We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawksmoor Seven Dials

Hawksmoor Seven Dials
11 Langley Street, London WC2H 9JG, England (Covent Garden)
+44 20 7420 9390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 17,998 Restaurants in London
Price range: $62 - $93
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: An exquisite British steakhouse and a sensational cocktail bar, Hawksmoor Seven Dials is found in the old Watney-Combe brewery. The fine steaks are sourced from the award-winning Ginger Pig and are cooked on an authentic charcoal grill. With a reputation for the best steaks in London, Hawksmoor serves up critically acclaimed British cuisine alongside exquisite wines. Covent Garden Tube Station is just a 3-minute walk away.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Came here for a family dinner. Sat at the bar first as we were early for our table. Friendly greeting from bar staff, and help with the cocktail menu, and into our seats at the high table!

Food was excellent. Menu was explained well especially with the cuts of meat for sharing. Large starters, with something for everyone. Steaks were cooked to perfection, originally looked a little charred on the outside but they tasted amazing. Selection of sides to share, can highly recommend the macaroni cheese!

Managed to find room for dessert... peanut butter shortbread was great

Will definitely return

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    979
    410
    148
    49
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heverlee, Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

One of the best steakhouses I ever visited. Top quality, perfect 'cuisson', very good stilton hollandaise, nice atmosphere and acceptable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portishead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We came here for my husbands birthday. My son and his girlfriend treated us to a fabulous meal. We had the Porterhouse steak with chips, a lovely salad, buttered greens and mushrooms to accompany the steak which were extras to pay for separately. Very busy as would be for a Saturday, but staff were brilliant and we had good service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

By far and away the best steak in London. Have been to the Covent Garden and Air Street branches a couple of times now and I have been unable to find a fault! The quality of the meat is fantastic and it is always cooked to perfection. It is complemented by a excellent range of sides - I recommend the beef dripping chips and the mac and cheese.

If you love steak, you'll love Hawksmoor!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Solid option for central London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visited mid week in the early evening, already busy and filled up fast. Smart downstairs bar area leads to main restaurant. Prompt and attentive service from knowledgeable staff member ( Felipe). We tried the express menu, I had the potted Mackerel which was good, my wife the Caesar salad which was a plate of large leaves covered in cheese, sauce and anchovies, different rather than brilliant. For mains we both had excellent rib eye steaks, supported by good sauces.

Food with drinks around £70.

Overall very solid and pleasing choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawksmoor Seven Dials also viewed

 

Been to Hawksmoor Seven Dials? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawksmoor Seven Dials, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.