We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Lane, London W1K 7TN , England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #205 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Business Trip to London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel location is very good , it is walking distance to the main shopping streets in London , the reception is very good and helpful , the services is good , the rooms is big and have all the required facilities

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morten S, Hotel Manager at Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is truly appreciated.

Our central location is perfect for either our many leisure guests who may be here in London to enjoy the sights and shopping along Oxford Street, or the seasoned business traveler such as yourself.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Morten Skumsrud
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    452
    173
    80
    32
See reviews for
251
577
76
398
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Despite writing a negative review about the JW Steakhouse I have to be fair about the hotel. We like the traditional feel of the hotel and the staff are generally super helpful and friendly. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and clean! The location, for us anyway, is second to none in London. Park Lane is a great place to be about. There are plenty of choices around about, to take a drink or a meal. Shopping is on your doorstep. Unfortunately our recent dining experience has made us to decide to stay elsewhere in London on our next visit so I guess I better start reading the reports of other reviewers!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park (Park Lane).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadley, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I stayed here on Sunday for one night and I have to say that the front desk staff was absolutely amazing. They bent over backwards for me and even offered me a complimentary upgrade to an even nicer room (probably due to my Marriott status, but still!)

The Park Room was an amazing place to have afternoon tea and breakfast. The food was delicious and service was excellent.

Now for the restaurant (JW Steakhouse)... I'm afraid it just wasn't worth it. I will start off by saying the service was excellent - no complaints about that whatsoever. The food was OK. Just OK. I never expect to get a perfect steak in the UK, just like I don't expect to get excellent fish and chips in Texas. But at £32/$55 for a 10oz steak, I expect to get pretty darn close.

What I will say is an absolute rip off, is the fact that they fill up a big reusable bottle with tap water and then charge you £2/$3.50 calling it still water. It's just low class. I know when I'm asked "still or sparkling?" at a restaurant, I'm going to end up paying for the water...but it's usually at least a sealed bottle of Acqua Panna, not London City tap water. This ruined the dinner for me, and I really hope management reconsiders what they're doing here.

The cafe right before you get to the steakhouse had an excellent selection, but a bit overpriced. It's a hotel shop, so I understand the slight price increase. It was convenient, however, and the service was great.

All in all a good stay, but the still water business at the steakhouse really rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent 5 nights here near Hyde Park in London and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were nice, larger than expected, with wonderful beds and quiet halls. The service was spectacular. Every single employee was dressed professionally, was eager to please, and ALWAYS made eye contact and spoke when passing. We could not have been more pleased. The highlight to us was having such wonderful places to eat only steps away- from Starbucks to the steakhouse to breakfast buffets everyday. Taxis were always available. The bus stop was only a 5 minute walk away. It was also a short walk to Hyde Park, Harrod's, the British Museum and Trafalgar Square. I would definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I'm not sure I've ever seen so many staff people at the ready to anticipate and answer customer questions. The lobby, lounges, and restaurants were full of staff, armed with tablets to expedite check-in, assist with luggage, and secure a table. When I had a problem registering my Marriott points to my reservation, the switchboard operator personally called Marriott Rewards to inquire, then phoned me back.
My room was quite nice; huge and well-equipped bathroom and windows that open to the fresh air -- that's a rare feature these days.

Room Tip: My room was at the front on a lower floor; despite being right on Park Lane, the traffic noise was m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here 5 nights during the Wimbledon tennis tournament. The staff were all super nice and there's always taxi's waiting. There's an ATM inside the hotel which is super convenient. I had the buffet breakfast at the JW Steakhouse every morning and the staff were nice and the food tasted great. Room was clean and quite large especially for a big city. The view from my room wasn't anything special just the back road. The only negative I had was their wifi was slow. The wifi would be fast during early morning or the middle of the night, but during peak times it was really slow. Other than that I enjoyed everything about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I've just returned from a one day event held at this hotel through the company I work for. Although I work for a travel company and normally find when I stay away hotels fall over themselves to go above and beyond this hotel really is amazing.
The service I received when I arrived was great. I look slightly puzzled when I walked in and can only assume it was the General Manager who asked me if I was OK and I explained I was attending a conference and he then had someone take my bags and show me to the event suite - first class!
The event space was wonderful, the staff where great and the choice of food and beverages available were of excellent quality.
Whilst I didn't stay in the hotel, what I experienced has prompted me to stay here the next time I am in London to encounter the same great service again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel

Address: Park Lane, London W1K 7TN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#139 Business Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
#157 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 494
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott London
Grosvenor Hotel Jw Marriott
Marriott London
London Marriott
Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor House, A JW Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.