We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay at this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oxford Circus to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #560 of 1,052 Hotels in London
israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible stay at this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

WE stayed at hotel Holiday INN from 10.5.2013 for 8 nights. The lady at the reception Ms Helen was very rude, unprofessional and unpleasant person.
We asked and paid for triple room yet we recvd one small double room with 3 beds. The room was not fit for 3 beds and was not specious at all.
We barely managed to move inside the room.
The bathroom was small. The water in the bathroom did not go down, so is the water in the sink. We asked the hotel to fix it but nothing was done.
After few days we noticed that we need to ask the hotel to change the sheets as they did not changed for few days. Also we ask them to clean the carpet that was fully dusty and this was not done.
No carpet vacuum was done in all our stay for 8 days .probably the cleaning lady could not move in the room which was very small with 3 beds....
The room was not clean on the windows as well; it looks as if no one touches them in years.
It was cold, so we open the air condition to warm the room. All we recvd was some air. Not cool not warm-which means no air condition.
The WIFI was with charge and very expensive .We paid 60 gbp for 5 days !!!
Other hotels at same level do not charge for WIFI, or charge small amount per day.
The whole experience was in total a very bad one, unfortunately the other hotels nearby did not have avaible room for 3 people for that week. Otherwise we would leave this hotel immediately.
I find it hard to understand, how this hotel has 4 starts level, it does not deserve even 3 starts, lousy rooms, bad service and I would not recommend any one to stay there.
AS for us we definitely will not stay at this hotel never again.WE choose thsi hotel for his location yet it does not cover for this bad expirience.
Just to be fair,we would like to mention only the good service of Mr. yunees who was very helpful at our last day there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear ronitp,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    281
    222
    78
    55
See reviews for
120
226
52
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I needed a central London hotel for 2 nights whilst attending a medical conference. I was concerned about this hotel prior to arrival due to previous reviews but need not have worried.
Reception was efficient and courteous, the room was clean and just what I required, the location was ideal and the breakfast ample.
I would return in future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Nick M

Thank you for staying with us despite reading some not very positive previous reviews and for taking the time to write about it! I am really pleased you not only had a great experience but that we appear to have exceeded your expectations.

I can assure you it will be a pleasure to welcome you again any time in the future and once again thank you for your review.

Best regards

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with business and was put in a smoking room, which stank of smoke. I don't smoke and asked for a different room, we are full was the answer. Room was tired with dirty windows, dirty carpet, desk chair had cushion taken out of it and just cloth so v hard and noisy heating pipes, muffled by a blanket. Internet access was ridiculously expensive you could buy a 3g dongle for how much it cost. TV kept losing digital signal. General decor was tired and needed updating. Food was passable in the evening, with good service. At breakfast they were slow to take an order and cleared my table when I was at the buffet getting toast, luckily I came back in time as they were about to put someone else on it. Not impressed will not stay here again! Not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear AndyLinegar,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Holiday Inn Oxford Circus is old, tatty and in bad shape. The restaurant is poor but despite it all I have found the staff polite and trying to do a good job in bad circumstances. The place needs a refurb from top to bottom.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Julian A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with the restaurant service received. Kindly be assured that your comments regarding our property being in need of a refurbishment have been noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed at our hotel. Despite this, I am pleased that you found our staff to be accommodating.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future as we continue to try to improve and update our property.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel and the US
Level Contributor
197 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

just a brisk 10min walk from Oxford Circus and 3 min walk from Oxford Street (behind the Debanhams Store), it beets the Regents Park Holiday Inn on closeness to Soho, Shopping, Mayfair and China Town - but, the Regents Park location has a much closer tube station.

I was upgraded on arrival to a family room which was big a comfortable.

A big difference in favor of all the Holiday Inns I am staying with lately - the mattress and pillows are the highest quality - same here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotele several times on business trips... The staff is really friendly BUT... Room equipment is really old, the gym absolutely out of order... I enjoyed their breakfasts but I think it is the only thing Id say worth the fee...

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Ninkaaaa001,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is truly regrettable that you did not enjoy your visit due to the issues encountered with the room equipment and gym facility. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done. Despite this, I am happy that you liked the breakfast served.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location !!!! Next to oxford street BUT BUT BUT small rooms, rude unprofessional , unhelpfull staff on the reception and in the breakfast room. I thought this was a hotel where you get a service for your money. Well nop. Back to the rooms; small, small bathroom, old furnishment no minibar or fridge. But clean after all. Staff: unprofesional lady who "welcomed us" on the check in as if they re giving us the room as a favor or for free. As for the lady in the breakfast room, well she would definitly fit in an army casern, bossy, rude and would definitly benifit from a smile. As a matter of fact one of the hotel occupant shouted at her when she insisting on changing the table he sat on. And i quote:i didnt tell you to sit on that table. (Though the restaurant was half empty) . In conclusion staying in this hotel would be kind of acceptable if they work on the bahavior of their staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear fadicham,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced with the staff's service and room accommodations' condition being sub par. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#643 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London - Mayfair
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#743 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.