We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, well located in neighbourhood London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranley Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Cranley Hotel to your Saves list
Cranley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #275 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cheshire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel, well located in neighbourhood London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We chose the Hotel because it is within walking distance of the Royal Albert Hall. Good hotel, well located, good service. We had the junior suite with an extra room and a private patio but it is in the basement and does not get much light.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    143
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
84
199
30
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here last night with 8 colleagues and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is located on a quiet street but is within walking distance of the many shops, restaurants and bars of South Kensington and Chelsea. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Anna who was extremely welcoming, friendly and professional. We were attending the Aegon Championship and, despite our early arrival well before check-in time, Anna provided us with 2 rooms to freshen up in before we left for the tennis. We were also offered tea and coffee. The rooms are of varying sizes and are stylish, spotless and comfortable with everything you'd expect from a quality establishment other than tea/coffee making facilities. Before heading out for dinner, we were offered champagne and canapés which were served in the lobby. All members of our group also opted for breakfast in bed the following morning - it was hard for us all to get out of the comfortable beds! This is a great, stylish hotel in a perfect spot with lots of personal service due to its small size - we found all the staff to be as equally charming and helpful as Anna! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

What I liked most about this luxury BNB are the rooms. Very spacious!
Second and third would be the amenities (Penhaligon's) and the breakfast!
Breakfast was always served promptly in the room.
However, there is only one staff running the whole place during the mornings and the queue can be long. If there is another person, she is probably just a trainee as she always had to check with the receptionist and couldn't really answer questions. To cater to all the guests, there should be more knowledgeable people in the reception and not just one. Some guest requests can take a long time and if you just need a quick question, you end up waiting.
We had a lovely experience with the staff but do admit they need to step up.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Just back from a two night stay , lovely boutique hotel, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room we had was gorgeous, overlooking the street outside, not noisy, except for birdsong first thing in the morning!!!!!!, but no complaint with that. Location was excellent between two tube stations, lots of restaurants and bars close by. Would recommend this hotel to anyone,,,
Breakfast was great each morning, we opted to have it in our room, and it arrived promptly both mornings, the champagne and canapés were a lovely extra touch!! Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room overlooking the street outside and we had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A quiet and comfortable hotel, although everything depends on your room. There is a small and very public lounge where food can be served, so you are encouraged to have breakfast etc in your room or eat out, We stayed a couple of nights in a deluxe room with four poster bed and found it spacious and beautifully furnished and maintained.
Management seemed to change daily so we noted some continuuity problems - staff were pleasant but the turnover meant I couldn't describe the place as "friendly" . Best thing about the place was the quiet. The price probably reflects more the location rather than the standard of provision. That said, we'd stay again.

Room Tip: Surprisingly, some rooms are in the basement - which you may prefer to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Booked 3 nights for a Superior Double in May and prepaid 6 months in advance. Without being told, was put in a Standard Single ... extremely tiny! Staff only admitted to the silent switch after considerable and very uncomfortable complaints on my part ... they had to convene a "reservations team" meeting before they were able to address my complaints! The solution offered was to adjust 2 nights to Standard rate an move me for the 3rd night. Why was this not done at check-in borders on sleezy ... it took repeated complaints and an internal meeting? It's been 5 days since I checked out and the "adjustment" has still not been processed ... nor has the £90 security hold they placed on my card been released! ... yes, a security hold was required even though the account was prepaid in full 6 months in advance!

The Cranley Hotel is a sad example of how to mis-manage an otherwise lovely property ...

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very pleasant place to stay if you like the concept of the “boutique” hotel; that is to say, in this case, there is no proper bar, no proper lounge and no proper dining room. The rooms are individually and tastefully furnished and equipped with wonderfully comfortable beds and bedding. The staff, such as there are, are charming and efficient – one person mans a desk in the lobby and attends to all needs as receptionist, porter, concierge and barman. It is situated on a quiet street in South Ken, close to Gloucester Road tube station and a few doors up from one of the best Indian restaurants in London.

Between 7 and 8 pm there is a free “Champagne and Canapés” hour when the few comfortable chairs in the lobby (which acts as a lounge) are filled by residents sitting in a circle resembling the TV room in a retirement home. One is also offered a free drink on arrival. However, when I asked for a whisky and soda, I was told they had no soda and could offer lemonade instead. Nor was there any run-of-the-mill blended whisky so one could only drink expensive single malt with (of course) a little water which, fortunately, they did have! In the two bedrooms I had on two separate stays, I was unfortunately below a room whose occupants thundered about for much of the night largely negating the benefit of the lovely comfortable bed. There was a little tray of goodies in the room which I thought, initially, was a nice touch until I saw that there was a charge of £2 for a bag of crisps and £2 for two little shortbread fingers. No tea and coffee making facilities.

The Cranley is a charming little establishment with charming (mainly American) fellow guests but I think it should more properly be described as a very up-market B&B rather than a hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms if possible. Cheaper rooms are rather cramped with views of back all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranley Hotel

Address: 10-12 Bina Gardens | South Kensington, London SW5 0LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#233 Business Hotel in London
#257 Romantic Hotel in London
#305 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting quietly on an attractive South Ken side street, The Cranley Hotel in London is the perfect townhouse-from-home. With its mahogany antiques, Regency-period palette and prettily embroidered bedheads, it's an ideal base for a spot of Anglo-centric shopping, sightseeing and tea-taking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith and Tingo so you can book your Cranley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranley Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.