We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate to your Saves list
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #483 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Dublin
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Location location location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Fab location. Only few minutes walk yo south Ken tube station lots of really good restaurants to try and ken high street to shop but the hotel is not great. Small overpriced rooms. Rubbish wifi at additional cost!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    415
    201
    79
    45
See reviews for
168
327
58
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The food and food service overall only mediocre. Front desk staff superb and wonderful concierge service. Air conditioning not too steady, and condensation ruined my phone. Staff was responsive, and our stat overall was great. Wonderful neighborhood near museums, restaurants, tube station. Relatively near Harrods if you are a walker. A bit expensive, but very clean.

Room Tip: Noise from school next door. Suites have the bathroom upstairs...probably best choice, though a it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my parents at the end of May 2013 for two nights. We were assigned a room on the ground floor, Room 43 (right next to Housekeeping's room). Overall, our stay was an average experience, but definitely NOT worth the price we paid. For the money you are about to spend, spend it elsewhere - there are many other hotels in London worth what you are about to pay, with the services and amenities that the Regency Hotel lacks.

First, upon checkin, the person we encountered at reception gave us very poor service. She spent the entire time chatting with the other individual at reception and barely said anything to us as she gave us our room key and information. She made no effort to make conversation nor made us feel welcome.

Second, our room was tiny. The very basic, bare amenities are provided and nothing more (only shower gel and soap in a dispenser is provided, there's no fridge and very limited space).

Third, our room was in close proximity to the radiator above and therefore made excessive noise throughout the night. We called reception about this issue but were told that because their rooms were full (a couple of tour busses were also spending the weekend here and booked most of the rooms), there were no other rooms available for us.

However, despite the above, our favourite part of the hotel was the location. It is situated in a great neighbourhood - a 5 minute walk to the South Kensington tube station, with lots of cafes and shops around the corner, a Tesco grocery store a few steps away, a 10-15 minute walk to Kensington Palace/Gardens and Royal Albert Hall. It's a beautiful neighbourhood, away from tourist central.

Overall, I wouldn't come back here. The experience was the same as any chain hotel, but with worse service. I expected a lot more for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Recently had the pleasure of staying in this hotel and enjoyed every aspect of my stay. It is in an excellent location in easy walking distance to Kensington Gardens and many tourist attractions. The bed was very comfortable!! The staff were helpful and friendly. Food top quality! In fact I can only find positive things to say...I hope to return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place makes me feel like it's probably worth spending a little bit more money on hotel rooms. I stayed here with my wife for my 30th birthday as we had tickets to watch Ryan Adams at the Royal Albert Hall that night. The hotel is very 'London', even though I'm not quite sure what that means or why I've started using inverted commas, but it's hard to imagine it in any other city - I don't know, arriving on a tree lined street into a frosted glass canopy just feels good. I could imagine bumping into Paul Merton or someone in the lobby.

Right, the hotel itself is spotless. We arrived a couple of hours early but the helpful staff organised our room straight away. It's really well decorated and the room, although smallish, was well equipped with a good shower in the wash room. The bed was comfortable but it's true that you can hear the air conditioning system running through the pipes on the first floor by the staircase, so if you are a really light sleeper you might want to avoid those rooms.

There is a row of Boris' bikes right outside the entrance which is a nice way to get around or if you want to ride back to the hotel after taking them out in one of the parks or around the city. South Kensington tube station is only a few minutes walk and is surrounded by a couple of decent pubs and some restaurants. The Royal Albert Hall is a 10 minute walk up the street right opposite Hyde Park.

It's an excellent hotel this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Having been quite excited about staying at this Hotel - for our special London break we were left sorely disappointed. The room was very small, with a really uncomfortable bed (you could feel the bedsprings!), and a tiny shower room with no bath and only shower gel as a toiletry.

The 'Terrace' where they advertised you could have afternoon tea, was an enclosed space with a skylight and completely empty when we went - so we had to find a waiter and then it took about 35 minutes for them to produce afternoon tea - they had obviously been caught on the hop! Breakfast was ok, but like the afternoon tea, nothing special. The Hotel prides itself on being independently owned - but it was just as impersonal as all the other large chains. For the Star rating, it was a real let down - I am sure the really expensive rooms must be better but for us the best thing about this Hotel was the location - we certainly won't return.

Room Tip: pay for the most expensive room and it hopefully will be nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Chose The Regency for it's proximity to the Chelsea Flower Show but also found the location to be great for Knightsbridge and Chelsea shops/cafes/restaurants and museums. Less than 5 mins walk to the tube it's ideal. We arrived at 10am but were given a room straightaway and even got a complementary upgrade to a Queensgate room on the top floor. The room & bathroom were quite small but that's normal for London and they were smartly furnished, modern and spotlessly clean. We also got a lovely basket of fruit delivered to our room on our arrival, a nice touch. The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: This hotel's in a smart area so I would imagine all rooms have a reasonable view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Address: 100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Queens Gate
Regency Hotel London
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.