We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oxford Circus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #579 of 1,075 hotels in London
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location !!!! Next to oxford street BUT BUT BUT small rooms, rude unprofessional , unhelpfull staff on the reception and in the breakfast room. I thought this was a hotel where you get a service for your money. Well nop. Back to the rooms; small, small bathroom, old furnishment no minibar or fridge. But clean after all. Staff: unprofesional lady who "welcomed us" on the check in as if they re giving us the room as a favor or for free. As for the lady in the breakfast room, well she would definitly fit in an army casern, bossy, rude and would definitly benifit from a smile. As a matter of fact one of the hotel occupant shouted at her when she insisting on changing the table he sat on. And i quote:i didnt tell you to sit on that table. (Though the restaurant was half empty) . In conclusion staying in this hotel would be kind of acceptable if they work on the bahavior of their staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear fadicham,

Thank you for your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am truly sorry for the inconvenience you may have experienced with the staff's service and room accommodations' condition being sub par. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into and we will use your comments to improve on our efforts.

We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    198
    174
    69
    47
See reviews for
84
160
39
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed here the Easter weekend with my husband and to be honest i couldn't fault it. We had an early flight so arrived at reception hoping to drop off our bags for a couple of hours. The staff had reception informed us that our room was ready so we were able to check it. This was excellent. The location is very central - walking distance to Oxford street and the tube. There is no free WiFi but that's nothing unusual for Holiday inns in England. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Defaoite1702

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting such a favourable review, we really do appreciate your comments. I am really pleased my staff was able to give you a bedroom as soon as you arrived which I have the feeling provided a fantastic start of your weekend! Regarding the wi-fi, this is something we are reviewing at the moment and we are hoping to reach an agreement which makes it more suitable to all our guests.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver/Whistler
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This little hotel on Welbeck St, behind Oxford St's Debenhams Store is right in the center of everything you could want on a visit to London. Easy access to the Circle Line Underground, Bond St tube station. Pleasant walk to Marks and Sparks (Marks and Spencers), Marble Arch, Selfridges store and plenty of shopping along Oxford street in both directions.
The hotel lobby is small, but has a bar for drinks and light snacks. The breakfast buffet is the best way to start the day, hot and cold offerings, eggs and bacon done just right.
Rooms are standard, coffee and tea making kettle and cups, hairdryer, TV and a good selection of magazines. What more do you need?

Room Tip: You're in the city, mostly roof top views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear TourLeader22

Many thanks for your review and your fantastic description of our location and what is nearby! It appears you had a great time and made the most of your stay in London!

Once again thank you for your review and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Holiday Inn Oxford Circus is conviniently located. But the rooms are run down, there is no Wifi in the hotel. Poor service, unexperienced staff.
Paper thin walls, you'll will hear every noise from the adjacent room (TV, Shower, talks).
Cleaning standards are very low, there was hairs on the floor and in the bathroom. The carpet was soiled as well as some walls.
The service is awfull. I asked for an early breakfast before the restaurant opening. I was offered an apple and a yogurt.
I paid £155 to stay is this horrible hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear arsenal7533,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am pleased to note that you found our location to be conveniently located.

However, please accept our sincerest apologies if our level of service and quality of amenities didn't meet your expectations. I am also sorry for any dissatisfaction you had with the hotel's level of cleanliness. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

This is definitely not a norm in our property and rest assured that all your comments will be taken into consideration to improve guest services. We hope you give us another chance so we can win back your confidence in the quality of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

First of all a small confession. My wife and I stayed here for two nights using points I had earned under the Priority Club Rewards scheme, so it cost us nothing. Having said that I would not have changed my review even if I was a paying guest.

First of all location. Close by to Oxford Street and a short walk from Bond Street tube station, it is easy to find. Check in was very straight forward and we were given a room on the fifth (executive) floor. The room was not huge but more than adequate for our needs. There was a flat screen TV with a reasonable choice of channels. It was comfortably furnished. The bathroom was clean and tidy with a bath and shower at the end of the bath.

We did not eat at the hotel or use any of its facilities. I believe it has a small gym.

If you are simply looking for a clean, comfortable hotel centrally located in London then this hotel will meet your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Alhowt

Thank you for your review. I am really pleased you like the hotel's great location and that the bedroom was very much to your liking.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge, england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Came into London to celebrate my 40th birthday. Had plenty of events booked and chose this hotel as it offers smoking rooms. when we checked it I was lied to, had two totally different stories from to different check in staff as to why the smoking room I booked 3 months previously was not available. If I had known i was getting a non-smoking room I would have used loyalty points from raddison to stay at a more convenient hotel. Seems as I was using points for this stay they don't care about upsetting you over paying guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Carolyn73

Thank you for your review. I am really disappointed to read of your experience as this is most certainly not the kind of experience that I would like any of our guests to have. I sincerely apologise. We have a very limited number of smoking bedrooms and although I am not aware of the circumstances that lead to you not getting your desired room type, I hope this did not spoil your very special day and that you found everything else in the hotel to your satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, Ile-de-France, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently spent a long weekend here. Great location (close to shopping and tube). The family rooms (two double beds) were huge by European standards (about normal American size). The painting may be a bit tired, but there was a small refrigerator in the room. On the downside, paying for wifi and computer access (in the lobby) seems a little cheap. Nice breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMELROSE, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Kjh529

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am really pleased you appear to have really enjoyed your stay and your bedroom exceeded your expectations. I am sorry that you disliked the charges for access to the internet. We are reviewing this and hope that we are able to make this change to complimentary sooner rather than later.

Once again thank you for your review.

Yours sincerely

David Melrose
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #579 of 1,075 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.