We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cranley Hotel to your Saves list
Cranley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Manhattan Beach, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very nice and helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here one night after the hotel we had originally booked had plumbing problems and they transferred us to this hotel. There is a small, comfortable lobby and sitting room with a very warm and friendly staff. They lead us to a room on the same floor, just to one side of the lobby. It was through a double set of doors so noise was not a problem. Unfortunately, the window overlooked an ugly brick wall and storage area. The carpet in the lobby as well as our room was quite worn and dirty and there was a large rip in the carpet in our room. Also, the room was extremely small, with no real storage space for suitcases. We put them in front of the closet door. However, it did impede the opening of the room door a bit. There was just nowhere else to put them. The bathroom was quite small and somewhat difficult for a senior citizen to climb over the side of the bathtub to get into the shower. One other difficulty was that although there was a hair dryer in the room there was no electrical outlet in, or near the bathroom to plug it in. So, I plugged into one over the desk and used the reflection on my laptop as a mirror! Not the best of circumstances, but the best idea I could think of at the moment! There was no restaurant in the hotel but a continental breakfast was offered in the lobby or room. The hotel was located in a lovely area but unfortunately was not quite as comfortable as we would have liked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    143
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
84
199
30
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, CA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We ended up in this hotel after our original booked hotel had plumbing problems. We were transferred via cab to this location on the opposite side of Hyde Park. The room (608) on the main floor was very small with hardly enough room for our two suitcases. The staff were extremely pleasant, professional, and willing to provide any accommodations which were reasonable. Upon on arrival they provided coffee and later in the evening champagne and canapes were offered in our room or in the classically decorated sitting room. The location is about a 10 minute walk from the Kensington tube station.There is sufficient desktop space and a small closet. We were surprised to discover that the carpet in our room was stained/spotted and torn as was the carpet in the public sitting room. Internet access was spotty and we were unable to log onto a number of websites. Breakfast is available either in your room or in the public sitting area. The double bed was very comfortable with good pillows. The bathroom is small.

Room Tip: Select a room on the ground floor, if available, rather than in the basement or upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The rooms where very comfortably finished, in fact I would go as far as to stay the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Situated very centrally, the Cranley is excellent for a London weekend I would not hesitate to reccommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Booked this hotel for one night via Mr & Mrs Smith as an anniversary treat away from the kids! A fabulous location just 5-10 mins walk from south ken tube and round the Corner from loads of tourist attractions eg museums, Kensington gardens etc. We received with a lovely welcome from the kind courteous staff who couldn't do enough for us. The hotel is very homely and beautifully decorated in a very traditional style. Our room (101) was stunning! Four poster bed which was very comfy (although disappointed with the pillows) and nice clean, if small, bathroom. We were very pleasantly surprised with how quiet it was even though we had the windows open all night as it was a mini heat wave weekend! Nice touches such as complimentary champagne and canapés between 7-8pm that we had in our room. We had breakfast in our room which was pricey but very yummy. All in all, a perfect place to stay for a romantic break in the capital.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Thia hotel is very well located and has some very comfortable rooms. On arrival it promises a great stay but this promise is unfulfilled by the inability of staff to emulate "Fawlty Towers". In addition, we found all the services provided to be expensive to a level not reasonably justifiable or supplied in a manner that was inappropriate

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I went there for business and spent one night. The room was a little bit small, but the hotel is extremely cosy and comfortable. Great location, in a nice and residential district, very quiet, i highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The perfect tucked away traditional Kensington hotel. Only the breakfast was disapointing. Loved it. The staff were great and courteous. Very understated and elegant. Well worth it. Our room was clean and very comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#191 Luxury Hotel in London
#233 Business Hotel in London
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.