We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique ferry shuttle, great staff, awful room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton London Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton London Docklands to your Saves list
Hilton London Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #543 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Bridlington
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Unique ferry shuttle, great staff, awful room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the only Hilton I've stayed at that has its own free Ferry shuttle to Canary Wharf, from which you can take the very high speed river shuttle to the London Eye and do all your sightseeing from there. I loved this aspect of the stay and made it very different from expensive central London hotels of a similar standard. Location therefore was excellent and suited us very well. We'll certainly use the hotel again if the price is right and we want to visit London in the future.

I got a very good price of £95 for bed and breakfast for 2 in a superior room. There were positives and negatives about the room. The view was breathtaking, looking over the Thames to Canary Wharf. We arrived in darkness and there was a definite 'oooh' moment looking at the lights across the river.

The room was very spacious but badly designed. It was badly in need of a refit and looked very tired. The bathroom has obviously been patched up over the years to try to hide the tattyness and damp patches which remain. This was confirmed by our visiting woodlice in the night in the bathroom who enjoyed the damp corners and bits of mildew. The shower was OK-ish but again a bit tatty and well worn. The whole bathroom was small and dingy. The main room had a comfy sofa and large screen TV. Plenty of hot drinks but I wasn't keen on the bottle of water that, on the other side had a price tag. Don't put things in the room if you expect us to pay for them! Also, it was odd that there was a standard 4'6 double bed and a 3ft single bed in the room when there was clearly room for a king or queen size bed which is more or less standard in hotels these days. We have a queen size at home and it was difficult to use the standard double so I ended up in the single. Overall, the room was very poor indeed given that it was supposed to be a superior.

The staff were all superb, especially the manager who was on at breakfast who was efficient, friendly and very attentive (I couldn't see her name tag without it appearing like I was staring at her left breast!). She obviously enjoys her job and went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our breakfast which was excellent. Similarly the receptionist who checked us in and out was friendly, polite and couldn't do enough to accommodate our needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our location, and that our members of staff were able to demonstrate their high standards of service. I have passed your comments concerning the room onto our management team, and we would like to look into this further. I would very much appreciate you contacting me at mohit.murgai@hilton.com. Thank you and I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    658
    491
    256
    102
See reviews for
390
697
113
411
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not the most Central of the London Hiltons- but the only one (I think!) with its own ferry shuttle across the Thames.
15 min walk to nearest tube at Canada Water , or alternatively take the Hilton Ferry across the Thames to Canary Wharf to get the tube or Thames Clipper boats into Central London (worth doing!)

Really good standard of breakfast - and if you are lucky enough to grab a window table you can watch life on the Thames pass you by.
Rooms are good standard but a little small , but this hotel is all about the location.
Also handy for the O2 Stadium
Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our proximity to Canary Wharf and other central landmarks. Thank you for taking the time to share these comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another great experience.
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I have visited London for the past five years and stayed in various hotels for two nights beginning New Year's Day. This year, we decided we'd stay New Year's Eve and enjoy the London celebrations. After staying at this hotel in 2009 we knew the difficulties of getting to the hotel from the tube, but also knew how to overcome them (the Thames clipper or C10 bus) and so decided to return as we'd had a pleasant stay before. In 2009, we paid £180.95 for the two nights including breakfast for a double deluxe room which we thought was very reasonable and contributed to us returning. However, this year we paid £299.16 for a standard guest room and requested an eStandby upgrade at an extra cost of £36 (if the room was available on arrival - which it was) to the double deluxe room. At the time of booking, I had forgotten that we had previously stayed in a deluxe room, so put the extra cost down to a superior room, the fact it was New Year's Eve, and obviously a slight bit of yearly inflation. Upon arrival, this room (#2522), although on a high floor with a lovely view of the Thames from the balcony, was smaller than the previous room we stayed in, and had an incredibly wonky and squeaky floor. This we could overlook - every room must be slightly different, although we did begin to wonder if it deserved the hefty price tag. When we got into bed, the mattress was evidently years old and definitely past it's best with one side almost as flat as a pancake and springs that had no spring left in them. We both had sleepiness nights and rose with aching shoulders and backs. It was at this point we regretted choosing this hotel and were completely baffled as to how they could charge the £330+ we'd paid for a DELUXE room. I then jumped in the shower and after working out how to use it, could only get very tepid water out the tap, which did not make for a pleasant start to my already achy morning. Although we appreciate that every room must be different, and mattresses changed intermittently throughout the year in different rooms, we unfortunately got the THAT room that is probably (hopefully) on the list to be changed next. However, it was enough for us both to say we would not return, nor would we recommend, and we're thoroughly frustrated at ourselves for spending money that could have been spent on an actual deluxe room (for example, we stayed in the London Tower Guoman hotel, which was luxury, for ~£360 last year). If you can find a cheap deal, the hotel is acceptable - clean, nice staff, nice views, good food and bar, just not what you expect when you hear Hilton, and so not worth the money we paid.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing stay. I would like to look into this further, as these issues are unacceptable for us. May I kindly request that you contact me directly at mohit.murgai@hilton.com.
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ok quality and clean but the rooms and interior are a bit dated and shabby, leisure club and pool especially are a bit dated and shabby inside. Food quality is also below that which I have experienced in most Hiltons. Main issue with hotel is the awkward location having to get a ferry to Canary Wharf (which can be especially difficult at nights or weekends). Overall an ok hotel for business use but wouldn't recommend to the leisure traveller.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent business trip. We value all feedback and I have already shared your concerns with our management team. For your information there is also a bus route that passes in front of the hotel very frequently, and takes five minutes to Canada Water tube station. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Paid £125 for a one night stay in a deluxe double, room which was allocated at check in was extremely small as was the bathroom, no bathrobe and slippers as promised on here, carpet full of stains. We asked to be move to a better room the room we were moved to was slightly bigger but with exactly the same problems as before. I had to ask to speak to a manager before we were moved to the 'older' side of the hotel were the deluxe double is much bigger as is the bathroom. room much better presented however the communal hallway smells strongly of wet carpet. Had to queue for a long time for breakfast a very disappointing stay worst Hilton I've stayed at. Needs closing down and refurbishing and deep carpet cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I understand that you were not fully satisfied with your room, and I unreservedly apologize for letting you down on this occasion. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with our management team. I would like to be able to contact you directly, to find out more about your experience. Please email me at mohit.murgai@hilton.com. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oundle
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

in the Rotherhithe area of London you have to allow for travel times and costs to get to the West End etc.e.g. Tube trains £7+ for OffPeak return from the Massive Canary Wharf complex.
All Hotel Guests receive passes for their stay which entitles use of the Ferry across the Thames to link with Clipper Cruisers to Embankment/Waterloo or down River to the O2 or Greenwich for the Cutty Sark and new Emirates Air Line cable Car to Stratford Park.there are DLR stations nearby too on that side
as it was a special birthday treat we got an up-grade to a Deluxe Double with a window seat overlooking the Thames. full A/C, toiletries replaced daily .Flat screen UK TV-programs available in Fr/D/Russian too Tea+Coffee making facility. WiFi (chargable in room) free in public areas. Generous Buffet Breakfast avoid 9-10am crowds. staff coped well with large numbers of guests. Room Service add-on is £6pp!
rooms slightly tired decor but we didnt want to stay in anyway.Restaurant and Bar meals generous size portions but not cheap. Use of Living Well heated indoor pool,jaccuzzi,sauna,gym £1 for a locker.about 50yards away from Hotel Lobby-no indoor access.

Room Tip: the Hotel has 2 separate blocks one side of Reception and the Colombia Wharf converted into rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is a great help for us to receive this kind of feedback. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed your birthday with us, and that you were happy with your upgraded room. When we know that a guest is going to be celebrating a special occasion, we always try our best to do something nice. I look forward to welcoming you back for your 5th visit!
Kind regards,
Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Booked a hotel for my first anniversary. The room was excellent and found a lovely note from the manager, Mr Murgai, wishing us a good stay with complimentary tickets for the ferry. Room service food was delicious although no one came to collect the dishes despite a request being sent through. The view from the room of canary wharf was stunning, and the room in general was excellent. Definitely would stay again!

Special thanks to Mr Murgai.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohit M, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Docklands, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Mohit Murgai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton London Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Docklands

Address: 265 Rotherhithe Street, London SE16 5HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#317 Luxury Hotel in London
#374 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated on the banks of the River Thames, Hilton London Docklands is only a 20 minute journey to London City Airport. The hotel has a unique complimentary ferry service, which will transport you back and forth from Canary Wharf pier. From Canary Wharf the O2 arena, the ExCel London conference venue and the business district itself are all easily accessible. When staying at the Hilton London Docklands hotel you can take advantage of the 24-hour business center or the dedicated work areas in the guest rooms. And when you need some time to relax, you can make the most of the on-site gym and the Terrace Restaurant which offers both international and British traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton London Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Docklands Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton London Docklands England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton London Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.