We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Cranley Hotel to your Saves list
Cranley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #260 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked a number of rooms for family and friends attending my sons wedding.
From the minute we arrived up to us departing the staff were excellent nothing was too much trouble. The standard of the rooms was excellent. The hotel does not have a restaurant however there are numerous bars and restaurants close by to suit most tastes.
I would certainly book here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind words.
We were very pleased to have been chosen by yourself for such a special and memorable occasion.
We do hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to the Cranley.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of any assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    151
    57
    19
    12
See reviews for
87
224
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We booked this boutique hotel through Mr and Mrs Smith for one night. On arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to the Penthouse Suite (we booked a superior room). The suite is located on the fourth floor (accessed via a staircase on the third floor). Rooms are classically decorated and have a comfortable feel. The beds were made with quality bedlinen and duvet. Although the hotel has no restaurant (the only real negative of the stay), we were offered the option of breakfast in our room or in the communal area at the front of the hotel. Penhaligon's toiletries are a suitable choice for the hotel due to the history of the building ownership. The location is ideal for visiting the many museums of South Kensington, and within walking distance of the tube. Front of house were exceptional, with a genuine warmth in their greeting (Tiffany was extremely attentive and appeared very skilled at her job). Complimentary champagne and canapés were served in the entrance area in the evening, and fresh juices and iced tea were available during the day.

Room Tip: The fourth floor rooms are accessed via a staircase on the third floor. The Penthouse Suite has grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time on writing a review.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Cranley Hotel. I shall pass on your kind words to the Front of House team.

We do hope to see you again at the Cranley in the future.

In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact us if we may be of assistance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Cranley on our family vacation and had the most ordinary of experiences. Our room which was in the basement, was cramped and badly lit. The airconditioner refused to function, so they put up a portable unit in the small room with a hose needing to be dangled outside of the window! There was no restaurant so breakfast was in the room and the three of us had to take turns at the table in the room. Ofcourse i blame our travel company, Cox and Kings to have booked us in this hotel informing us that it was a 4 star hotel, while clearly this place lacked amenities to qualify as one. I must admit, though, that the staff were fabulous and tried to help as much as possible. But our overall experience prompted us to cancel the second leg of our stay on our return from Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the feedback provided.
I am very sorry to hear that you have found your stay ordinary and that you were unable to enjoy your spacious room in the lower ground floor. We would have loved to accommodate you in an Executive Room in the higher floors, but due to the high demand season you booked in, the number of Executive rooms available in the higher floors were very limited.
We do invite our guests to enjoy their meals in the lobby, aside from also providing them with a space to dine in their rooms, should they choose to do so.
We did understand your discomfort when you put forward the issue to us. We had offered you the chance of upgrading on a complimentary basis to a higher level Four Poster room for the second leg of your stay as a gesture of our goodwill and we were very sorry when we heard that you had cancelled your second stay.
Should you ever reconsider the option of staying with us, please do not hesitate to contact me directly; we would be very pleased to offer you the chance of experiencing the services and facilities that we do offer as a 4 star hotel with a 5 star service.

Please do let me know if I may be of assistance.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved this hotel! The decor is very chic, the neighborhood is quiet, yet close to tube stations and crowded roads. The staff is extremely friendly, they were really helpful and made my stay exceptional. The rooms are very well designed and the beds comfortable. I truly liked my stay at the Cranley and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
We are very pleased to see that you were highly satisfied with your stay at the Cranley Hotel.
I will ensure to pass on the message to my colleagues as it is always a pleasure for us to help contribute in making our guests' stay as memorable and special as possible.
We hope to see you back soon with us!

Please do not hesitate to let us know if we may be of assistance.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I travel quite a bit and I have to say this hotel was one of my best experiences. The ambience, location and professional but friendly staff are exceptional. I will definitely return to this boutique gem. While my dealings with everyone at the Cranley were excellent I would be remiss if I did not give a special mention of Alex and Tiffany who well represent the Cranley. I just apologize for taking so long (I stayed the first week of May) to post my wonderful recollections of the place.

Room Tip: For a taste of Old London charm get a room with a canopy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate the time you have taken to leave us a review.
We would like to thank you for such kind words on the hotel and the staff, who do strive very hard to offer their best services.
We would be delighted of having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Cranley.

Please do let us know if we can be of any help.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were just delighted with the hotel. We had booked a superior room via the Mr & Mrs Smith website and were thrilled to be upgraded to the penthouse. We had wonderful facilities and it was spotless. The staff could not have been more helpful. We did not eat there in the evening as there is no restaurant, but we did have a delicious breakfast in our room the following morning. I stay in many hotels for work and was so pleased that this felt like a real treat rather than 'yet another hotel room'. We would definitely return to The Cranley. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleyhotel, Manager at Cranley Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your time and kind words.
It was a pleasure for us to have hosted you for such a special occasion.
We are glad to hear that we have helped contribute in making your anniversary a special one.

We do hope to see you once again, whether for business or leisure, it would be a great pleasure for us to see you again at the Cranley Hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A wonderful alternative to the chains in a quiet part of South Kensington. Exquisite decor in a classic English townhouse hotel. Excellent staff - welcoming, helpful, and non-stuffy. Leisurely breakfasts on the front terrace - memorable scrambled eggs and smoked salmon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in London
#207 Business Hotel in London
#243 Romantic Hotel in London
#348 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.