We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Docklands to your Saves list
Hilton London Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #559 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Made return visit to this hotel at the end of July 13 for three nights. Lucky enough to be given an upgrade to a Deluxe Plus Room with balcony and fantastic views overlooking the river. Check in was quick and efficient. Receptionist was very helpful and our room was ready earlier than expected, which was a real bonus.

Breakfast was up to the usual Hilton standard, with good hot buffet and chef serving choice of eggs and various omelettes -a nice touch. Plenty of seating and quickly shown to a table. Sat on patio outside a couple of mornings enjoying the sun. Would suggest having breakfast before 8.30am as probably busy after then.

Would recommend using the C10 bus to/from Canada Water Underground station, which stops outside the hotel. Service every 15 minutes was very good. Hotel convenient for Tower Bridge and City area and visiting Stratford for Olympic Park and Westfield Centre.

The complementary ferry service to Canary Wharf was also something to try for a change, but if you need the underground, its a long walk from ferry to station. We would not have wanted to do this more than once.

Staff very helpful throughout our stay. Only downside and why I've given rating of 4 not 5 is that we thought our room was in need of refurbishment, with furniture showing signs of damage and wear.

All in all a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for room in the "Old Warehouse" wing near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to make the most of our riverside terrace. When the sun is shining, it certainly is a great place to be! Thank you for staying with us at Hilton London Docklands.
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    710
    532
    278
    118
See reviews for
418
760
116
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton Docklands several time and have always had a pleasant stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Bar prices are a little expensive but you will find this in most good hotels. The ferry to Canary Wharf is excellent and free for Hilton guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am most grateful that you have taken the time to write a review, especially as you are a regular visitor to Hilton London Docklands. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Right opposite Canary Wharf on the Thames. Lovely location especially sitting outside the bar watching the sun set. Free ferry to get there too. But our room was cramped and hot - for £120 per night did expect better - however it is London! Costa coffee at the bar was nice touch but breakfast was £20! Overall tho worth it for the location.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. Just for your information, we do offer various room types. Please feel free to ask about these when making a reservation or even at check-in. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

we found this hotel in a perfect position to sight see in London, as you are outside of the centre so can escape the hustle and bustle. It has a free ferry access into Canary Wharf where there are plenty of eating places. The Hotel staff were all lovely and spoke to our children, even the Chef was having fun as our son was doing a line from a movie and the chef knew it so was joining in. Breakfast is one of the best we have had in a hotel something for everyone.

We did have a slight issue with our booking but was easily resolved and did not leave any bad impressions on this Hotel. We definately will use it again.

Room Tip: If you have a Family book the family room( yes sounds strange) but we originally booked an apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Hilton London Docklands for your recent stay in London. It is wonderful to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you back any time!
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

It was the first time that I had stayed at a Hilton hotel and I was extremely disappointed. I usually stay at relatively nice hotels and I've heard a lot about the Hilton brand, hence I was expecting far more than what I received. I booked the stay off the trivago website, where I browsed some of the photos online and then booked straight away as the pictures looked great and I trusted the brand. However, after I booked, I checked the reviews on trip advisor and was shocked to see how many negative reviews there were. As I was planning to stay at the Hilton for my partner's birthday I called the front desk a few days prior to our arrival and expressed my concerns. At this point, the member of staff that I spoke to informed me that they would take this into consideration and reserved me a double deluxe room, which I was very happy with. Upon arrival we were greeted by a trainee who checked us in, which all went smoothly apart from when a senior member of staff told her off about a previous matter in front of us which I thought was very unprofessional and demeaning for the trainee. After this, we went to our rooms and this was when I was most disappointed. The room was by far not 'deluxe,' I've stayed in Hampton by Hilton's for half the price which were far nicer. The bed was absolutely awful, the springs dug into our backs and there was a huge dip in the middle. That combined with the blaring music from the passing boat parties made it probably the worst night's sleep I have had in a long time. Lastly, despite the fact that staff knew it was my partner's birthday, no effort was made at all to make this special for him. I will not be recommeding the Hilton London Docklands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am very sorry to see that you experienced these problems during your stay, and that your partner’s birthday was not acknowledged. I would like to look into this further, and would very much appreciate an opportunity to speak to you about your stay. If you are happy for me to contact you, would you kindly send your contact details to Joanna.Gale-Batten@Hilton.com.
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on the Tesco clubcard points so didn't really cost us a penny. We had one of the standard double rooms, quite basic, did the job but was incredibly warm as we were here during the heat wave we had. No air conditioning, we were given a fan which wasn't any use. Tiny bathroom and terrible view onto a car park, I think as we had used the tesco points we were back of the line for a river view!

Hotel gave you free tickets to use on the Thames Clipper, a passenger boat than ran every 15/20 mins across to Canary Wharf so had great access to all the restaurants and jubilee line.

One thing I have noticed with Hilton is that they always do a great Buffett Breakfast. Never a disappointment!

All in all a tidy and clean hotel. Did what we needed for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here. I will certainly pass your compliments on to our chef, after reading this feedback about our buffet breakfast! I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hilton London Docklands for your next trip to London.
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, great value for families with children under 15 years. We have stayed on many occasions in recent years. Rooms clean and spacious, breakfast by the river Thames is lovely, breakfast food excellent. Bar is reasonable in size and comfort. Bar menu is reasonable. Gym is very good. Swimming pool is ok but small. Sauna is ok. You do need to plan your transport into and back from London, we use the river boat taxis. Good hotel and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanna G, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you very much for this review, and for your loyalty to Hilton London Docklands. I am delighted that we can continue to be your hotel of choice in London!
Kind regards,
Joanna Gale-Batten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Docklands

Address: 265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#330 Luxury Hotel in London
#389 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on the banks of the River Thames, Hilton London Docklands is only a 20 minute journey to London City Airport. The hotel has a unique complimentary ferry service, which will transport you back and forth from Canary Wharf pier. From Canary Wharf the O2 arena, the ExCel London conference venue and the business district itself are all easily accessible. When staying at the Hilton London Docklands hotel you can take advantage of the 24-hour business center or the dedicated work areas in the guest rooms. And when you need some time to relax, you can make the most of the on-site gym and the Terrace Restaurant which offers both international and British traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton London Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Docklands Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.