We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“room newly refurbished but very small” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate to your Saves list
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England (Earls Court)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    407
    196
    77
    45
See reviews for
165
320
58
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, and the room wasn't the largest! As a 4 star hotel in a nice location I expected better, but I was on my own and had a double/twin room and it was quite cosy! If there were 2 in the room it would feel a bit cramped. I did request a double bed, but I got 2 twin beds, but I don't know if they actually do double beds or if their 'double' rooms are 2 twin beds pushed together. The room was clean, and so was the bathroom (which was also small), and there were sufficient towels. The air conditioning unit kept clicking during the night too which was quite annoying, and I asked a hotel engineer but he didn't do much. The television was nice and large and had a good variety of channels. Breakfast was a bit of a let down (I had it included but if I didn't it would have cost £10 extra), being a posh 4 star hotel I expected better with those prices. A poor continental spread I would call it, a few rolls and croissants, ham and cheese, cereals, muffins, fruit and yoghurt. Everything cost extra as well, for full English it was an extra £6, and there were other options for extra prices, and for a 4 star hotel I expected at least some warm options at no extra charge. Also, after beeing shown to my chair, I was told that they would bring me tea or coffee. 20 minutes passed and I had to attract one of the waiters' attention to fetch me tea. I booked through travel republic and I booked it with breakfast, but when I checked in they tried to tell me I'd booked room only, not bed and breakfast. I showed them the paperwork and they rectified it. Overall, a rather disappointing stay for the price, location and stars.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Nice Clean hotel in Kensington. Short distance to the Tube, restaurants and museums. Quite small rooms however and 10 £ for internet access is just irritating. Good service at the reception. Quiet room towards the backyard.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful experience staying at this hotel. The rooms were small but extremely clean. The one concern that i had was regarding the AC which wasn't programmable.

Considering the location of this hotel, there are really no better choice. I absolutely loved the neighborhood that the Regency was in because it was within walking distance of Chelsea (King's Road), museums, Kensington Garden/Palace, SouKen hotspots (Boujis), Knightsbridge shops and etc. In the end, I would definitely return to this hotel the next time I visit London.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Regency Hotel for one week after it was recommended to us from family. We arrived to the hotel via cab from London Victoria (nominal fee), but it would have been just as easy to travel to the hotel via tube, which we found easy to navigate and would have only been a few stops.

When we arrived, we were informed we received a complimentary room upgrade, yippy! We appreciated the extra space and floor to ceiling windows in our room, however, found sleeping to be quite noisy as we were overlooking the intersection the hotel is located at. The hotel is decorated stylishly and it was nice to have lots of plug ins for our devices in the room. We also found the staff to be friendly and always available to serve us.

I can't say enough about the location of this hotel. Only a 5 minute walk from South Kensington tube station (also a bus stop less than 30 seconds walk from hotel) and in a quiet neighbourhood where you'll find locals and tourists, and lots of pubs to keep you content (highly recommend Angelsea Arms - turn right out of the hotel and keep walking for 5 minutes it will be on the right-always jumping, we couldn't believe it!). We felt safe and secure walking around in this neighbourhood at any time. There are lots of restaurants and stores around to eat, drink, and pick up any items you may require while on vacation.

We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed this very much (usually costs 17 Euros a head; in which case we would have preferred to eat at Pret A Manger near the tube station). Breakfast included whatever you wanted from the cold buffet (fresh fruit, fruit salad, yogurt, branded cereal, coffee/tea, variety of juice, muffins, bread and hot stuff from the kitchen ie: ploughmans breakfast that included eggs, sausage and bacon, tomatoes, beans, homefries, and toast).

The only criticisms I have regarding this hotel is that paying $10 daily to use their limited gym is bogus. As well, we didn't like that we were pressured into going down to the lobby bar for drinks after asking for a wine glass and ice for our room. Aside from that, this was the perfect place to stay for our perfect visit to London!

Room Tip: Ask to not be close to the intersection or you'll hear pedestrians and honking horns at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
motril
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We found this hotel to be ideally located for all that we needed and close to the points of interest we wished to visit. Although the facade is old and very characterful the interior has obviously been recently well renovated. The room was actually quite small but very well-equipped with a comfortable bed. All the facilities worked well and contributed to a very satisfactory stay.
We found the reception staff to be welcoming friendly and pleased to offer requested information.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The recently re-decorated Regency Hotel in Queens Gate is a satisfying accommodation in a very pleasant area of London. Conveniently close to the subway. Small bedrooms, but nicely decorated. Suggestion: they should put instructions for the lighting systems on the wall as it is very confusing at first. Good breakfast and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor and the room was very quiet and sunny. Close to elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate

Address: 100 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#292 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Queens Gate
Regency Hotel London
Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency Hotel - Queen's Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.