We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a step above basic, but more than acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grange Langham Court

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grange Langham Court to your Saves list
Grange Langham Court
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31-35 Langham Street | Fitzrovia, London W1W 6BU, England (Fitzrovia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #550 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just a step above basic, but more than acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

There's nothing glamorous about this hotel, but for a short stay (business rather than treating yourself) it absolutely fine. Not bad at all...

Positives: staff friendly and polite (contrary to past reviews the ones I encountered did speak English perfectly well), room clean and functional, quiet in evening (my room did not face the main street though), good location just a couple of minutes' walk from Oxford Circus tube

Negatives: room was small (but fine), bathroom very small (bath tiny, toilet had to use sideways as my legs were too long to fit otherwise - I'm only 5'6"!), very limited room service menu, no vegetarian sausages on breakfast menu

In conclusion, I'd be happy to stay here again if my work booked me in but if I was planning a personal trip to London and wanted to stay overnight somewhere I would only consider if it was a particularly competitive price. Functional with some good benefits, but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    151
    99
    39
    39
See reviews for
50
106
22
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west lancs
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

First of all this is a review from an average working man who took his wife away for a birthday break and has just returned from a fantastic 3 day break to London,staying at the Grange Langham Court Hotel. I was abit nervous after reading some of the reviews but i can honestly say it is a great hotel in a great location,yes the rooms are abit ,but ours ( room 403 ) was lovely,with all the products,slippers,bathrobs etc,the towels n sheets seemed to be changed every day,it had an iron,trouser press and an hairdryer, honestly what more do you want ?. The lounge is lovely and yes the check in area is small but who cares !!. We had no problem being understood by any of the staff who in fact were very friendly n polite , It winds me up when i read some of the reviews complaining about silly petty things when there is really no cause for complaint,( rant over ) .The hotel is in a lovely area with two italian restaurants and pub nearby,can recommend them but stay clear of the Yorkshire Grey pub.Its only a 5min walk onto Oxford St and Regent St,you can walk to the theater area of London in about 15/20 mins infact we didnt use the tube or bus ,we walked everywhere n believe me we saw nearly everthing,nothing was to far out of reach from the hotel. If your thinking of going to London, n like me going through the multitude of hotels on tripadviser,then book at this hotel,you wont regret it

Room Tip: go with an open mind n dont pick up on silly n petty moans n complaints ,just enjoy your holiday !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel has a very good location. About a 5 minute walk to Oxford Street. Quiet area and some good local pubs close by if you don't want to venture too far at night. Rooms were clean with plenty of products in the bathroom and ample tea and coffee. Rooms were bit short on space. There is a lift so it does make floors accessible for disabled people. Half a dozen steps outside the hotel but they will put a ramp down if requested. Small reception area, but comfortable lounge bar. Did not eat breakfast there as it was London prices but there are some great little cafes close by to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. Would stay again. Good if you want a reasonable priced stay in London without the bells and whistles of some of the grander hotels there. Totally adequate if you are mainly using the hotel to sleep in. Can recommend.

Room Tip: My sister had roome 109 and we had room 208. Both were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed here in November - close to tube stations, excellent service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Firstly I would like to say that I personally didn't book this hotel, it was booked by my brother-in-law as we were going to London for a weekend away with our wives

I must admit that from reading some of the TA reviews I was a bit worried about staying here but I will readilly admit that I was very pleasantly surprised and happy

Yes the reception area is a bit on the small size but the reception staff were very helpful, we arrived at 10am and dropped off our bags and registered even though we knew the rooms would not yet be ready

The hotel staff were very happy to store our bags so that we could go out and about for a while

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to Oxford Circus tube station and is in a very quiet location, our room although a bit small was very clean and our beds were extremely comfortable

The bed we had was two single beds pushed together with seperate (excellent) duvets

The bathroom was good, only a shower and no bath which to be honest was absolutely fine, the shower was really good and powerful as well as we found out in the morning

When we returned to the hotel mid afternoon our rooms were ready and we changed to go out for afternoon tea, took the short walk back to the main road and were on our way

We returned to the hotel at about 10.30 that evening and decided to go for a drink in the pub near the hotel, what we then found out was that just about everything in this local area shuts at 11pm on a Saturday, we think that it is because it is a very residential area

The room we had was at the front of the hotel overlooking Langham Street, it was extremely quiet and we both slept extremely comfortably

Breakfast was served in the moring in the Brassiere at the bottom floor, it was a continental buffet style service with a good choice of cereals, yoghurt, cold meats and cheese, hard boiled eggs etc, coffee and tea were forthcoming almost immediately and we wre always kept topped up, the service was excellent and always with a smile

I have to say that some parts of the hotel are looking a bit jaded and worn but that said it was not off putting at all and I think that for a central London Hoteal with such a good location and for the price it represented excellent value for money and I would quite happily stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Feel very let down by this hotel, on the first appearance it promises far more than it actualy delivers.
Reception is cramped, dated and gloomy and staff speak only broken English. Our room was of decent size on the ground floor but faced the street( v noisy) and was so gloomy with grubby carpet, marked and dirty lamps fixtures and fittings. The bathroom was dilapidated with water marks all over taps/shower screen and poorly applied waterproof putty around bath etc. The bed was so old and squeaky that this prompted us to ask for a room change! The next room was slightly better but so small with miniature bed(more like large single) far too small for 2 adults. The toilet was cracked, room was boiling hot even with window open...lamps were stained and not fitted, the coloured throw on bed was filthy as was the headboard and curtains didn't shut properly. This combined with v average breakfast did not a happy customer make. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Generally helpful staff. Room small but clean and quiet with comfy beds. No hot water in morning but as long as you complained you were upgraded from continental to full English breakfast. 5 minutes walk from Oxford St. Crown and sceptre pub down road had beautiful Sunday dinner in lovely pub. Would stay here again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grange Langham Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Langham Court

Address: 31-35 Langham Street | Fitzrovia, London W1W 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#328 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Langham Court 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Grange Langham Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Langham Court London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grange Langham Court, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.