We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rathbone Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rathbone Hotel to your Saves list
Rathbone Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #349 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We picked the hotel because it was near a lot of things, particularly the British Museum. We were able to walk everywhere. What we didn't know beforehand was that one block over, Charlotte Street has restaurant after restaurant of all types of cuisine and lots of price levels. Also pubs. Our favorite was Josephine's Filipino but we also liked a Japanese one and a Cypriot one---all within a couple of blocks of the hotel, along with many others. We loved our stay. Very comfortable with helpful staff. One difference from the US is that they expect you to put out a doorknob tag to clean the room, like we do for privacy. The hotel is small and quiet for individuals and families, not one of those big ones equipped for meetings. That was great for us. If we go back to London Rathbone will be our first choice.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool. We did not use the restaurant because breakfast would have cost another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing this kind comments following your visit to The Rathbone Hotel.

As you mentioned, our location is absolutely phenomenal, we are right in the middle of one the busiest areas of London, yet in a quiet street. We are very proud of our staff at The Rathbone and it is always pleasing to receive such kind comments as yours.

I am very pleased that we will be your destination in London in the future. I will pass on your lovely comments to our team who will be very happy and it will motivate them even more to welcome all our future guests.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    304
    101
    34
    25
See reviews for
67
245
69
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Good location close to covent garden and lots of eateries. Very clean rooms. Decent enough size for London. Signing up to wifi is a bit silly- you need to call reception to add additional individual devices. Hope they sort that out soon. Relatively good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the time you took posting this review.

We are most pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Rathbone Hotel, and found our rooms very clean and of a good size.

Our team is looking forward to welcome you back with a great smile.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel was an excellent find.
We got a great rate on the internet for this splendid hotel which is in an excellent location for outstanding restaurants and shopping. Just above Oxford Street and a quick walk to Covent Garden or SOHO - it is the ideal place to enjoy all that London had to offer. The Tottenham Court tube station is just 5 minutes walk away.

The rooms are spacious (not usual at the price paid) and the bed extremely comfortable. The front desk staff are efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would possibly be quieter - but the street noise did not worry us at all. Breakfast w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for the time you spent posting this lovely review.

Our Hotel location is very convenient for every kind of traveller, near to Oxford Street, the Theatreland and various restaurants, it makes every area of Central London easily accessible.

I am glad to hear that you found our bed extremely comfortable and the front office staff efficient and friendly, because that is our aim for every guest, every time.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is my hotel whenever I come to London. The value for money is good. The only comment I would have is that the hotel is now ready for some refurbishement. Reception staff is generally very helpfull. The bar is perfect for the pre or post dinner drink.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing this kind comments following your visit to The Rathbone Hotel.

We are very pleased that The Rathbone is your choice whenever you come to London.
Thank you for commending our reception staff and bar, I will pass on these comments to our members of staff who, I am sure, will be thrilled.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I spent one night here and chose it based on location as I wanted to be fairly close to Camden but not in the thick of it. It's a great location, 2 mins too Goodge St station and 5 mins to Oxford St and Fitrovia is a very cool area, with lots of great pubs, cafes and restaurants.

The hotel is small but the staff are very welcoming and the hotel does have a lovely feel to it. My single room was great by London standards, plenty of space and very comfortable. Continental breakfast was included in my package and it was amazing, reall fresh, loads of choice and not just croissants and muffins.

My only downside to this hotel is the cost of the wifi, it cost 6 pounds an hour and it killed me to pay it but I actually had to check my emails. There's not even free wifi in the lobby. It really would make this hotel perfect if they offered free wifi, I think most travellers expect it now as norm and I was shocked when I had to pay for it. Other than that a really good experience.

Room Tip: My room was very quiet and had everything I needed except wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.

As you mentioned our location is great. Near Oxford Street, theatreland, Soho, and with transportation links to every location in London, the Rathbone Hotel is a great base to explore London. Our neighbourhood is full of restaurants, bars and art galleries, and do not forget the British Museum just 7 minutes walking from the hotel.

Thank you for mentioning our breakfast, where we have a varied and healthy choice of products in our continental buffet.
If you book directly with the hotel quoting “RATH1302” you will get not only the best available rate, but also free Wifi throughout your stay. Also, if you book our lovely Suites or Club rooms, together with free Wifi you will also have a complimentary drink on arrival to enjoy in our comfortable bar or in the privacy of your room.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

i booked here for a surprise 60th birthday gift for my partner,we arrived on 8th sept to go and see jersey boys,when we checked in my first thought was wow.it was lovely the staff were friendly and very helpful.right from the beginning when i sent alot of e.mails to Jan she was very helpful.the breakfast was wonderful and the rooms were spotless.as a housekeeper myself i couldnt fault your own staff.we will return to your hotel in the future and will definately reccommend it .thankyou.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel S, Assistant Hotel Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review.

We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback like the one you gave is the best motivation to keep on doing an excellent work and to welcome all our guests with a big smile.
I will pass on your comments to all our staff with a special mention to Jan, our reservationist, who I am sure, will be delighted.

Thank you very much for recommending us, and I hope to see you soon at the Rathbone Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Miguel Silva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Rathbone is in a great location, right in the middle of tonnes of restaurants and bars so you
really are spoilt for choice. It’s only a five minute walk from Goodge Street tube and is located on a quiet side street so there is no noise at all despite the hustle and bustle of the area.

Our room was absolutely fine with a big bed, blackout curtains and a large bathroom and in terms of location you can’t go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MKavanagh, General Manager at Rathbone Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It's great to read that you enjoyed our location and as you said, we are spoilt for choice with some of London's most vibrant restaurants and bars on our doorstep. Our location continues to please our guests and although we are in the centre of the hustle and bustle, our one-way small street makes it a quiet haven in a very exciting and fashionable city. Thank you for recommending the Rathbone and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rathbone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rathbone Hotel

Address: 30 Rathbone Street | Fitzrovia, London W1T 1LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#241 Luxury Hotel in London
#273 Romantic Hotel in London
#332 Business Hotel in London
#371 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rathbone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rathbone is a comfortable, intimate, boutique style hotel, located within the heart of London's West End, within easy walking distance of Oxford Street, Bond Street, Regent Street, Soho, the Theatre District, Museums, Art Galleries and a wide choice of some of the best and most vibrant restaurants London has to offer. With its 72 en-suite, air cooled bedrooms and suites, the Rathbone provides the perfect base for business and leisure visitors to London and provides a convenient, comfortable and tranquil haven amidst the pace of London's bustling environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rathbone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rathbone Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rathbone Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.