We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location- near to stations, bus stops & eating places was the saving grace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Langorf Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langorf Hotel to your Saves list
The Langorf Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Frognal | Hampstead, London NW3 6AG, England (Camden / Primrose Hill)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #493 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good location- near to stations, bus stops & eating places was the saving grace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful reception but inefficient house keeping- never changed toiletries even though we stayed about a week. Small non descript rooms, very small bathrooms. Hardly any space around tbe building to walk around. Same old breakfast everyday morning, served by mostly non smiling professionals

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    200
    66
    31
    24
See reviews for
149
163
18
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The Langorf has a lovely. old-world atmosphere, just off the Finchley Road. This makes it an excellent location for getting around London, being just 5 minutes away from the underground station (Metropolitan and Jubilee lines).

The rooms are well appointed (at least the 2 I have had on two separate visits), and the bathroom has all the required amenities, including a rainforest shower head. I did have a problem with the temperature of the water (sometimes getting only hot water in the sink and tepid water in the shower).

Free Wi-Fi and breakfast are included in the price. The breakfast is a tasty buffet with cheeses, salamis, quiches, fruit salad and a lovely carrot cake. Cereal, flapjacks, waffles, croissants, etc., are also offered. The coffee is great, and if you request it when you order, soy milk is available.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langorf, Manager at The Langorf Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jacqui

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Langorf Hotel.

I am glad to hear that you had a good stay overall and that you enjoyed our location, rooms and breakfast. With regards to the water temperature we have taken action and an engineer is currently fixing the hot water issue.

We look forward to welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact the hotel for any future bookings.

Kindest regards,

The Langorf Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanover
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

If you've ever seen the movie European Vacation (Clark Griswold and his family), then you know the Royal Imperial Windsor Hotel. That was my first thought when I arrived. The room was small but clean and bright.

The bathroom was fairly awful, but they tell us recently upgraded. If you get in the shower after 0800, prepare to take a cold shower. The other guests have used all the hot water by then. They also might want to use some bleach to clean the showers. We had to wedge a book under the door to keep the door open.

The staff was VERY helpful and friendly. The hotel is about a five minute walk to the closest tube station (Finchley Rd), and pretty reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor facing the street, room 301. It faces the road, but it's a quiet stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here! hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly. breakfast was nice. there were many services and shops within 400m of this hotel. From other reviews I read that tube station is very close however I have to say that the walk from hotel to tube station is not that close! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for newly refurbished roms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langorf, Manager at The Langorf Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2014
Dear Luca

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments for The Langorf Hotel and we are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us.

Our team appreciates your comments and looks forward to welcoming you again on a future visit.

Kind regards,

The Langorf Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I booked this on AMOMA as a 4 star hotel to stay in whilst attending a wedding. AA 4 star rating, and reasonably priced - what could go wrong....

The first clue was the formica tables in the dining room (very retro) and an odour of damp. The wallpaper was peeling - which really added to the chic 1970's feel.

The room was okay, apart from the stains on the carpet, the sound of what must have been a battalion of storm-troopers in the room above and (a really personal touch) the pubic hairs on the stained (but in fairness washed) bedsheets.

Fortunately there was a Holiday Inn Express around the corner. I went there.

Now, what about a refund?

Well, sort of.... I got a refund for the second night - as I had 'stayed' the first.

This is a doss-house. AMOMA are hopeless (a scam?0) .... and as for an AA 4 star rating???

UUURRRGGGHHHH

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langorf, Manager at The Langorf Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Dear Dominic,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, Langorf Hotel is rated 4 stars Guest Accommodation, not a 4 stars hotel.

Regarding the conditions of our traditional townhouse, we are proud of the Victorian style of our premises that is appreciated by our guests.

We can guarantee that, even if we have an ongoing refurbishment process for the last few rooms, we do not have any odour of dump or peeling wallpaper in our breakfast room.

We would be really happy to have the possibility to show you our high standards so please do not hesitate to contact us should you wish to visit us again.

Best regards,

The Langorf Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Lets start with the positives : Very helpful reception, clean, tidy, adequate continental breakfast, comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and a good shower. Near to great restaurants, tube station and in a nice area. Reasonably priced
The negatives - the bedrooms are tired, wallpaper peeling off the walls, shower cubicle could do with a good bleach to get rid of the mould, thin walls between rooms and double bed made up with single sheets (very clean though). If you are only needing overnight accommodation this would represent good value.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Isle of wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Hotel booked as a surprise by my partner, for our anniversary weekend, entering room stunk of old cigarette smoke, room dated, curtains ripped and filthy, wallpaper coming off wall, bathroom mouldy!! Partner went to complain, moved us next day to refurb room, like a different hotel...lovely. Breakfast ok, set us up for day. Staff pleasant. We probably wouldn't stay again as a little too far out from main city for us, although tube close enough. Think possibly this hotel should not use their un-refurbished rooms!!!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langorf, Manager at The Langorf Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langorf Hotel and for your comments which have been taken on board.

We are sorry to hear about your initial experience with us. However, I am glad that it was all sorted and you had a good anniversary weekend.

We look forward to welcoming you again and please do not hesitate to contact us directly on 0207 794 4483 for any future bookings.

Kind regards,


The Langorf Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langorf Hotel

Address: 20 Frognal | Hampstead, London NW3 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Camden / Primrose Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in London
#296 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Langorf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant Edwardian Hotel situated in a quiet residential area, 3 miles north of central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langorf Hotel And Apartments
Langorf Hotel London
Langorf Hotel Apartments
The Langorf Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langorf Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.