice and quiet at night and yet the hotel was quite busy. We will definately be returning whenever we can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Postives:
- Great location
- Rooms are a good standard (if a little small)
- Decent breakfast

Negatives
- Occassional muddled service
- Some areas are beginning to look a little aged
- V.expensive bar (even for central London)

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was our second visit to the Rubens. The hotel is lovely in every way. Our room was very comfortable, the breakfast excellent, and the bar meal in the evening was just what we needed. We particularly find the staff so nice. They are all very friendly and extremely efficient as well. Everything is thought of in the room, including a welcome note, and the newspaper is there to read in bed in the morning. The location is so good, and we very much enjoyed visiting the Queen's Gallery, just across the road. We hope to be able to return. Thanks to everybody for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here for two nights recently on a business trip. The location is good for transport links, and it has a certain charm. I suspect its quite good WFM for London, but I dont stay there enough to say for certain. It was fine, my only grips are (a) decor is a little cheezy/1970s - pink floral wall-paper, somewhat faded. The whole place need a revamp really. (b) breakfast buffet was rather miserly. One thimbleful of OJ (why do UK hotels assume we all drink children's potions?) and some toast. It was like breakfast at a boarding school. My double room was Ok, but rather small. (again I think this is a London thing).

Room Tip: The main road is busy - I would ask for a room not facing the main road if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmHendry, General Manager at The Rubens at the Palace, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Rubens at the Palace on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

I was sorry to read that you disliked the decor of your room and that you felt the hotel would benefit from some refurbishment works. As a slightly older building, we do have a wide cross section of shapes, sizes and styles of accommodation, with all our rooms individually designed in various colour schemes. When next you make a reservation, please feel free to make the request to avoid rooms with a particular colour scheme known to my Reservations Department, who will be only too pleased to meet with your requests.

With regards your comment on our breakfast, it is disappointing to read that this fell short of your expectations, especially as we receive so many positive comments from our guests regarding the variety of choice offered on our breakfast buffet. From Continental breakfast options, such as cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, cereals and pastries, to the full cooked breakfast, my Executive Chef ensures everything is freshly prepared and of the highest quality. Thank you also for your suggestion of providing larger orange juice glasses. As standard we offer a glass of juice when taking the order for hot drinks. There is a further supply of freshly squeezed orange juice on the buffet, alongside a variety of other juices we provide. I have now reiterated to my restaurant team the importance of pointing this out when explaining the buffet to our guests.

I am very sorry that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site and would ask you to please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

Malcolm Hendry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hørsholm, Frederiksborg, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

4th time here and I have never been dissapointed. Good size room, nicely decorated, friendly and helpfull staff and a splendid breakfast. What more do you want?!

I can only recommend this for your next stay in London

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccmcd
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Had the opportunity to return to the hotel twice within recent months - once on holidays and once on the tail end of a business trip! Love the hotel! The location allows for you to walk absolutely everywhere. Malcom's team is outstanding. Would go back in a heart beat although, we probably saw every sight possible to see in London! LOL! Including Michael Caine, Gordon Ramsay, and Prince Phillip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rubens at the Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rubens at the Palace

Address: 39 Buckingham Palace Road | Victoria, London SW1W 0PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in London
#45 Luxury Hotel in London
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#77 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rubens at the Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, Edwardian-era hotel, originally built as a debutante hostel for nearby Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Rubens at the Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rubens At The Palace Hotel London
Rubens At The Palace London
Rubens Palace
The Rubens At The Palace London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rubens at the Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.