We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Shall Return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London Lodge Hotel

Save Saved
You added London Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #288 of 1,075 hotels in London
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I Shall Return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the London Lodge Hotel from 3 to 5 October 2012. I would say the main selling point of the hotel is the quality of its staff - without exception, all of them were so accommodating, friendly and helpful. The old adage, "the biggest asset of any organisation is its staff" certainly holds true here. Stayed in a single room (Room 23) and this was ideal. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was of a high standard. Service at breakfast was so attentive and polite. As for location, prior to my arrival at Earls Court Underground, I had initially thought the hotel would be tricky to find and be quite some way from the station. Not the case - it's more or less a straight but fairly short walk (about 6 minutes or so) along Earls Court Road followed by a right turn into Lexham Gardens. So easy to find...and my sense of direction is not the best!
Overall, very pleased I stayed there.

Next time I'm in London, I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Hi Gerard_Glasgow,
Thank you SO much for your wonderful review.
We really appreciate your comments and are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Looking forward to your return!

Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    204
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
62
114
73
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just got back from a holiday that started at the London lodge hotel. we had a fantastic experience there. Very clean, comfortable, and the staff was amazing. For the price you can't go wrong. we had very little trouble using the tube and buses as the location great as well. Many thanks to the evening reception gal from Spain that helped us with our next leg of our trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear 29CJ,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Hotel is in a great location, close to underground station, but the most important think that the hotel has is a very helpfull and friendly receptinist service her name is Edelweiss Alvarez, always with good tips as to where to go,what to do and what to see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Albertoescobar,
Thank you so much for your review.
Edelweiss really appreciates your feedback and praise.
Hope to welcome you again!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We obtained a good deal through Booking.com which included free continental breakfasts.

The location in Kensington is great, the closest tube station is Earl's Court ~5 mins walk away which is on both the Picadilly Line and the District Line.

The Natural History Museum and Kensington Gardens are within walking distance - 15-20 mins.

The hotel is a converted residence and decorated in traditional style. The room we had was a decent size and had air-con/heating. You are able to hear the room above filling their bath tub, but other than that, noise was not an issue.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The included continental breakfast is good. Buffet style cereal, juice, yoghurt, fruit. Toast and croissant with spreads and unlimited coffee/tea served at your table. You can also order eggs or full english breakfast for extra cost.

They do need to have more than one receptionist on (especially in the morning), as checking in and out takes a bit of time so there is often a 10min+ wait if there is someone ahead of you.

The one downside that would stop me from staying here again is the lack of free wi-fi. There is wi-fi available to purchase through bitbuzz, but the prices are outrageous. £2 for 20 mins, £5 for 50 mins or £9 for continuous 24h period.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi boosythecow,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am a little bit disappointed that you felt everything deserved a 4 or 5 out of 5 but gave us an overall rating of 3 but we really appreciate your feedback.
We do have the cheapest rate for internet in hotels in our area and there are plenty of pubs, restaurants, coffee shops in the local area that offer free internet. If you stay in London on a regular basis, we offer a corporate rate that is inclusive of full Enlgish breakfast and wireless internet.
I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future, as I see from your other reviews that you do come to London.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is in a great location on a very nice quiet street. Reception staff were very helpful. It has a cosy feel and makes a change from the big chain hotels. Continental Breakfast (included in the rate) was adequate, plenty of fruit, yoghurts, cheese, coissants and toast. I cant comment on other rooms but mine was a good size and nice and warm. nice large, clean bathroom, and a really comfortable bed, a little updating of the decor and a few tweaks would improve it though. The hotel offered room service and a mini bar and prices seemed reasonable. The only negative was that my room was on the ground floor and the noise of the plumbing did wake me quite early and i had a toilet next to my room which was for general use but I guess in a house of this period the plumbing is hard to change. There is bus stops at the end of the road and i would recommend that the visitor use the buses instead of the tube although slower you see so much more of London and you can use a day ticket(£7) on both bus and tube. Overall excellent little hotel and i would definatly use again if the price was right!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Pammie B,
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is always lovely to receive good reviews.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The London Lodge Hotel is in a great location. You have Earl's Court tube station just a short walk away. The Hotel is on the Piccadilly tube line to Heathrow Airport. It is very central near shops, cafes and pubs. My room was very comfortable and very quiet. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay and when I am back in London I will hopefully stay in the London Lodge again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Hi Maz93,
Thank you so much for your wonderufl review, we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

London Lodge is situated in a quiet street, well located, close to Earl's Court tube station, shops, restaurants, pubs and a laundromat. The room was spacious and clean with air conditioning and a fan. Luxuries we have not found in many motels during our trip around England, Scotland and Wales. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MerileaLondon, Manager at London Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hi Kerri R,
Thank you so much for your review.
Hope you have the opportunity to visit us again!
Warmest regards,
Lea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to London Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Lodge Hotel

Address: 134 / 136 Lexham Gardens, London W8 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#340 Business Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Lodge Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London Lodge Hotel is situated in the quiet and historic Kensington area of London; it is approximately 4 minutes walk from Earl’s Court underground station and this prestigious Town House hotel has a style and charm all of its own. London Lodge is sumptuous in its furnishings, attentive in its service and convenient in its location. Bedrooms have air-conditioning and the high level of facilities that is nowadays expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your London Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Hotel London
London Lodge Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.