We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and great meat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barbecoa

Barbecoa
20 New Change Passage, London EC4M 9AG, England
020 3005 8555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Barbecoa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,348 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Price range: $45 - $69
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: The nearest Underground station is St Paul's on the Central Line (2 minute walk). Mansion House and Cannon Street stations on the District and Circle Lines are also within walking distance
Description: Jamie Oliver and American barbecue chef Adam Perry Lang have drawn on traditional cooking techniques from Britain and beyond to create Barbecoa restaurant - a celebration of the relationship between fire and food. Barbecoa will also have an in-house butchery selling quality British meat and cured meat products.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great views and great meat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a restaurant mainly aimed at meat eaters... I only say that as there were people on the table next to us complaining about the fact there was too much of it! How can you have too much meat in what is essentially a barbecue restaurant?!

The service was great, however I personally would have preferred to have one waiter/waitress as opposed to different people taking our drinks order, serving our drinks, taking our food order and then serving the food, then someone else checking back. Although they were all friendly and smiled and were polite, it just seemed a little bit impersonal. A little bit like the restaurant itself in some ways... The views are amazing, you can't deny, but the sheer size of the dining room meant the atmosphere was occasionally a bit deflated as people came/went.

Having said that, the main reason you go to a restaurant is the food.. and the food was amazing! My partner and I had a starter each and steak and all of it was cooked to perfection! The views of the kitchen and the grills/tandoor make for a spectacle as you're waiting but the service was efficient although relaxed. We didn't feel rushed at all, even considering it was a Saturday night. The prices were what you'd expect from a high-end restaurant in a top London location, so don't expect to skimp! The food was lovely and it's a great treat but perhaps not somewhere we'd go again now we've done it once for that reason.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    581
    503
    262
    114
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This place was perfect for an afternoon in London. Right next to St. Pau's Cathedral and the place was very nice inside. I loved how they use all the animal and have little if no waste. We were told that was Jamie's idea for the restaurant. The food was fantastic and we had about 10 people. No one complained and we all loved the atmosphere, the food and the service. I will take my family here when we return as this was a business trip and business friends. We actually walked to the restaurant from the Westminster Bridge (It was a longer walk than expected) and the fact it was next to such a beautiful cathedral was a plus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Unhelpful Booking Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Been here before in Feb 2012 - food great, atmosphere great, table service great.....HOWEVER - our table for six people was way too big and very antisocial. It's quite a noisy restaurant - which is fine when you're sharing a standard sized table for a group of this size - but we couldn't hold a group conversation over the table. When I tried to re-book (two and a half months in advance) I was told they have plenty of availability but they refused to guarantee a smaller table until the day of our visit (not much use when we are all travelling into London for this get-together). Very inflexible telephone assistant, and her supervisor (who apparently backed her decision), so we will not return. Booking somewhere else with a more helpful & flexible attitude. Disappointing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, service and setting - highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Excellent meal and service at a great setting. It's a small restaurant with a lovely view of St Paul's cathedral.

Service was excellent, the staff were friendly and ready to help and advise. Food was excellent, 10/10 for presentation and taste was equally as good too!

Would certainly return again and look forward to it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OK for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

When this place originally opened the food matched the view. Sorry to say the only real exciting thing now is the view.
Menu has become smaller and less interested staff. Economic times hit us all but their pricing stays the same for less quality.Check the menu on-line it's exactly the same as they offer in the place apart from a fish offering of "catch of the day"
If your in London as a tourist it's worth the view but otherwise you can eat a lot better elsewhere.
Just an end note, the toilets were in a VERY sorry state.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecoa also viewed

 

Been to Barbecoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barbecoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.