We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate to your Saves list
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #483 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cork,Ire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Brought my wife here last weekend as we had to go to the Thai Embassy to get her Thai passport sorted out.Hotel was only 200 yards from embassy but also excellent location for all the amenities that London has to offer.High Street KensingtonTube station a short walk away as was Harrods,Albert Hall,numerous restaurants and easy access to bus routes to visit all the major tourist attractions.Hotel itself is a throwback to beautiful architecture of olden days and is a lovely area on a crisp sunny day with a welcoming entrance.Rooms are snug but comfortable and dining area is of a very good standard with very attentive staff who are only too willing to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    407
    195
    77
    45
See reviews for
165
317
58
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times on business. The service is second to none. The hotel bar will stay open if you are up late. We were early one trip and the room was not ready and they gave us access to the pool area to relax and refresh. The rooms are small, but that is the norm in Europe.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel Regency is in a remarkably good location in South Kensington, just a two block walk to the South Kensington tube station, from which you can get just about anywhere you need to go in London and farther out. The area is lovely, safe and there are many really terrific restaurants in that same two block radius. Excellent.

The hotel itself was modernized for the Olympics with newly refurbished suites in modern decor. A double room is just that, a double, so don't expect a queen or a king. Mattress in my room was memory foam atop a somewhat squeaky bedframe but comfortable enough with good enough linens. The front street location is really quiet at night, so had the luxury of sleeping with the window open. Street traffic begins about 6 am, just fine for my working schedule.
The showers and baths are also newly refurbished. Water pressure OK ish, but a wonderfully abundant source of super hot water! I didn't notice a lot of water noise, or in hallway noise so I thought the hotel was pretty empty. When I went for breakfast I was quite surprised to see a quite full dining room. A good sign of either excellent noise proofing or particularly adept "guest placement".

The hotel amenities are good. If your room comes with breakfast, expect a full service English style breakfast of continental fare, a good assortment by European standards. This is not a Vegas style over the top buffet, for European standard it is really decent. If you choose, the a la carte menu includes every classic hot item at not too steep a price. Coffee is good, strong and dark, lots of tea choices.

There is a small but well equipped gym (small) with virtually no one in it. One elliptical, one treadmill and one bike, but modern and in good working order. One universal type machine. The gym code varies each day and you have to ask what it is that day at the front desk. If your room does not come with a gym package, it is not worth the 10 pound admission fee. (of course are paying for it anyway, but...somehow handing over the 10 pounds would feel like a rip..)

Ahh, the front desk. Let's separate the front desk from the concierge who was ever friendly, helpful (ran down the block in the rain to hail a cab) and stored my bags for the day efficiently and with a smile. The front desk is poorly efficient to say the least. Staff who are checking longish lines in or out are also answering complicated guest queries on the phone. When I checked in, they had two staff on the desk and the one who checked me in made it clear that she was on her way out for the day. Pleasant enough, but told me nothing about the hotel, I found out about the gym code the next day, and I felt like I was pretty much between her and the door. When I asked about a couple of things, she told me she assumed I had stayed there before. On the day I checked out, the lone desk person was dealing on the phone with a very long and complicated multiple party bill question while three of us stood in line. Oh by the way, the guy standing at the far end of the desk is not apparently a "front desk" person.

All in all, I liked the hotel quite a bit. I would stay there again I think, but with a tiny bit of front desk tweaking the experience could be quite lovely.

Room Tip: Use the stairs which are brightly lit and pleasant to use rather than waiting for the lift. This ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I had a great stay at The Recency hotel, and will definitely consider it again - mainly for its value for money and great facilties! Thanks to Rajiv at front of house for his warm reception and assistance with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

this hotel is very well located -2 blocks - from the Picadilly, District and Circle lines in South Kensington. The hotel is in a very safe area with lots of shops ,restaurants, coffee house to walk to. Rooms are small yet if you insist and ask to see a few you may get one you like better as I did yet keep in mind hotel rooms in London tend to be smaller than US.
hotel is very clean and newly refurbished and casually elegant and you do get the sense you're min a nicer quality hotel overall and much nicer than the chain hotels . Amenities are few so bring your own toiletries as they only provide a shampoo/bath gel combination so no lotion, shower cap etc, although lots of coffee and tea were provided in the room. also umbrellas are provided for the inclement weather
Service was fine, attendants kept room very clean and foam mattress bed was superb
Please ask for Thomas the bell service person, he was a brilliant service provider ,kind, caring and uniquely interested in making me and my guest fee great. This young gentleman really understands first class service and never had his hand out for A tip.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front of the hotel and it was a bit noisy in the early morning due to traffic y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Pretty hotel in good location, rooms small but clean,air condition not working was told it gets disconnected this time of year, due to this rooms get very warm and stuffy especially after you shower and during the night.
Reception staff not very friendly at all, they look like they don't want to be there!
I have to agree with the previous review, it's not good to take money from card without notification!
I booked this stay well in advance so, did get a reasonable rate, wouldn't pay full price to stay at this hotel. Would defiantly rate as 3*

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Address: 100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#291 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Queens Gate
Regency Hotel London
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.