We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the edge of Good and improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oxford Circus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #588 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Bellevue, Washington
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“On the edge of Good and improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times, so my review isn't one dimensional. This hotel feels like it is on the edge of a fine business hotel, but it comes up just short. The international flavor of languages spoken at the front desk is inviting for many. The bar and found area is welcoming but on further inspection comes up 'cheap'. meaning the decor and the quality of beverages which are served. It could be the holiday inn brand doesn't command higher end drinks / bar services, but at first glance and appearances, this could have a great attraction for the guests as the bar scene in the area is alive and starting with one at the hotel is a nice way to kick off the evening or finish a long work day.

The food. Breakfast is above average but the quality of eggs is sorely lacking. as is the available of alternate meats besides english sausage. For those outside of the UK, some sliced meats would be a welcome addition. The room service food is honestly horrible and the after hours sandwiches i encountered during my late night arrival were disgusting and inedible. there is a lot that could be done here without a lot of cost by doing some analysis on the clientele and then including or simply eliminating certain items.

Internet... slow. so slow. as a business hotel, maybe it is overloaded but the stability and throughput even for premium is still poor.

Rooms. the rooms are bright and nicely appointed with everything one could need. While the decor is a little dated, it goes nicely with the exterior visual and entry of the hotel. The sleep quality is quiet and beds very comfortable.

Workout room. Poor. barely any space the equipment is dated and in general low performance. No weights or bands, just a treadmill and vertical bike.

NET: Good value and i would highly recommend staying here to sleep. Tube stops are a bit of a distance and there is a lot that isn't available. The restaurant and bar scene locally is great. There are just a series of areas which just make this fall short of a good business hotel or a hotel which someone would come to vacation at in the heart of London and go home with a great experience.

Room Tip: Get one of the junior suites or suites. they aren't that much more expensive and having the ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    223
    195
    73
    48
See reviews for
99
178
44
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We chose this hotel for its location as it is situated right behind Debenhams on Oxford Street and close to Bond Street Tube. It is a fab location with Marleybone seconds away. The staff were friendly on reception and the bedrooms clean. My complaint would be the bedrooms have thin walls and you could hear conversations in the next room. The doors would bang and this was frustrating when dropping off to sleep. If it wasn't for this it would have been a quiet location. The breakfast was ok but not great. I would have been very annoyed if we had paid separate for this but it was included in the price of our room which we got a decent rate. I have never tasted grapefruit so cheap and the tinned mandarin segments were also very poor. Definitely not something I could recommend. There was the usual cooked breakfast items along with plenty of bread/toast etc. so you won't go hungry. There was a bar in the reception but we didn't use it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretary at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Disco76lover

Thank you for your review. I was very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean and the staff friendly together with a good value for money rate. I also totally agree with your comments regarding our location, right in the heart of London, so convenient no matter what your reason to visit London is.

I am sorry to hear your were not entirely satisfied with the quality of some of the food available for breakfast. I have forward your comments to the chefs and Restaurant Manager in order for them to address the points raised on your review.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

booked this via lastminute.com as decided to stay one extra night in London - was extremely good value for money - room was fine - lovely comfy bed - staff very helpful - food well we decided to book the three course carvery meal at £25 per couple - it was absolutely beautiful - so fresh and hot - we had pumpkin soup to start and it was out of this world - the roast beef was juicy and hot as were the vegetables - I couldn't manage a pudding !!! breakfast in the morning again lovely hot and fresh will definitely return thank you

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretary at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Nuttynetty1953

Thank you for your great review. I was delighted to read that not only found our hotel great value for money but also found the bed to be very comfortable and the staff friendly. I was particularly pleased with your comments regarding your meal in the restaurant and how you found it very much to your liking. Our chefs will be very happy to hear that!!

Once again thank you for your lovely feedback and endorsement and hope to welcome you back again soon when you next visit London.

Yours sincerely

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel for my daughter and myself,as a birthday treat for my daughter...NEVER AGAIN will i stay in Holiday Inn...the TWO NIGHTS we stayed,not much sleep,Noisey all night,was promised very nice room .When i complained to Reception Staff they did'nt even appologise just shrugged their shoulders,I asked at Reception for someone to please order a Taxi,did'nt do that for us they were too busy,my daughter had to run up the road to get a Taxi
PLEASE Read this Review before Booking Holiday Inn Oxford Circus,as they ruined our Weekened .

Room Tip: Yes ,Stay Away from this Hotel ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretary at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 120Christina

Thank you for taking the time to post your review as well as bringing this to our attention. Please do accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this occasion. We are usually commended on the friendliness of our team and as you can imagine I feel this is definitely not up to our normal standards although we did try and make your daughter's birthday special by organising a fruit basket and sweets to be placed in your bedroom.

Once again thank you for your feedback as this is a learning opportunity to improve and make the necessary changes to ensure a similar disappointed experience can be avoided.

Yours sincerely

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely spot on for shopping or for visiting trafalgar studios nearby. Helpful staff. Room decent size a little dated perhaps. Breakfast plenty of choice the staff did hover a little too much waiting for you to finish eating. Would use again

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretary at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Beaglelady71

Thank you for your comments. I'm very pleased our location was ideal for your trip to London and found our staff to be helpful.

Unfortunately breakfast can get busy at times however I've passed your feedback to the Restaurant Manager regarding the service as we rely on this feedback to improve our standards.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for 10 days whilst on a trip back to the UK. The hotel is situated in a great central location within walking distance of all the attractions.

The rooms aren't that big, but being London I didn't expect anything else, they're clean and comfortable. The TV has a very good choice of channels, and wifi is free if you sign up free to IHG rewards, otherwise it will cost you.

I didn't eat at the restaurant but my cousin did for breakfast and said there was a good choice.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretaru at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Lewis Halket

Please allow me to send you a BIG THANK YOU for not only taking the time to write a review but such a positive one!

I am of course very pleased to hear, having stayed with us for 10 days, you throughtout enjoyed your stay. May I suggest to please try our breakfast in person during your next visit as I am certain you will not be disappointed.

Once again thank you for your very kind review and we very much look forward to welcoming again in the near future.

Kind regards

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not recommended, the fact that for 3 night the WiFi hardly worked is real problem.
Worst is the fact that the Hotel is not able to fix it.

The internet in this hotel was not working and now it is vvveeerrryyy slow.

Overall, poor value for money, bad rooms and horrible internet.

Look for other hotels! The staff is nice, at least this

Room Tip: check in across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJAFraser, General Manager's Secretary at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gilsron

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Please do accept my apology for the inconvenience caused by the faulty internet connection. We did try our best to have it fixed as soon as we could by reporting it straight away to the company who provides and maintains our internet connection. Unfortunately it took longer than anticipated to find the fault and have it fixed and we are really sorry about that.

I am glad you did find our staff to be friendly.

Once again thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely

Covi Fernandez
General Manager's Secretary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #588 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.