We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oxford Circus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #573 of 1,073 hotels in London
Colchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great hotel, excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. It is on a side street about 200-300 metres from Oxford Street and the area is so quiet that you would never believe that the main thoroughfare teeming with people is so close by. As you approach the hotel you notice what a grand old building it occupies and when you enter the interior doesn't let you down either.

That just left the room.....we ordered a Family Room for the 3 of us (2 adults and a 14-year-old) and we were delighted when we walked into a very spacious room with two double beds, plus a nice seating area and a TV with Sky Sports, which enabled me to enjoy the England v Australia cricket and Queensland v British/Irish Lions rugby while I recovered from 5 miles and 6 hours of walking around London!

What a great oasis of calm this hotel is, so close to the bustle. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Miki F

I must admit it was such a pleasure reading your review, such an impressive review! I really appreciate your kind words as they not only reflect on our very fortunate location and great facilities, but also on a job well done by our staff.

Once again thank you for the fantastic endorsement and we look forward to welcoming back soon.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    206
    175
    69
    47
See reviews for
91
165
40
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This Hotel is very conveniently situated for a shopping trip to London . We were able to walk out of the hotel and almost immediately walk into the back entrance of Debenhams or House of Fraser to shop and from there walk onto Oxford Street itself to enjoy a huge selection of high street stores and famous department stores such as Selfridges and John Lewis . There are 2 tube stations , Bond Street and Oxford Circus to use if you want to go to Coventry Garden or Knightsbridge . We were very warmly welcomed by the staff in the hotel and are room was large, airy, bright, fresh and clean and ready for us , despite getting to the hotel by 9 am in the morning . I would definitely use this hotel again for a trip to London . This staff were helpful and kind on reception, the breakfast was ok, the usual buffet style , the dining room was on the lower ground floor and we looked up to the street above us , it was stuffy but there was a large selection of breakfast food available to set us up for a day of shopping and a show!

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ruth C

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay with us. I am really pleased you had such a great experience and we truly couldn't ask for a better recommendation than this!

Once again thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon, we hope!

Yours sincerely


David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Meadows, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Starting at check-in we found the staff welcoming, friendly and helpful. There is a small lounge in the reception area with large comfortable chairs and two vending machines. In the same general area was a bar.

Fortunately our room, 173, was ready when we arrived from our cruise ship in Southampton early around 12:30. Our room was quite bright, clean and large with two comfortable double beds, a large flat screen, TV and a chair. There was a large closet and dresser drawers with enough space for the clothes of four adults.

The room overlooed the street which with our window open could be a little noisy in the early evening. However, we had no trouble falling asleep.

The bathroom was clean and well lit. The water pressure was great in he sink and fairly good in the shower. Our only complaint was that there weren't enough towel racks.

We asked for extra towels and pillows and they were delivered very quickly.

The location of this hotel couldn't have been better for us. It is within a very short walking distance to Oxford Street shopping, the Bond street tube and busses and quite a number of excellent pubs and restaurants.

About a block from the hotel is a restaurant called Meatliquor which Travel & Leisure describes as the trendiest restaurant in London. The hamburgers were great and are priced between 6 - 8 GBP. There is also a fabulous Fish and Chips place a few blocks away called Golden Hind and a quaint french-style restaurant, Paul, which serves fresh delicious coffees, fresh baked gourmet pastries and a wide range of other breakfast and lunch fare at very reasonable prices.

We also found the location of the hotel ideally located to the theatre district, major London attractions, the train/bus stations and even Greenwhich which was conveniently reached by tube in about twenty minutes from the hotel. The cabs in London are spacious and reasonable. The most we paid was 12 GBP from the Victoria bus station to the hotel and that was for four adults and all our luggage.

The hotel maintains a very large staff for it's size. There were at least two receptionist, a bell captain and a bartender present whenever we around. We found the staff went above and beyond. Although there wasn't a concierge desk there were at least three or four staff members ready at all times with helpful information. The internet was an additional charge and was painfully slow. However, one of the staff, Nicolette, saw I was having difficulty trying complete my airline online check-in and offered to do it for us.

We felt that we received good value for the money and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Almyslicki

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and most importantly thank you for your very impressive review. Your very kind comments demonstrate our caring and responsible attitude to our guest and are always such a great motivator to our staff.

You appear to truly have had a fantastic stay with us and I hope this encourages other guests to see and appreciate how much pride our staff put into their jobs. I am also very happy to hear that your request for extra pillows and towels was dealt with a prompt manner.

Once again thank you for the perfect review and we look forward to seeing you again SOON!

Best regards

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

WE stayed at hotel Holiday INN from 10.5.2013 for 8 nights. The lady at the reception Ms Helen was very rude, unprofessional and unpleasant person.
We asked and paid for triple room yet we recvd one small double room with 3 beds. The room was not fit for 3 beds and was not specious at all.
We barely managed to move inside the room.
The bathroom was small. The water in the bathroom did not go down, so is the water in the sink. We asked the hotel to fix it but nothing was done.
After few days we noticed that we need to ask the hotel to change the sheets as they did not changed for few days. Also we ask them to clean the carpet that was fully dusty and this was not done.
No carpet vacuum was done in all our stay for 8 days .probably the cleaning lady could not move in the room which was very small with 3 beds....
The room was not clean on the windows as well; it looks as if no one touches them in years.
It was cold, so we open the air condition to warm the room. All we recvd was some air. Not cool not warm-which means no air condition.
The WIFI was with charge and very expensive .We paid 60 gbp for 5 days !!!
Other hotels at same level do not charge for WIFI, or charge small amount per day.
The whole experience was in total a very bad one, unfortunately the other hotels nearby did not have avaible room for 3 people for that week. Otherwise we would leave this hotel immediately.
I find it hard to understand, how this hotel has 4 starts level, it does not deserve even 3 starts, lousy rooms, bad service and I would not recommend any one to stay there.
AS for us we definitely will not stay at this hotel never again.WE choose thsi hotel for his location yet it does not cover for this bad expirience.
Just to be fair,we would like to mention only the good service of Mr. yunees who was very helpful at our last day there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear ronitp,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I needed a central London hotel for 2 nights whilst attending a medical conference. I was concerned about this hotel prior to arrival due to previous reviews but need not have worried.
Reception was efficient and courteous, the room was clean and just what I required, the location was ideal and the breakfast ample.
I would return in future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nick M

Thank you for staying with us despite reading some not very positive previous reviews and for taking the time to write about it! I am really pleased you not only had a great experience but that we appear to have exceeded your expectations.

I can assure you it will be a pleasure to welcome you again any time in the future and once again thank you for your review.

Best regards

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with business and was put in a smoking room, which stank of smoke. I don't smoke and asked for a different room, we are full was the answer. Room was tired with dirty windows, dirty carpet, desk chair had cushion taken out of it and just cloth so v hard and noisy heating pipes, muffled by a blanket. Internet access was ridiculously expensive you could buy a 3g dongle for how much it cost. TV kept losing digital signal. General decor was tired and needed updating. Food was passable in the evening, with good service. At breakfast they were slow to take an order and cleared my table when I was at the buffet getting toast, luckily I came back in time as they were about to put someone else on it. Not impressed will not stay here again! Not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear AndyLinegar,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Holiday Inn Oxford Circus is old, tatty and in bad shape. The restaurant is poor but despite it all I have found the staff polite and trying to do a good job in bad circumstances. The place needs a refurb from top to bottom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Julian A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with the restaurant service received. Kindly be assured that your comments regarding our property being in need of a refurbishment have been noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed at our hotel. Despite this, I am pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.