We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rathbone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rathbone Hotel to your Saves list
Rathbone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have stayed at The Rathbone several times over the last few years, because the location is perfect, just north of Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden. We usually book and pay in advance to get the best deal, and this time booked a king bed executive double room, which was spacious and comfortable, with a comfortable bed and and a nice sofa.
Minor gripes were the lack of bedside tables (no space near the sides of the bed), no razor point (toothbrush charged on the room desk!) and no heated towel rail (there was a redundant one, but this was disconnected when the mains heating system was replaced with air-con / heating systems to the bedrooms), so towels stayed cold and damp overnight.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The area is quite peaceful and nice for a stroll.
Calls for more tea bags etc were quickly dealt with. You are given a “club card” that entitles you to 10% off in selected local area restaurants, a nice touch.
There a nice pubs (try the Newman’s Arms for good beer, good company and great pies), cafes, restaurants nearby, along with newsagents, supermarkets, deli’s etc.
All in all it is ideal for a few days break in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room facing Rathbone Street for the most peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you found our staff welcoming and friendly and our location perfect.
I am sorry that we fell short on your expectations regarding the issues mentioned above, but be assured that they will be addressed.

I am glad that you will stay again with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    304
    101
    34
    25
See reviews for
67
245
70
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The service at this small hotel is unexpectedly good for a British hotel. Staff were always helpful and quick to deal with a problem. The location is superb, just off Goodge Street with a supermarket, laundry and newsagent almost next door. And all round the neighbourhood there are some great restaurants. Those are the positives. The negatives are small rooms; the same neighbouring restaurants contribute to high noise levels at night which made their way even through the double glazing and the wifi is expensive. But even so for single travellers with ear plugs this hotel is a real bargain. And the staff are so good it's easy to dismiss the niggles as just that... minor gripes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review.

We at the Rathbone Hotel are very glad to know that we were part of a great travel experience, and I am very pleased that you found the staff always helpful. I will pass this comment on to everyone.

Thank you for the time you took posting this review and everyone at the hotel is looking forward to welcome you again in a not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The hotel was booked for the evening between meetings, and so I didn't expect much. I was pleasantly surprised, then, to find a hotel that had some architectural interest to go along with some attentive customer service. I had a suite, and liked the period furniture with the overstuffed pillows. The bedroom had half-height windows, up high, so I could close the curtains and sleep soundly. The bathroom has the usual British amenities: soaker tub, heated towel rails, etc, but the hotel-supplied toiletries were quite nice. And there was a trouser press, which is always handy.

The bar is small, but the chairs are comfy, and I spent a number of hours there, chatting with a colleague. The breakfast choices weren't elaborate, but enough to satisfy the carb-seekers and the carb-avoiders. (I had a pot of coffee, some cold cuts and cheese, and very flaky croissant.)

The hotel's location is ideal, as it's close to lots of restaurants, transit, and a pedestrian area. I would definitely put this on my list of preferred places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your great review.

Your review picks the important points of our hotel, Location, Service and a good all round breakfast.
I will pass on your comments to our staff that will be very happy to know that they proportioned another service without flaws.

Thank you once again and all the team is looking forward to welcome you again at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

When we got to our hotel, the neighborhood was full of creative types. The hotel had dated carpeting and decor, but the full wall of mirrors and the black/red decorations were somewhat provocative. We booked the Rathbone for the value and location, and for that it was a good buy. We had a suite and were happy that we booked it as the bedroom had just inches of space around the bed. The staff was friendly, but clearly without much experience in hospitality. The street noise on the 2nd floor was not too much.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you found the Rathbone Hotel a good buy, regarding value and location.
Regarding the décor, we generally have very good comments recommending us for our traditional approach, but thank you for your feedback which will help us improve in the future.

I look forward to receive you again at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I had two nights in London and wanted a decent hotel without breaking the bank. The Rathbone was perfect: walking distance to many of the sites I most wanted to see--especially the British Museum. I felt safe in the neighborhood, there were plenty of good restaurants and pubs within a block or two of the hotel, and it wasn't too loud. Best of all, the price was reasonable. I see the reviews saying the hotel needs updating. I didn't find the rooms or lobby too dated, and it certainly was clean and seemed well maintained. I can't imagine finding a place in NYC of equivalent quality for such a reasonable price, so I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the time you spent posting this great review.

As you mentioned, our location is absolutely outstanding, we are right in the middle of one the busiest areas of London, yet in a quiet street.
We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Rathbone Hotel. Our aim is to provide a great service to all our guests, making their stay something to enjoy and remember.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you again at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Positives: great location close to many restaurants and not far from the tube; friendly staff; cozy lobby; ornate details reminiscent of another time; one of the better values in area; sheets felt high end; great water pressure.
Negatives: Internet was very expensive; rooms could use some updating (while maintaining charm); small room but I understand that is to be expected in London

We took full advantage of the cozy lobby to read, surf, meet with other family staying there and even babysit a 2 year old. Very welcoming area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and our location great.
Thank you for noticing our décor and sheets, and also by rating us as one of the better values in the area.
Regarding the Wifi, we have a special promotion for returning guests, and if you book through our reservations department with the promotional code supplied (you can call the hotel providing the details of your last reservation, and we will supply the code) you will get, not only the best available rate at the time of your booking, but also, complimentary Wifi throughout your future stay.

Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have stayed at the Rathbone before as it is near to my office and I always enjoy the time. The location really is first class just off Oxford St and ideal for the best of the West End, but while the lobby is quite ornate the rooms are in need of a facelift as they are looking very tired now.
I expect the location will usually swing it for most people but as they compete with much smarter local hotels (that cost the same) such as the Rathbone, Soho & recently refurbished Morgans on Berners St, I would fear for their business if this is not done, particularly as it could never be described as cheap.

Room Tip: At the back, not overlooking Charlotte St as this can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Thank you for highlighting our position in this great city. We are close to a large number of attractions either for leisure or business.

I am sorry that you found the rooms tired, we usually receive very nice compliments about our traditional rooms and décor, nevertheless thank you for your comment which we will also take into consideration.

We hope we will see you again in a near future.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathbone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Hotel

Address: 30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#275 Romantic Hotel in London
#332 Business Hotel in London
#369 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathbone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone is a comfortable, intimate, boutique style hotel, located within the heart of London's West End, within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street, Soho, the Theatre District, Museums, Art Galleries and a wide choice of some of the best and most vibrant restaurants London has to offer. With its 72 en-suite, air cooled bedrooms and suites, the Rathbone provides the perfect base for business and leisure visitors to London and provides a convenient, comfortable and tranquil haven amidst the pace of London's bustling environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Rathbone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathbone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.