We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't bother staying here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oxford Circus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #573 of 1,073 hotels in London
Hull
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I wouldn't bother staying here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Holiday inn, Oxford circus is in a fairly good location, however, its not the best.

I stayed at this hotel on Friday with my fiancée and was very disappointed. I have stayed in a few hotels in London and this is by far the worse.

The staff were friendly enough, however, trying to enter my room at 9:20 in the morning to clean it is a bit extreme. The room was small, dark and worn. The radiators next to the single wardrobe were exposed (see picture). This is unacceptable considering the price your paying for the room. The bathroom was tiny with damage to the doorframe.

Overall a very disappointing stay. I wish I'd have raised these concerns and problems with the duty manager, however, I didn't get the time. I personally won't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Chris W

Thank you for your review. First and foremost may I take this opportunity to apologise for the disappointing experience regarding the damage to the wall found in your bedroom. Following a detailed inspection I have managed to locate the bedroom your stayed in and not only corrected the damage but reviewed this issued with the relevant heads of department to ensure this kind of oversight does not ever happen again. I must add that I have personally visited that room as I was quite concerned about your comments and I can confirm that room had a soft refurbishment at the beginning of this year with a new carpet installed at that time and the new furniture was added only in January 2012.

Regarding the attempt by the maid to clean your bedroom at 9:20am, I am sorry about the inconvenience this caused you. We do have very strict guidelines as to when maids are allowed to enter a guests bedroom and this could only have happened if the Do not Disturb sign had been accidentally dislodged from the door handle outside your bedroom. Rest reassured I have addressed this matter with the Housekeeping Department as your review will be used to consider any improvements we can add to the quality of service we provide our guests.

We do take the comments and reviews from our guests very seriously as they allow us to monitor and improve our service continuously and we sincerely hope you do give us another opportunity to welcome you in the future and show our commitment to provide all our guests the best quality of service.

Yours sincerely

D. Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    206
    176
    69
    47
See reviews for
92
165
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice hotel room was modern and quite as was at the rear. Did not eat breakfast at £10 is quite expensive when there is a bistro few doors down for a fiver. The resturant prices were excellent at £19 for three courses though there are many many pubs and small restaurants locally.
Hotel is one street from Oxford street shopping so ideal for popping back to drop off the purchases.
As a platinum member was slightly disappointed as was no upgrade !!! Though was given couple free drinks at the bar.
Porter on Sunday morning was very helpfully in finding somewhere to store our luggage until we were ready to collect it and head home.
All in all a good weekend stay.

Room Tip: In a quite area even on the front but rear gave us a very quite night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr Winfield

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted to read that in general you enjoyed your stay with us, which you describe as "a good weekend stay". However I am sorry we did not appear to fulfil 100 % of your expectations regarding your Platinum upgrade from a double to a queen bedroom. We are committed to always treat and acknowledge our Platinum members even when restricted by the limited number of superior rooms available at this hotel. I am glad my staff were able to offer you a couple of free drinks in the bar and were of assistance on the morning of your departure.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Yours sincerely

D Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here on business on Tuesday and was utterly underwhelmed by the hotel. The room was small and a bit tatty with a shockingly bad shower that managed little more than a trickle the next morning. The decor was faded and in dire need of some serious work. Worst was the breakfast where having been made to wait before being seated I was met by a grubby, unappetising buffet. Sausages and bacon lay congealing in fat under a hot plate and looked stomach churning. The only upside was the friendly chap on reception who was doing his best in what must be trying circumstances. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear davehelen1709

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. I would like to obtain further details from you regarding your stay in order for me to address them personally and would appreciate if you could contact me at dmelrose@holidayinnoxfordcircus.com. This is not kind of experience that I would like any of our guests to have and for that I apologise.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope I have the opportunity to speak with your directly to correct any wrongdoing on our part and avoid this from happening again to any of our guests.

Yours sincerely

D. Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night while en route from Paris back to the U.S.

Pros: (1) Great location, in the heart of Oxford Circus. If you're here to shop, pub-crawl, and be around a hoard of people, this hotel is just for you. (2) Cheaper than most neighboring hotels, and being "Holiday Inn" by nature, the need to maintain brand rapport means that they'd likely have service and cleanliness down to a science. (3) There is a restaurant at the hotel's basement that serves a tasty English breakfast for a decent fee. (4) High ceilings made the room feel bigger than it was. (5) Walking distance to various tube stations, one of which is the Piccadilly line which is a direct connection to London Heathrow.

Cons: (1) Our room was old and smelled musty/moldy. There were water stains that were a bit of a turn-off, but being that we were only there for one night, this was not a big issue for us. (2) There are better hotels in other areas which you could stay at for the same price.

Verdict:
Would I stay here again? Likely, no.
Would I recommend this place to a friend? Likely, no.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Rowena L

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with the bedroom you were given.This is definitely not up to our standard and I have instructed our housekeeping department to do a throughout inspection of all the bedrooms.

I am however very pleased to read how happy you were with our location and our "tasty English Breakfast". We are very proud of our buffet breakfast and consider it to offer a wide variety of food big enough to satisfy all tastes!

Once again thank you for your review and if you ever find yourself needing accommodation in London, we hope you do give us another chance to welcome you back to the hotel.

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

London hotels are expensive. This one is no exception but sadly the rooms are very average. Staff are very friendly, service is excellent and location great which is its redeeming feature! I paid £250 per night for a rather tired looking room that was probably worth £150 max

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear David M

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased to read you found our staff friendly and the service excellent however, I must admit I am disappointed you classified us as not especial and expensive. I can assure you we do try and keep our prices in line with all the neighbouring hotels and when booking well in advance it is hard to get better value for money than with us.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you do give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to offering the best service and facilities.

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winteringham
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Clean and tidy rooms and an excellent location, but just away from the noise of the main shopping areas, despite classing as Oxford Circus, the nearest Tube station is Bond Street which is only about 5 mins walk, check in was quick and easy and the rooms typically clean and tidy as you would expect from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear WinteringhamSteve

Thank you for your review which in my opinion describes one of our key features: an excellent central location yet away from the noise! I am also very pleased you found our bedrooms clean and tidy and of course, the very effective way our staff dealt with your check in.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely



David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is brilliantly located in central London. Only 2 minutes walk from Oxford Street shops, 10 minutes from Leicester Square. Decent sized rooms for central London. Excellent buffet breakfast. Above all, the staff are friendly and helpful, especially the restaurant staff. Good carvery in the evenings. Reserve rooms on-line well in advance for best rates. You will pay five times as much if you just walk in off the street. Very popular because of central location: another reason for booking well in advance. Good mid-price hotel. Kettle with tea, coffee, milk and biscuits provided - useful after a busy day sightseeing. Small bar and lounge area, but good for a pre-dinner gin and tonic.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Traveller31B

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a kind review. I agree our location is a key selling point but reading how much you liked our breakfast and dinner and specially your comments about our friendly and helpful staff make me the most proud.

Once again thank your for your fantastic feedback and I truly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely



David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, LondonMarketing.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.