We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and really friendly, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksmoor Seven Dials

Hawksmoor Seven Dials
11 Langley Street, London WC2H 9JG, England (Covent Garden)
+44 20 7420 9390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #242 of 17,940 Restaurants in London
Price range: $63 - $94
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: An exquisite British steakhouse and a sensational cocktail bar, Hawksmoor Seven Dials is found in the old Watney-Combe brewery. The fine steaks are sourced from the award-winning Ginger Pig and are cooked on an authentic charcoal grill. With a reputation for the best steaks in London, Hawksmoor serves up critically acclaimed British cuisine alongside exquisite wines. Covent Garden Tube Station is just a 3-minute walk away.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and really friendly, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked a table at Hawksmoor before going to the cinema. It is in a great location in Covent Garden so perfect pre/post theatre.

We were sat in the main restaurant. The ambiance was great, lots of chat, laid back and relaxed. The staff were brilliant, they knew their stuff about steak... But didn't overwhelm you! We chose off the express menu, you can get 2 courses for £23 or 3 courses for £26. It was great value for money as you could get a steak and a side included. It certainly isn't a cheap restaurant, but the quality of the food is worth the cost. I am more than happy to recommend and we will definitely return :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    975
    407
    148
    48
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ate here on Friday night with my wife before going to the theatre, I've bene here twoce before so knew what to expect. The 800g prime rib that we shared was the besrt steak I've had in the UK - very flavoursome and perfectly cooked, triple cooked chips, creaed spinach and a bottle of rioja were also perfect. Great laid-back atmosphere on a Friday night, was getting very busy as we left around 7pm. Highly reccomended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Juicy steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I dropped by before my night at the theatre without booking as I fancied a steak.

They placed me by the bar area which had a different feel to the other section which looked more formal. Good for people watching. The staff are dressed casually and at times you didn't know if they were staff or customers! I ordered the pre-theatre menu for £23. The bone marrow with onions was unctuous, thick and rather lush - the first time I've eaten bone marrow and it was a good introduction to it. The steak was divine along with the chunky chips (as they should be). It's rates high up with the steaks in Argentina, which has the best steaks in the world. I also ordered a side of mushrooms which were portobello and very meaty and perhaps too much to go along with the steaks as I was full, so didn't get to finish these.

Hawksmoor is great as a treat though on the pricey side. Definitely a place for the vegetarians to avoid.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and hip atmosphere, a must-eat in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

When reading about it on the web Hawksmoor seemed very appealing .. undoubtedly it lived up to its expectations! amazing sirloin steak cooked exactly how we'd ordered it. The sides were also delicious and accompanied the meat superbly by complementing the savory taste with some more delicate flavours. Peppercorn sauce was to die for and overall the dining experience was great. I would probably need a thesaurus to go on celebrating this restaurant.. I will definitely go again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best steak and chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Visited for birthday meal.great steak that you choose by cut and weight.beef dripping fries were lovely.bone marrow gravy too was delicious.reasonable prices for meals and drinks.great atmosphere.will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksmoor Seven Dials also viewed

 

Been to Hawksmoor Seven Dials? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksmoor Seven Dials, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.