We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect London Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges Kensington London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges Kensington London to your Saves list
Rydges Kensington London
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #419 of 1,049 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect London Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a superior travel experience thanks to Rydges in Kensington. When we first planned our week-long London trip, we saw Rydges promoted on Orbitz with great reviews and figured we'd give it a try. Boy, are we glad we did!

Our experience with Rydges was stellar from start to finish. The general manager quickly responded to any email inquiries and even accommodated some special requests we had for our room. Upon arrival, the staff was friendly and attentive. Since our flight arrived early in the morning, the hotel staff held our bags until check-in and brought them to our room while we walked High Street Kensington (which is just a few blocks away.) The room itself was gorgeous. We had a King Executive Suite which was very spacious for a London hotel. There were lots of little touches that made it special - tall windows, a heated towel rack, robes and slippers, lots of electronic hook-ups, a vanity with blow-dryer, generously-sized toiletries that were replenished daily, etc. And a large American-style tub / shower combo! The room was contemporary with dark-wood furniture and a soft, comfortable bed. Best of all, it was super-clean. It makes a world of difference to arrive to a clean, fresh, and comfortable room after a long flight.

The location of the hotel is top-notch. It's across the street from the Gloucester Road tube station which hooks up to every major line downtown (District, Circle, and Piccadilly) and straight to Heathrow. The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace, Leicester Square, Harrods, and Covent Garden are all just a few tube stops away. Yet when you return to the hotel in Kensington, it's lovely and quiet. Lots of great restaurant and pub options all around. And Hyde Park is just down the road, which makes for beautiful morning walks.

But perhaps the best surprise of all was the reasonable rate we were able to book the room at. The cost of London hotels can cause sticker-shock once converted to dollars. Orbitz recommended Rydges and when we booked our week-long stay along with the flight, we were able to save a considerable amount on the nightly charge. We truly got a five-star experience for a very reasonable rate.

We've stayed at many international hotels and this was by far the best experience we've had. If we returned to London, we would stay here without question and will recommend it to all our friends and family. It made our trip perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor facing the street. It wasn't noisy at all (we were surprised ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MeredithR

Thank you for your wonderful review and high ratings, I am pleased that I was able to help you and please be assured that anyone of our staff would not hesitate to do the same. Location is certainly one of our greatest assets and I am pleased you made full use of our central location.

Once again thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington as your home away from home on your week long Europe trip.

Hope to see you again on your return

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    292
    120
    41
    27
See reviews for
132
241
52
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

After a traumatic experience at a Holiday Inn in Greenwich the night before, we decided to move to a nicer hotel which was more central. We booked the room last minute and payed approx £170 for an executive King room with breakfast included which we thought was good value for money (For London!). We couldnt of been happier - this hotel is fantastic. Very modern, comfortable rooms - huge bed and the shower was very good - i was also very impressed by the heated mirror in the bathroom that meant it didnt get steamed up! The continental breakfast the next day was superb - very impressed again. The staff were friendly and helpful and the adjoiing bar and restaurant were also very nice. Only 3 negatives - 1. the corridoor outside our room (room 116) smelt of bad drains! 2. When in the bathroom, i opened the window to diffuse the steam but greasy cooking smells from the kitchen downstairs consequently drifted in and 3. the "public" toilets just off from the reception area were a bit battered and tired looking. other than that, this is probably the best hotel i have stayed in in London in a very long time and will definitely be returning at the end of the year!

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are the executive rooms i think - we had 116 which was very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear A5HL3IGH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and submit your high ratings, I am pleased your previous experience in Greenwich did not ruin your stay completely. It is great that you were happy with your room and all of its amenities (I personally really like the anti steam mirror too!) Regarding your negatives, please be assured I will get these looked into as soon as possible. Our chief engineer has been made aware and has it as top priority to get them looked into and resolved.

Once again thank you for your comments and ratings and hope to see you again on your return to London

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I had booked a executive room for our one next stay, which was lovely and had all the extras that we wanted such as a coffee machine, bathrobes and slippers etc. The staff at the reception were lovely. We we're able to check in around 11 as the room was ready which was ideal for us to drop our bags off and wander around London. Also the next day, we checked out and the hotel kept our bags until we were travelling home in the evening.

Great location, right off gloucester road on the tube station. It couldn't have been any closer and was ideal next to waitrose, boots and banks etc! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Holidaylover591,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington London. I am pleased you enjoyed our room facilities including our coffee machine. I will personally congratulate our front office team for their efforts. Our location is one of our best assets.
Hope to see you again on your return to London.

Best regards,
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of our trip. The hotel is very comfortable and well appointed but it is an old house converted for use as a hotel so the basement rooms are rather awkwardly placed with many fire doors which make it difficult with large cases. Our room which was nice except for the pillar in the middle of the room. So my recommendation would be to always ask for a room on the upper floors

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Docsmissus,

Thank you for your review and ratings. Our hotel was fully refurbished in 2011 and we always try to allocate all our guest in higher floors, however rooms at lower ground are generally bigger. All in all I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Should you decide to stay with us, please request for higher floor and our front office team will do their best to accommodate.

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very close to Gloucester Road Station. The breakfast was better than expected (Eggs, fresh fruit, bakery, etc.). Gym good enough for a few days. Walking distance to V&A and Natural History Mueseum and to a place with some Restaurants (Exhibition Road). The bedroom and the separate living area were small, but nothing to complain. In general, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Pepecaly,

Thank you for choosing Rydges Kensington, certainly our location is one of our best assets. I am pleased that the breakfast was more than adequate. I hope you had a pleasant time in V&A and Natural History Museum.

Once again thank you and hope to see you should you return to London.

Best regards,
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I booked a one bedroom suite through Secret Escapes. All descriptions of the hotel on various websites promote the fact that millions have been spent upgrading the place, described as a 4.5 star hotel. Unfortunately it was downhill from the moment we arrived. The hotel is directly onto a busy road. There are steps up to the front doors but no one on hand to assist with luggage. The single male receptionist checking us in was scruffy, very unkempt and unprofessional. There were no other members of staff in sight.The lift was very small and overdue for a vacuum. The corridors were dark and narrow and didn't seem to have felt the benefit of the refurb. The worst was yet to come... our bedroom was extremely small and the curtains were closed...because the window faced onto scaffolding. The separate living area was also small poky and very tired and faced onto the wall of the building opposite. This was not a 4.5 star room. It was so awful that my partner and I returned to reception immediately and asked whether we could change to a different room. The receptionist consulted a female colleague who was similarly scruffy and told us that as the hotel was fully booked she couldn't offer us another room. As the room we had been offered was so bad we asked for our money back so we could go elsewhere. After consulting an unseen manager we were told this was not possible. Secret Escapes state clearly that the booking is a contract between the hotel and the traveller. This is a truly awful hotel with an even worse attitude to their guests; stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is well located - on a direct train line from the airport. That was the best thing. We paid for a queen room and ended up in a tiny room at the back of the hotel looking at a brick wall with the smallest 'queen' bed I've ever seen. We asked at reception and were assured it was a queen room. The bed was smaller than some of the double beds we had in other hotels across Europe. We had to climb over our bags to move about the room. And then we were charged ten pounds for 24 hours of WiFI - only hotel in Europe where we were charged. The reception people were quite pleasant but that doesn;t make up for the shoe-box sized room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoannaCarruthers, General Manager at Rydges Kensington London, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Gay2013

Thank you for your review and ratings, I am pleased our location served you well. It certainly is one of our greatest assets however being in such a central location in London space is certainly very limited. Our bed sizes and names are of UK bed standards and can be checked on bedfed.org.uk/guidelines_standard_bed_sizes.cfm. I am pleased our front office team offered the highest customer service and hope to see you on your return to London

Best regards
Joanna Carruthers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges Kensington London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Kensington London

Address: 61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#277 Business Hotel in London
#328 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Kensington London 4.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Kensington London is a four star deluxe design inspired boutique hotel which has been fully refurbished in 2011. Facilities include wired and wireless internet, fitness suite, Restaurant & Wine Bar, Lounge Bar, 24 hour room service etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Kensington London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Kensington London Hotel London
Rydges Kensington Plaza London
Hotel Rydges Kensington Plaza
Hotel London Rydges
Rydges London
Rydges Kensington London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges Kensington London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.