We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with easy access to buses and tube station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oliver Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oliver Hotel to your Saves list
Oliver Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   198 Cromwell Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 0SN, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #781 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good location with easy access to buses and tube station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Pleasant location with Earls Court Tube Station about 5 mins walk. Room was a good size but did smell of stale tobacco. Room was clean with good size shower. Breakfast was adequate with choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, cheese and toast. Receptionist was very welcoming but breakfast staff rather surly and abrupt. That said, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    48
    52
    27
    49
See reviews for
29
50
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The hotel lacked much hot water in the showers and breakfast was raher basic but it did he trick. I do not have any way to judge hotels in the UK but I had thought I would at least have a more visually appealing room for nearly 100 pounds. Location was superb, though, and the staff tried to help out when possible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We were here in december 2010. The location of the hotel is great - Earl's Court station is a short walk away (6 min), lots of restaurants nearby. Our room was very small, but clean and cosy. We had a clean bathroom with a bathtub, and a small flatscreen tv. In order to get the remote control, you have to go to the front desk and pay a small fee - which you get back if you return the remote control. Breakfast was alright. We were there during the winter, so the heating was on, but it became too hot in our room and we couldn't turn the heating off. That's the only negative thing I have to mention. And we could open the window, so it wasn't that bad after all. Considering how much we paid, I was very pleased with our stay and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Oliver hotel is the perfect example of the mediocre traditional hotel.The rooms are a bit gloomy (there are worrying paintings on the walls), not very clean (i found a brown stain on the towel) and you must pay if you want to watch the tv.The breakfast is included but even the restaurant is dull. However,the staff is warm and internet is free at all time.
A bit expensive.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Hotel is terrible, old and dirty with the worst staff ever!
As soon as arrived we encountered the first problem. At 12.30 PM the room was not ready (the room is supposed to be free from 11 AM as you can check from the Website) and this had not been advised by the receptionist that gave us the key, so both the room and the toilet were not possible to be used at all.
Our room was old, small, dirty and noisy during the night. The bathroom was worse than an hole, as there was not enough space to contain me all. No remote control for tv and NO toilet brush. Dirty laundry. They currently have only one cleaner (without experience) for 50 rooms.
All the staff has been rude, unqualified and not helpful at all!
The breakfast had an embarassing quality... And for the first time in my life I have seen customers QUEUING UP for using the tables in the breakfast room.
The receptionist booked us a taxi and when we left the hotel we realized the taxi was just a private car WITHOUT taximeter and too much expensive for a short distance to be driven.

The ONLY positive point is the location: 10 minutes by walk to the underground.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very disappointed by the standards in this hotel and it did not reflect good value for money. Not happy at all with the bedrooms. The first one was shocking and I would have left but it had been prepaid. The room was old and smelt and bedding was sheets and blankets I told reception I could not stay there. Then she showed me to a slightly better room and we suffered it but again I was not happy so we went out and came back and went to bed. Surprisingly, the bed was comfortable, but my companion had been bitten by the morning. Breakfast was not very inspiring and the service was not good nor the quality of the food and bevereges. Coffee was spooned out of a large can of Nescafé Instant and the waitress growled at me when I asked for a drink after a 10 minute wait. The proprietors should take a walk up to the Coronation Hotel in Neven place to get some idea of simple but good standards of hotel keeping and service, as currently the Olive Hotel Cromwell Rd reflects very poor value for money. Do not mistake his hotel with Olive Plaza Hotels which has high standards.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Used this hotel on business trip and all that can be said is that you get what u pay for. Used it as a place to crash at night. you get solid personal service from owner/manager as is hands on. Treat staff with respect and one will be treated as such.

Room Tip: away from lift if i remember and avoid grnd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Oliver Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oliver Hotel

Address: 198 Cromwell Road | Earl's Court, London SW5 0SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #781 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Oliver Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Oliver Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oliver Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oliver Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.