We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London Sutton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London Sutton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London Sutton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gibson Road, London SM1 2RF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #357 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family and were more than satisfied with all aspects of the hotel. Beds were comfortable and facilities were great, I would recommend this hotel to anyone. All staff were more than welcoming and the food served in the onsite restaurant excelled as did the pool and gym facilities. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: take advantage of the onsite Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments with reference to your recent stay at the hotel, which I will share with all the staff at the hotel.

Yours sincerly,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    119
    49
    12
    8
See reviews for
54
51
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

lovely time spent, very pleasant people and hotel i.s located centrally so everything and everywhere is within reach. The whole atmosphere is serene and calm, you cannot help but relax. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel. I may presume you were attending a training course nearby at Crown Agents and we are happy to have all of you at our hotel during the training course.

Yours sincerly,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stay here for work and it's an ideal business hotel.

Only downside is that you get charged for Internet access which is bizarre when you can get free wifi in a host of places including the tube!

Hotel is clean, tidy and staff are friendly

Would recommend any for any business users

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stays at the hotel. I can inform you that the internet charges are being "looked at" at present by the company, as the internet system is cotrolled/run by a external company.
I can assure you that in the very near future Wifi charges will be complimentary for our Priority Club members (Platinum/Gold level).
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Sutton with my children and wife for 5 nights from Tuesday through Sunday the 3rd of March, our stay was fabulous, the food was great the breakfast 1st class, and the chef was always helpful and smiling, as my Daughter got married on the 2nd and had the reception at the hotel the banqueting manager was very helpful as well.

The spa staff were great, the pool and changing rooms were always clean and tidy and the facilities were first class.

Room service was quick and the food was hot and tasty, on returning to our rooms they were always serviced and very well cleaned.

I can’t say enough about all the staff we encountered they all were very helpful and kind thank you to all the staff of the Holiday Inn Sutton for making our stay such a happy one.

I have worked all over the world and stay in many hotels, some being Holiday Inn’s but the holiday Inn Sutton is by far the best cheers guys and well done again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I hereby would like to thank you for your time as well nice commennts about the standards and services you received with your family during your recent stay at the hotel.
It is always a pleasure to read comments like this and I can assusre you I will share these with all the staff at the hotel.

Kind regartds,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on Friday for my second 2 night stay. I arrived a little early (about 30 minutes) and my room was not quite ready which was not an issue especially because of the friendliness of the staff and the complimentary wine/coffee voucher given.
The rooms cannot be faulted, neither can the restaurants, bars or staff. In fact I would go as far as saying they are some of the most collectively friendly and professional staff I have met.

My only big issue is having to pay for wireless Internet access. £5 for an hour!!
Or in my case it would have been £25 for the two days. In this day and age I struggle to find justification for hotels making this charge.

Anyway that is my real only need with the hotel so that out of the way I would recommend it to anyone needing the central Sutton location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff and service, highly appreciated and certainly will be shared with all at the hotel.
I have taken your comment onboard with reference to the internet charges and can only inform you that our internet/wifi service as well entertainment cetntre on the TV's are run and conmtrolled by a external company hence the charges. I know we are working on a solution for this and within due time this should be complimentary, certainly for our Priority Club Members.

Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed here on a number of occasions, going back over 10 years. I am prompted to comment now, because I feel the hotel has improved its offer significantly in the last couple of years, with better furniture, more comfortable beds, better TV selection etc. This, combined with the fact that prices have not signiifcantly increased over the years, mean that I now think it offers quite reasonable value for money.

Food in the restaurant is also improved, with more quality and variety than they used to have and the health centre is of a decent standard. Reception staff are generally very polite, helpful and well-informed.

My only complaint is the drinks, which remain stubbornly extortionate for what is a pretty souless bar and not one you would probably never choose to frequent unless you were a hotel guest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments wth reference to your recent stay. I can inform you that over the spell of the last 5 years we have re-inversted aprox. £1m back into the hotel and I am happy to see understand that our guest do ntoice this.
I have taken on board the comments with reference to our beverage prices and thjey will be considered when new prices will have to be decided early April 2013.

Kind regards,

Marco J. Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We booked this hotel and confirmed on booking our needs for a disabled room with a walk in shower and interconnecting room. On arrival we were shown to our rooms...the second room being on a completly different floor!! We complained and got an apology from the manager who blamed the booking line operator, we got upgraded to a suite but our weekend away was ruined. It was hard work for my friend to get around in her wheelchair so I ended up having to move furniture!! She couldn't access the bathroom facilities at all and the staff suggested I take her downstairs to the showers and cover her with a towel to go back to the room! Needless to say we haven't booked there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a shame you only posted this review 4 months after your original stay. I have to admit that we have 2 disabled rooms, both on a different floor. Each DDA room though is connected, via a interconnecting door to a room next door.
I do apologise for the confusion about a walk-in shower, which is clearly stated on our website(s) and third party bookers/travel agents are aware of this and should have made you aware accordingly.
I hope you will be able to return to our hotel in the future again.

Kind regards,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London Sutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Sutton

Address: Gibson Road, London SM1 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Spa Hotel in London
#245 Business Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Sutton 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London-Sutton, a modern, full service hotel situated in the heart of Sutton town centre. Perfectly located for many famous Surrey & South London attractions and events Chessington World of Adventure, Wimbledon All England Tennis Club and Epsom Racecourse to name a few. The Holiday Inn, Sutton is easily accessible from Croydon to the east, Kingston to the west, Wimbledon to the north and from the M25 to the south. The hotel has 119 air conditioned bedrooms, including 4 suites, 2 DDA rooms as well 20 Executive rooms all which have en suite facilities, including high speed internet access (HSIA). Kids stay and eat free*. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offering tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Squiggles Lounge also offers wireless internet connections. The Holiday Inn Meetings Network Rooms and Orchard Suite are self contained on the first floor. A well known venue which comfortably seats 160 for a celebratory meal, or 200 for a corporate meeting. Spirit Health Club, located within the hotel, is open to members and residents. The gymnasium, indoor heated pool, spa, sauna & steam rooms are available to residents on a complimentary basis. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London Sutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Sutton Hotel Sutton
Sutton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Sutton England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London Sutton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.